Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John WIlliams Concert

• 18-05-2015 10:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭

Hey all

while it may not be everyones cup of tea the rte concert orchestra are doing a night of john williams music

there is a number of 12 euro tickets available for both nights which imo is a massive bargain for what you get

having been to there recent oscar night i can tell you its well worth the cash and the seats in the unreserved section are not bad at all

https://nch.ie/Online/RTECO-John-Williams-Collection-Aug15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Peig Sayers

Those choir balcony seats are dreadful! I'd never sit in them again. For €12 though if you can suffer through it it's a good price. Maybe I'm just too old :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭recyclops

Those choir balcony seats are dreadful! I'd never sit in them again. For €12 though if you can suffer through it it's a good price. Maybe I'm just too old :o

do ya mean comfort wise or sound wise

I would agree with you for comfort but its not back breaking my chair in the office can be worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭Greg81

Your session has timed out.

In order to protect your personal information, your session is automatically timed out after a period of inactivity.

Tried 4 times. Did anyone got same problem when trying to book the tickets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭KGLady

@Greg

I had the same issue, kept timing out on the verification section. However, himself left his office and went to pick some up at the box office - of course he forgot to mention to them that the site was not completing sales :s

Anyways, thanks for linking it OP, hadn't seen this come up on social media yet :) Its a GREAT night out, esp if you are of a certain age to get the feels from childhood movie themes like ET, Raiders of the Lost Ark, Superman, Star Wars etc.

@KGLady. Thx. I will give them a call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭recyclops

Greg81 wrote: »
    Your session has timed out.

In order to protect your personal information, your session is automatically timed out after a period of inactivity.

Tried 4 times. Did anyone got same problem when trying to book the tickets?

I had an issue on the mobile version of the site not the desktop so went on that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭Captainsatnav

Happened me as well. So just called up and booked over the phone. Went for Balcony, Green Side. €22 per ticket. Looking forward to this actually. Never been to NCH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭WeleaseWoderick

I went to this show last year and had a great time at it.

Really spectacular hearing stuff like Jurassic Park theme and ET theme live with a full orchestra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 JoanneT

To those having problems with the website, can I ask you to include the w w w in the link listed by the OP and that should help.

Please drop me an email if you have any further problems. To those who booked, enjoy!

Thanks,
    Joanne Taaffe
    Online Marketing Executive
    National Concert Hall
    joanne dot taaffe [at] nch.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

I keep getting this error message 'You are attempting to release seats that have been printed. Doing so will cancel the printed tickets. You must reload the order to undelete the seat. Continue?'.

Does this mean the seat has already been sold but the website just hasn't updated?

JoanneT wrote: »
    To those having problems with the website, can I ask you to include the w w w in the link listed by the OP and that should help.

Please drop me an email if you have any further problems. To those who booked, enjoy!

Thanks,
    Joanne Taaffe
    Online Marketing Executive
    National Concert Hall
    joanne dot taaffe [at] nch.ie

Wait, putting in www as directed above has fixed the problem :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Decided to splash out for the fancy seats.

TBH, I'd pay that much just to hear the Superman theme. :D

Guys this may sound like a stupid question but what is the dress code for the evening?

Suit for me and long dress for my fiance. OK or overdressed?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Likely to be fairly over dressed based on my experiences in NCH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Greg81 wrote: »
    Guys this may sound like a stupid question but what is the dress code for the evening?

Suit for me and long dress for my fiance. OK or overdressed?

OVer dressed. It's not your regular night at the theatre. Sure people will be dressed like that, but there is no dress code persay.

I went to this a few years back, pretty casual wear with jeans runners etc. Was a great show btw.

They had the orchestra doing Danny Elfman, and a few weeks later John Williams, it was hair raising on your neck stuff, really worth seeing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

Shirt and jeans for us anyhow

Guys. Thank you for quick reply.

Casual it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Oh. John Williams. Not John Williams. Would love to see John Williams again while he's still doing the odd recital. Not so fussed about John Williams.

Ah well...

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 JoanneT

We're fairly laid back here - we don't have a specific dresscode unless we state that an event is blacktie which isn't too often. Whatever you would wear to a gig anywhere else is probably the best advice I can give you. enjoy the gig

Joanne
    National Concert Hall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭dibkins

There was a fella in a star wars hoodie at the last John Williams:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

If you dress up as Indiana Jones you'll be grand.
    Don't forget to crack your whip every 30 seconds or so to show your appreciation!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Heisenberg1

The YouTube clip on the NCH website of the E.T adventures on earth score didn't start at the beginning of the piece does anybody know do they play the full score or just the main theme? Thanks.

Amazing concert. I am happy in 99%.

We a had a great night last night. ET was probably my favourite, serious childhood memories there :) The music from The Terminal with the clarinet solo was great too. It was our first time in the NCH. It's a great venue and we'll hopefully be back soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Coolaboy

Had a great night out at John Williams. Seats were fab and the kids and ourselves loved it. Many thanks for posting.It was a real treat.