Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driverless buses

• 13-05-2015 6:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭

Would be handy, fewer strikes, till the robots rise up at least.

Can't wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 grey_area

Would people still say "thanks" getting off?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 369 ✭✭walkingshadow

I'd prefer polite human drivers for a change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I'd prefer polite human drivers for a change.

We'll have god-like, hive-mind AIs running the solar system before that ever happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

grey_area wrote: »

I usually say 'thank you' when I get money out of the ATM. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

I'd prefer busless drivers.

Lads that trot up to the bus stop and give you a piggy / jiggy back to where you want to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

In a lot of cases only if it's a white robot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Who'd grunt back from the drivers seat? Takes many years of soul destroying repetition of the same route to master "the grunt"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

What will the union bots think and say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I usually say 'thank you' when I get money out of the ATM. :)

Me too! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

catallus wrote: »
    Me too! :)

Do you's happen to say "I'll be Back " too

Gatling wrote: »
    Do you's happen to say "I'll be Back " too

That's just silly, how do I know I'll ever be back to the same ATM again? I don't make promises I can't keep!

But it's only good manners to say thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

As usual, Arnie has the answer! :p This is what we need! (Minor NSFW language)

He DOES actually say thank you too (0:49)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

But then who will help passengers with their luggage, stop rampant drug use and pissing and shagging all over the seats, wait patiently for the old lady ten yards away from the stop, be courteous and genial to all other road users, and generally be a small but significant source of joy in the daily life of all that they come into contact with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

The robots will catch on too soon, then we're fucked. Proper fucked. :eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

But then who will help passengers with their luggage, stop rampant drug use and pissing and shagging all over the seats, wait patiently for the old lady ten yards away from the stop, be courteous and genial to all other road users, and generally be a small but significant source of joy in the daily life of all that they come into contact with?

You could ask that same question today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Skanger free buses would be better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

You've not used Dublin Bus in a while have you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

syklops wrote: »
    You've not used Dublin Bus in a while have you?
    Oh but I have my dear fellow, I have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Miall108

Who'd grunt back from the drivers seat? Takes many years of soul destroying repetition of the same route to master "the grunt"

You left out the part which follows the grunt where the change is absolutely fcuked back at you. A robot would hardly master those two special skills to the same effect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

The beast shall have no head. The prophecy is fulfilled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭RomanKnows

In my current line of work I deal with electric vehicles and smart electricity grids, and how that will integrate with IT systems. Big data, analytics, the Internet of Things blah blah blah.

I was at a symposium recently where the topic of future public transport policy was discussed. While there wasn't much discussion about having no human driver sitting behind the wheel of a bus, there was exciting research being conducted into developing true real-time bus routes. Completely ignoring a stop where there is nobody waiting; taking detours to areas not currently served by a route, creating point-in-time bus stops based upon where people are at the moment and where they want to go.

Exciting stuff. And not that far away really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

RomanKnows wrote: »
    In my current line of work I deal with electric vehicles and smart electricity grids, and how that will integrate with IT systems. Big data, analytics, the Internet of Things blah blah blah.

I was at a symposium recently where the topic of future public transport policy was discussed. While there wasn't much discussion about having no human driver sitting behind the wheel of a bus, there was exciting research being conducted into developing true real-time bus routes. Completely ignoring a stop where there is nobody waiting; taking detours to areas not currently served by a route, creating point-in-time bus stops based upon where people are at the moment and where they want to go.

Exciting stuff. And not that far away really.

sounds like a pain in the hole if the bus starts stopping where people are rather than stops

abort!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Sheldons Brain

A Robocop would be helpful for the denizens of some bus routes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭RomanKnows

sounds like a pain in the hole if the bus starts stopping where people are rather than stops

abort!

I was slightly oversimplifying things. There would still be stops and peak time routes. It would just use data analytics to see where the demand is at various points of the day and make amendments based on that. So instead of having a No. 15 running every 10 minutes and passing by 5 stops without picking up a passenger it would see that there are 3 old people within a 5 minute walk of a stop who would like to use that bus. Detour there instead. Maximise service and capacity based upon real data trends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Nucular Arms

Oh but I have my dear fellow, I have.

Seems some poor divils left their sarcasm detectors at home this evening! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭Merrion

If driverless public transport does come to pass (and I feel it will) then sharing it with strangers isn't going to work. I suggest a far more individual personal transport - "arseless carriages" if you will.

It's all LIES from the MAN anyways, surely there'll be a human doing some sort of jiggery-pokery at a remote-control console somewhere!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

I would sit at the top and pretend I'm driving!

OH NO I KNOW WHAT I WOULD DO!

PUT A DOG OR A CAT AT THE TOP AND PRETEND THEY ARE DRIVING!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Miall108

The worst part is the robot would be able to cop on to if your desperately under paying for the Dublin Bus. Means I would have to fork out a few extra shillings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

Why don't we just train dogs to do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

RomanKnows wrote: »
    I was slightly oversimplifying things. There would still be stops and peak time routes. It would just use data analytics to see where the demand is at various points of the day and make amendments based on that. So instead of having a No. 15 running every 10 minutes and passing by 5 stops without picking up a passenger it would see that there are 3 old people within a 5 minute walk of a stop who would like to use that bus. Detour there instead. Maximise service and capacity based upon real data trends.

we'll have to tag the old cunce