Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Green diesel in a 2010 Audi A4

• 07-05-2015 12:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭

Hi folks. This morning I accidentally put €30 of green diesel in my 2010 a4. I only copped it when I went to pay. The shop attendant told me that the car would run fine on green stuff. Obviously I'm not overly happy with my situation but I can't get a mechanic to empty it out til Saturday morning and I badly need the car to do a hospital and school run. I topped it up with €20 of road diesel and because I'm not very mechanically minded I'm wondering if this will do any damage to my car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭*Kol*

If you get stopped by the customs at a checkpoint it will be your wallet that will be damaged. The car will run fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

*Kol* wrote: »
    If you get stopped by the customs at a checkpoint it will be your wallet that will be damaged. The car will run fine.

Oh I know that kol but there's damn all I can do about it til Saturday until I can get it emptied out. Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

It shouldn't do any damage to the engine but let the tank run down a few times and brim it and you should get it out of the cars system. Also after a few weeks I would change the fuel filter as it will have dyed that and revenue have been known to on the rare occasion remove fuel filters to inspect now you'd want to look fairly guilty looking for them to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭corglass

Bpmull wrote: »
    It shouldn't do any damage to the engine but let the tank run down a few times and brim it and you should get it out of the cars system. Also after a few weeks I would change the fuel filter as it will have dyed that and revenue have been known to on the rare occasion remove fuel filters to inspect now you'd want to look fairlt guilty for them to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

Have you a recipt for the marked gas oil?

I'd ring up revenue and anonymously ask if you can pay the duty or regularise the situation somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

I'd ring up revenue and anonymously ask if you can pay the duty or regularise the situation somehow.

Can't find the receipt anywhere. Good idea though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭goochy

Car recovery services can flush fuel out they do it when plp put petrol in dsl cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Drive on, and run it as low as you dare before refilling.
    Unless you frequent Cattle marts, Horse shows etc, or spend a lot of time around the border, you would be extraordinarily unfortunate to be dipped.

Green probably LESS likely to cause damage to your cars injection system than some of the sh1t being sold as white.

Local businessman had his 14 Reg BMW 730 cut out just as he was passing an artic truck last week. Injectors and pump needing extensive repairs.

And to be honest, with the new Radioactive Dye now being used, its doubtful if a flush out will remove it all anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Zith

Many Audi's have an anti-siphon. My 2000 A6 had it. Didn't stop a young customs chap spending nearly 10 minutes trying to get something in the bottle before saying, "go on". No doubt there are probably simple enough ways around that but he didn't know at least :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

A 2010 a4 isn't a car that would be overly likely to be dipped, not in the west anyway, maybe in urban areas it's just random selection. They mostly target the agri spec daysuls, jeeps and the likes. That's not saying you won't or couldn't get dipped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,831 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I surprised the filling station didn't offer the number of someone who would come and flush it out on the spot..
    I've seen numbers up in many filling stations, and was in one last year when a lady did likewise, the chap behind the counter had cards for a mobile operator who would come and sort it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

If the filling station had a green diesel pump beside the rest so an "inadvertent" mistake could be made, they're probably assuming people are doing it on purpose and making a better profit margin on the green stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭granturismo

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    And to be honest, with the new Radioactive Dye now being used, its doubtful if a flush out will remove it all anyway.

What dye is this, is it being used? I doubt it very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭GavMan

If the filling station had a green diesel pump beside the rest so an "inadvertent" mistake could be made, they're probably assuming people are doing it on purpose and making a better profit margin on the green stuff.

Who said it was beside the rest? Could have been a pump on its own and the OP just pulled up to it for all we know

http://campus.ie/surviving-college/provo-gangs-run-petrol-stretching-fuel-scam

QUOTE=granturismo;95392420]What dye is this, is it being used? I doubt it very much.[/QUOTE]

Doubt away, Gran, but it's true. Introduced both north and south to try and combat the diesel washing gangs along the border. Seemingly, the radioactive trace cannot be removed, even if the colour is. Been in use in various South Americian countries gor a number if years. Allegedly this is the reason the crime gangs here are moving towards cigarette smuggling instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Uncle Ben

I think I'd ring revenue and explain situation on the record.At least by coming forward you're making them aware, allowing them to test the car and is solid mitigation if it went to court.
    It's probably going to be a lot worse if you're caught at a road block.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

best stick it up on done deal, your car is now red hot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

In my 15 years of driving, I have never been dipped, never seen anyone being dipped, never heard of anyone being dipped.
    Do they do it at a checkpoint, flag you down?
    I'd love to hear some examples. And what are the fines? Can there be a trace amount of green and get away with it?

To the OP, drive on, you'll be grand.
    I often thought about getting a tank at home and getting a delivery of green and drive away on it.
    Will anyone admit to it, and let us know how they're at it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,953 ✭✭✭Bigus

You'd have more confidence to run the tank really low if you bring a gallon can of diesel in the boot ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭s15r330

I was at it, got dipped and fined. But having said that it was my one and only time to see them in 10 years of driving and I could do 25k miles a year!

Was dipped in about 1990. Old Land Rover 90. Never dipped since. The customs stage the odd raid on cattle marts etc, also on rare occasions, roadside checkpoints.
    They staged a raid a year ago at local Mart. Had Gardaí, Customs & Social Welfare inspectors. About 30 officers in total. Checking Road tax, DOE certs, Insurance, Diesel, as well as demanding to know PPS numbers of all questioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭granturismo

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    http://campus.ie/surviving-college/provo-gangs-run-petrol-stretching-fuel-scam

Doubt away, Gran, but it's true. Introduced both north and south to try and combat the diesel washing gangs along the border. Seemingly, the radioactive trace cannot be removed, even if the colour is. Been in use in various South Americian countries gor a number if years. Allegedly this is the reason the crime gangs here are moving towards cigarette smuggling instead.

I was at a conference and asked an EPA inspector if radioactive tracers were being used - they are not. There was some discussion with Customs about their use but there was never any implementation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

I was at a conference and asked an EPA inspector if radioactive tracers were being used - they are not. There was some discussion with Customs about their use but there was never any implementation.

Whether or not it is radioactive in terms of the EPA definition, there is most definitely a new marker
    http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/excise/mineral-oil-traders/oil-marker.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,831 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I knew five lads all running marked stuff, they were driving jeeps or vans and all travelling to Dublin daily to building sites.

They had a pact, they would run until someone was stopped and they would split the fine 5 ways.. Ran for years, one lad stopped and I think at the time it was something like €1000 fine.. ~€200 each. They saved serious money over a few years, probably €5-6k each !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

Say for example i put in €20 worth of green, and €30 worth of white. How muc hreally could be put in though to dilute it.

A fine of €1000 is a big harsh for less than €20 worth of green tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,505 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Lord Nikon wrote: »
    Say for example i put in €20 worth of green, and €30 worth of white. How muc hreally could be put in though to dilute it.

A fine of €1000 is a big harsh for less than €20 worth of green tbh.

You would need to get it down to low light warning which would leave 7/8 litres, then brim to the top, and repeat about 5 or 6 times to clear it.