Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

8 x 4 livestock trailer

• 07-05-2015 6:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭

https://www.donedeal.ie/cattletrailers-for-sale/new-nugent-8x4-live-stock-trailer/9233769

This seem good value @ €3000 for a new trailer.

I use hauliers to move all my stock, however a wee livestock trailer for the car could be handy for selling suck calves and bringing sick calves up to the vets practice and for moving the odd cow.

I'd be afraid to purchase some of the second hand trailers on done deal.

I have a 2002 golf 1.9 tdi, I'd imagine my car would fly the 8x4.

Would a 8 x 4 trailer hold a 750 kg cow and her calf?

Any advice or would an 8 x 5 be a better buy for a few pound more?

I keep c. 30 sucklers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Jim Simmental

Had to space out the link, not allowed to post links :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭High bike

https:// www. donedeal.ie/ cattletrailers-for-sale/new-nugent-8x4-live-stock-trailer/9233769

This seem good value @ €3000 for a new trailer.

I use hauliers to move all my stock, however a wee livestock trailer for the car could be handy for selling suck calves and bringing sick calves up to the vets practice and for moving the odd cow.

I'd be afraid to purchase some of the second hand trailers on done deal.

I have a 2002 golf 1.9 tdi, I'd imagine my car would fly the 8x4.

Would a 8 x 4 trailer hold a 750 kg cow and her calf?

Any advice or would an 8 x 5 be a better buy for a few pound more?

I keep c. 30 sucklers.
    id be goin for the 8x5 you get two cows into that no bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

http://www.donedeal.ie/cattletrailers-for-sale/new-nugent-8x4-live-stock-trailer/9233769

posted the link for you

very short draw bar on the nugent, making it a bitch to tow , not the easiest yoke to reverse also unless you;re used to it

8x4 very narrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

High bike wrote: »
    id be goin for the 8x5 you get two cows into that no bother

And a sulky lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭High bike

I said wrote: »
    And a sulky lol
    is that one or two horse power?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭dunlopwellies

We bought a new airlite 8x5 livestock trailer from Jim Murphy in Tume 2 years ago.
    They are a super trailer a lot of attention to the little details of construction.
    Indespension suspension is a good job too not as rattley on the road.
    We have big newgent also to compare to.
    I pull it with 02 octavia with 2 cows and it genuinely pulls as easy as empty.
    Also with one cow in the 5 foot the cow can turn around and walk out as opposed to the 4 foot wide one the cow tends to get stuck turning and get hurt.

Legally I doubt the car has the towing capacity though.

That's just my two cents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

High bike wrote: »
    is that one or two horse power?

Depends on the size of the yoke being pulled

Thanks folks might hold out for an 8 x 5 yet.
    We bought a new airlite 8x5 livestock trailer from Jim Murphy in Tume 2 years ago.
    They are a super trailer a lot of attention to the little details of construction.
    Also with one cow in the 5 foot the cow can turn around and walk out as opposed to the 4 foot wide one the cow tends to get stuck turning and get hurt.

Yes my car can legally tow 1300kg with a breaked trailer.

It would be fine for calves or possibly one cow at a time.

What does the Murphy 8 x 5 weight?

Thanks folks might hold out for an 8 x 5 yet.

Yes my car can legally tow 1300kg with a breaked trailer.

It would be fine for calves or possibly one cow at a time.

What does the Murphy 8 x 5 weight?

I don't know what the specs of the trailer are but probably on their site.
    Also the is a company that make Murphy trailers which are not airlite Jim Murphy. The Murphy wouldn't be a patch on the Jim Murphy. IMO.

I don't know what the specs of the trailer are but probably on their site.
    Also the is a company that make Murphy trailers which are not airlite Jim Murphy. The Murphy wouldn't be a patch on the Jim Murphy. IMO.

Thanks, I think I'll for the aerlite.

I'll give them a buzz tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭Sami23

How much did ya pay for her Dunlop ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I'd say they're around the €3600-3700 new now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Also there is a company that make Murphy trailers which are not airlite Jim Murphy. The Murphy wouldn't be a patch on the Jim Murphy. IMO.

Tis gas when l was doing my homework before purchasing l looked at a few trailers and had seen the cork murphy trailer on dd and saved number in my phone. A few weeks later l happened to be in Tuam on other business and thought ld take a look at the jim Murphy trailer but didn't know where the workshop was. So l rang them, or so l thought.

'l'm here in town what road are ye out?' Suddenly when I heard the cork accent lrealised my mistake! I explained l was trying to ring jim Murphy but he let on he never heard of them! !!! Never heard of them!!! You'd be run over here around these parts anyways they are so popular. And for good reason. She's a well made nice looking girl that you'd only die to get hitched to! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

I rang Murphy previously and if I remember correctly, without the sheep deck, Dads trailer weighed something like 622kg. But check it out with themselves. They really are a well made trailer to be fair to them, the only gripe we had was the oval air holes for the sheep who'd get their horns caught in them and the odd one would break. Round air holes would be much better - but that won't concern lads with cattle only. Dads had his for a fair while now so I can recommend it easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

I've an Aerlite 8/4 with donkeys years. Great little box. Got it with chequer plate floor and swinging door, very handy for loading as can be used to guide cattle into the box and safe too as an animal backing as your closing a ramp can cause serious injury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

I've an Aerlite 8/4 with donkeys years. Great little box. Got it with chequer plate floor and swinging door, very handy for loading as can be used to guide cattle into the box and safe too as an animal backing as your closing a ramp can cause serious injury.

Jaysus no give me a box with a ramp and gates anyday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭Sami23

Willfarman wrote: »
    Jaysus no give me a box with a ramp and gates anyday

Agreed as borrowed a neighbours 8 X 5 recently with swinging door and no way could I get her to get into it. In the end I had to get my own ivory Williams and tractor with ramp to move her.
    Ramp all the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

There are double gates on the back of ours that close before you close up the ramp.

€3800 for a new 8 x 5 with murphys of tuam after phoning them today

It's great to see them getting such good reviews, I'll def go for the aerlite.

Do they only sell direct? I live a bit from Galway in case I need spare parts etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

I have an 10 x 5 aerlite, bought a few months ago off them. Great guys to deal with. I felt to have comfort with 2 cows the 10ft was the way to go. There's only about 150-200kg in the difference I think. I'd go with one animal pulling with car, anything else tractor. Brought a bull home fine, hardly know he was in it. My 2ltr car is rated to pull 1800 so allows me around 700kgs in the trailer. You'd be over weight in a 8 x 5 with 2 cows anyway in a car. The extra 2 ft is worth it for the likes of weanling or calves etc.

Sami23 wrote: »
    How much did ya pay for her Dunlop ?

I think it was €3500 in September 2013.

€3800 for a new 8 x 5 with murphys of tuam after phoning them today

It's great to see them getting such good reviews, I'll def go for the aerlite.

Do they only sell direct? I live a bit from Galway in case I need spare parts etc.

We bought direct anyway.
    Also we went for the ramp the only job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

I have an 10 x 5 aerlite, bought a few months ago off them. Great guys to deal with. I felt to have comfort with 2 cows the 10ft was the way to go. There's only about 150-200kg in the difference I think. I'd go with one animal pulling with car, anything else tractor. Brought a bull home fine, hardly know he was in it. My 2ltr car is rated to pull 1800 so allows me around 700kgs in the trailer. You'd be over weight in a 8 x 5 with 2 cows anyway in a car. The extra 2 ft is worth it for the likes of weanling or calves etc.

Ya I have a 10x5 ifor aswell as the 14x5'10" and you wouldn't notice any difference between pulling it and an 8x5 really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭hopeso

Muckit wrote: »
    Tis gas when l was doing my homework before purchasing l looked at a few trailers and had seen the cork murphy trailer on dd and saved number in my phone. A few weeks later l happened to be in Tuam on other business and thought ld take a look at the jim Murphy trailer but didn't know where the workshop was. So l rang them, or so l thought.

'l'm here in town what road are ye out?' Suddenly when I heard the cork accent lrealised my mistake! I explained l was trying to ring jim Murphy but he let on he never heard of them! !!! Never heard of them!!! You'd be run over here around these parts anyways they are so popular. And for good reason. She's a well made nice looking girl that you'd only die to get hitched to! ;)

Out of interest, what road is he on? I'll probably be changing my trailer this year, and a visit to Tuam will be in order....

Does anyone know roughly how much extra a 10x5 would cost over an 8x5 Aerlite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

hopeso wrote: »
    Out of interest, what road is he on? I'll probably be changing my trailer this year, and a visit to Tuam will be in order....

If you are coming from the Milltown side drive in past the Topaz Stn & Mart and go right at the next traffic lights. If from the Galway side you take the left at those traffic lights, which will be the first lights you'll meet. Murphys are just out that road on rhs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

hopeso wrote: »
    Does anyone know roughly how much extra a 10x5 would cost over an 8x5 Aerlite?

Think the 10x5 is €4600

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Indespension in limerick and abbey retail in tipperary also stock the aerlite trailers as well, so his getting his stock into some retailers

Indespension in limerick and abbey retail in tipperary also stock his trailers as well.

Pro trailers in Athlone had an ad on donedeal recently selling Aerlite trailers....