Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vokera mynute 20he

• 10-05-2015 3:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭

Hi Guys,
    The sister in law has just bought a new apartment with one of these fitted.I have just done a bit of work for her in the bathroom ie:taken out bath,put in shower,shower door.tray,toilet and vanity unit.I also replaced a radiator woth a towel rail.
    Now here is the problem.
    Whwn I turn on the boiler it runs for awhile and then stops with an error code 79.
    From looking at the manual itis a flow problem.
    Pressure is 1.5 bar and all rads have been bled.
    To me it looks as if the circulating pump is not circulating the water through the system,the boiler heats up and the pump is not pumping the hot water out to the circuit.
    There are motorized valves on the system but these are working.
    Any ideas where to go from here?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Redriddick wrote: »
    Hi Guys,
    The sister in law has just bought a new apartment with one of these fitted.I have just done a bit of work for her in the bathroom ie:taken out bath,put in shower,shower door.tray,toilet and vanity unit.I also replaced a radiator woth a towel rail.
    Now here is the problem.
    Whwn I turn on the boiler it runs for awhile and then stops with an error code 79.
    From looking at the manual itis a flow problem.
    Pressure is 1.5 bar and all rads have been bled.
    To me it looks as if the circulating pump is not circulating the water through the system,the boiler heats up and the pump is not pumping the hot water out to the circuit.
    There are motorized valves on the system but these are working.
    Any ideas where to go from here?????

Did you try bleeding the boiler? There's a spout on the very top. Gently open it. Did the boiler work before you did the work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭Redriddick

As far as I know the boiler was working.I opened that bleed alright and water came out but I didn't take gallons out or anything.It is definitely a circulation problem.

The fault code usually means blocked filters or blocked heat exchanger. Or pump gone. It could also be trapped air in the boiler. Unless you're Rgi that's as far as my advice can go I'm afraid

Any recommendations for someone to look at it.Just outside Lucan village.

Right got a guy out to this.First time he came and cleaned the filter in the manifold and it worked for a week.Came again and cleaned the filter and said I would need a power flush.Charged me both times for this and still not working.
    Took a radiator off and flushed system manually and there was feck all gunge in it.Problem still there error 79.Any ideas or should I get a second opinion. Spent nearly 300 now and still the same

Resetting it sometimes will fix it.

Right got a guy out to this.First time he came and cleaned the filter in the manifold and it worked for a week.Came again and cleaned the filter and said I would need a power flush.Charged me both times for this and still not working.
    Took a radiator off and flushed system manually and there was feck all gunge in it.Problem still there error 79.Any ideas or should I get a second opinion. Spent nearly 300 now and still the same

Resetting it sometimes will fix it.

As long as this guy told you that cleaning the filter is usually a temporary job then you've no need to complain. A manual flush as you call it wont disturb or remove sludge. A proper powerflush will, and it will also clear the boiler heat exchanger in the process.

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    As long as this guy told you that cleaning the filter is usually a temporary job then you've no need to complain. A manual flush as you call it wont disturb or remove sludge. A proper powerflush will, and it will also clear the boiler heat exchanger in the process.

Ok so I got the powerflush done and the system was quite clean.
    Same problem with boiler but also a few other faults (55) (34),called vokera and boiler man came and replaced pcb and fan.
    The boiler still has the code 79 and the vokera engineer reckons that the motorized valve in the hotpress is not opening correctly.
    Now I was there on Sat last myself and the heating worked fine but back to 79 again sunday morning.
    I am going up again in the am to sort this once and for all.
    I am going to remove the valve head and open it manually.
    Just wondering if the heat would work sporadically like that???
    Would the HW circuit not work on its own?
    The poor girl is at her wits end and its costing her a fortune!!

Ok so I got the powerflush done and the system was quite clean.
    Same problem with boiler but also a few other faults (55) (34),called vokera and boiler man came and replaced pcb and fan.
    The boiler still has the code 79 and the vokera engineer reckons that the motorized valve in the hotpress is not opening correctly.
    Now I was there on Sat last myself and the heating worked fine but back to 79 again sunday morning.
    I am going up again in the am to sort this once and for all.
    I am going to remove the valve head and open it manually.
    Just wondering if the heat would work sporadically like that???
    Would the HW circuit not work on its own?
    The poor girl is at her wits end and its costing her a fortune!!

When you say powerflush, did he use a machine and chemicals or just chemicals? What chemicals did he use? Did he open up the filters and clean them?

Fernox machine and chemicals.

How long did it take? Do you know if he physically removed the filters at the boiler?

Took half a day and removed filter to the right of the manifold.
    Will let ye know how I get on tomorrow!

Only 4 rads on the system!!!!

Took half a day and removed filter to the right of the manifold.
    Will let ye know how I get on tomorrow!

Only 4 rads on the system!!!!

4 rads? What size kW is the boiler?

Duh just re read the title. 20kw is WAYYYYY to much for 4 rads. Modulating or not.

Like trying to put a elephant into a rabbit hutch :)

Ok so I was up there on Friday and started in the hot press.I removed the head of both valves and opened them manually and still no joy.
    But when I was in there I noticed something nearly buried down in the concrete on the return.
    There was a non return valve fitted,now I've had a few problems with these sticking before so I removed this and all was well.
    I hear what your saying about the boiler being too big for 4 rads so I have mentioned about replacing the 2 single rads with doubles and maybe fitting a new 500x1800 rad in the living area.