Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

minor meltdown MOD WARNING POST #1

• 08-05-2015 2:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭

I just got a message that there might be a massive problem with the shop that I bought my dress in.
    It's three months to the wedding.
    Nothing I expect anyone to do but just having a minor panic attack - I really loved the dress.

I've tried contacting the shop and its going to voicemail. I've left a message.

/MOD/ posters DO NOT name the store, or provide descriptions/specific locations that would identify the shop. Similarly, do not post media articles or any links concerning the shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

It will be ok Silly smiles..Dont think the worst. When they say major problem are they closing down or has it burned down?

Go out and scream in the garden let it all out and then think positively until you know more..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Listen, with three months to go, your dress is probably safe.

Any chance you can hop in the car and go down to the shop?

Which shop is it? Maybe someone here can let you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

If you can I would call to the shop and see what is happening? It is normally easier to get an honest answer face to face rather than over the phone where sometimes they just give you a scripted answer.

Have you looked up the shop on facebook etc?

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

If you know what make your dress is could you get in touch with the supplier to confirm if your dress has been ordered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭sillysmiles

Thanks everyone.

I don't want to name the shop, because I'm not sure if there is a legitimate problem or is someone is trying to start an online hate campaign. I have seen an article to be published in the local paper (local to the shop) that makes it look like it is just one designer that is the problem. Going to check what the design of my dress is when I get home and then deal with it next week.
    If there is a problem I'll be gutted though as the owner of the shop was fab when I met her.

Unfortunately not an option to call into the shop this weekend, but I'll see what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭fima

It's not a hate campaign, the shop is in serious trouble due to the owner selling samples as new dresses by altering them (badly). She also just never bothered to order other dresses. Some brides have managed to get money back. One bride discovered this with 2 months to her wedding. Hopefully your dress is safe but I would get in touch ASAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Lima Golf

fima wrote: »
    It's not a hate campaign, the shop is in serious trouble due to the owner selling samples as new dresses by altering them (badly). She also just never bothered to order other dresses. Some brides have managed to get money back. One bride discovered this with 2 months to her wedding. Hopefully your dress is safe but I would get in touch ASAP.

That is terrible. I wonder is it the same shop that another boards user had trouble with - where she had to get a refund and find a new dress, can't remember the user. Can the shop be named? Or what area is it in? I'm about to leave a deposit on a dress

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Guys please don't name the shop. If any of ye want to discuss this by PM that's fine, but please don't name on the thread.

fima wrote: »

If that's the case, I'm gutted not only because of the dress but because she seemed like such a genuine person.

If that is the case, when I get in touch how do I trust if she says everything is fine and the dress is ordered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,779 ✭✭✭✭fits

If that's the case, I'm gutted not only because of the dress but because she seemed like such a genuine person.

If that is the case, when I get in touch how do I trust if she says everything is fine and the dress is ordered?

Can someone pm the name of the shop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭PhoenixParker

Can someone pm me too.

I personally would not trust anything she says. It came to light yesterday that she is now offering brides the sample dresses as she has no money to refund deposits/full amounts paid. Apparently the shop is closed. I don't know that for definite. I'm sorry its not better news. I assume we are talking about the same shop btw, in limerick?

Yes in Limerick, I drove by yesterday and there was a sign on the door to say they were reopening today.

I paid my deposit by credit card, does anyone know if I should be able to get that back?

Yes in Limerick, I drove by yesterday and there was a sign on the door to say they were reopening today.

I paid my deposit by credit card, does anyone know if I should be able to get that back?

You might have some comeback. Contact the credit card company.

Well that's a good sign hopefully. I would ring the shop and speak to her if shes open. I think you can claim a refund from your credit card but I don't know. Hope you get sorted one way or another, Good Luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Pistachios & cream

i bought my dress in limerick. Could someone PM with the name of the shop?

Have you heard anything back sillysmiles...

What a terrible thing to happen. There seems to be a story like this once a year though. I paid my deposit by credit card in the hope it would give me some comeback in such a situation.

I know i paid my deposit by card too for the exact same reasons. However i know of a few places that only accept cash, it's very annoying in this day and age as the majority of retailers accept card payments for even the smallest purchases.

So I have heard back from her. So my dress should be with her on Monday.....

Hmm. I don't want to get you down but I am sure you realise there is a good chance she is just stalling.

not down on me at all.
    TBH I'm not as angry at her as I probably should be. I would be massively surprised if anything happens next week I don't expect there to be a dress there, I do expect this to be a massive pain the in h0le but now it is just a problem to solve!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,063 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Easy enough to do a Chargeback with your credit card, I just got money back from an Indiegogo campaign where the founder ran off with everyones money. Took about 2 months though. You just write to them with proof and any other supporting documents you can get your hands on like communications with the shop owner, a printout of that news story, contracts etc.

Here's hoping for the best sillysmiles. I really feel for you and the other brides.

Did you track down the make of dress?

From the receipt given I have the designer name but not the dress code (just a name). I have looked on the designers website and I don't see the dress I ordered ( I have a photo). So I'm not sure if it is actually the designer that is on the receipt.

Do you have a stock photo of the dress or a photo of you in the dress? If it's a stock photo then you can do a google image search to find the name of the dress

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭gsi300024v

I know a girl who bought a designer dress as seconds, nothing really wrong with it, she told everyone it cost a fortune when really it was not expensive at all. Weddings make people do funny things.

Try that sellmyweddingdress site for your designer. You never know, you could recognise it and at least have dress name or code.

Btw, not all dresses are second-hand and even if they were, they could be in perfect condition and work out a cheaper deal even with your lost deposit.

Doesn't visa guarantee money back in situations like this? Becomes the problem of the retailer and the merchant then.

Locked pending review.

REOPENED.

Posters please DO NOT name the store, or provide descriptions/specific locations that would identify the shop. Similarly, do not post media articles or any links concerning the shop.

The store may be the subject of legal proceedings, which we are unable to discuss on the site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Pinkycharm

If it's the same shop, a girl I work with gave her a cash deposit like an eejit because she gave the owner a discount for doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Amoureux

Ordered my dress from this shop, have started fraud charges with my credit card company :(

So sorry to hear Amoureux, I hope you get your money back and get another dress

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

In the independent and on the radio Pat Kenny doing an interview now.

Was the owner of the shop interviewed?

No it was a member of the national press that was sent by a number of papers to investigate. He met with some of the brides, the owner and the Guards.

The owner informed him that she would like to express her side of the story but could not due to legal reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭Crazyteacher

On rte news site now. My heart goes out to any brides involved.

I have to say the media slant of the poor little woman having her "big day" ruined is kinda piss ing me off. I feel like there is almost a pat on the head for the silly girls getting upset about their pretty dresses. Though I may be a bit sensitive! And I probably shouldn't have listened to the Pat Kenny interview

I was under the impression some of the women were getting married next week ? Also I thought it took moat dress makers 6 months to sort a dress out?

I also don't see how any customer potentially losing over 1k in deposit is a nice thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭Crazyteacher

It's the fact that people were frauded , a dress is a dress.