Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smell of crap coming from downstairs toilet

• 06-05-2015 7:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,883 ✭✭✭✭

There's an almost constant smell of shïtê coming from my downstairs toilet!! It's doing my head in.

We've stopped using the toilet in a bid to stop the smell, but to no avail!! Someday it's not there, others it's really bad!! And every now and again, te smell is if thinners/acetone!

I plug the sink & cover the sink overflow sometimes with tape, and it seems to help,

I'm convinced the smells are coming up through the drain pipes from some of the houses either up or down stream, (there are 2 houses up stream of me on my road, beyond that it's just fields)

Anyone know what I could possibly do to stop his, who could/should I be calling to get it looked at & resolved??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭cruiser202006

There's an almost constant smell of shïtê coming from my downstairs toilet!! It's doing my head in.

We've stopped using the toilet in a bid to stop the smell, but to no avail!! Someday it's not there, others it's really bad!! And every now and again, te smell is if thinners/acetone!

I plug the sink & cover the sink overflow sometimes with tape, and it seems to help,

I'm convinced the smells are coming up through the drain pipes from some of the houses either up or down stream, (there are 2 houses up stream of me on my road, beyond that it's just fields)

Anyone know what I could possibly do to stop his, who could/should I be calling to get it looked at & resolved??

Can u post a picture of multiwick on back of toilet connected to 4" pipe in floor? Also is toilet vented outside??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,883 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Can u post a picture of multiwick on back of toilet connected to 4" pipe in floor? Also is toilet vented outside??

sorry for the lateness, (just got signed up to Flickr)

18204281803_d5eb6f0809_c.jpgIMG_2629

18202324214_ee79c5ffe0_c.jpgIMG_2628

18827586441_96db833b8c_c.jpgIMG_2626

I'm guessing this is the culprit? looks like any seal thats still in there is not worth a crap now!!

The toilet is not vented to the outside, though there is an extraction fan in there, it goes nowhere.

Thinking back on it all now, the problem seems to have arisen when we had builders in converting the attic, one of the guys had a massive dump in the downstairs toilet which blocked it up, and we think it was since then the issues arose! Could this guys massive deposit have damaged the seal?

I'm thinking to get a tube of silicone and pump it in and around where the toilet pipe goes into the ground pipe to see if it helps (which would also conform that it is indeed this seal thats passing).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Andrew_Doran

hCiTdRl.jpg

Cheers Andrew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭donegal.

i'd blame your painter.

donegal. wrote: »
    i'd blame your painter.

Moved into the house 13 months ago, and I've done the 4 bedrooms upstairs, plus added an attic conversion, all painted and laid a solid oak floor in all 5 bedrooms myself, I've yet to tackle downstairs yet, hence the downstairs toilet remaining untouched.

I will do all painting myself anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Andrew_Doran

Cheers Andrew.

If you're going to seal the joint I wouldn't personally use silicone because it'll come loose eventually, I would go for something else that will stay put maybe an MS-polymer sealant like Tec-7 or Evostik 007. Sewer gases can be dangerous especially in a confined space, have been in the news lately unfortunately, I would get it sorted it sooner rather than later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭DamoKen

Thinking back on it all now, the problem seems to have arisen when we had builders in converting the attic, one of the guys had a massive dump in the downstairs toilet which blocked it up, and we think it was since then the issues arose! Could this guys massive deposit have damaged the seal?

Is it possible there is a soil vent in the attic that was disconnected during the conversion and never reconnected? Found when doing the snag list on my first house that the builders never bothered connecting it. If it was left disconnected would have ended up with methane gradually building up in the attic.

In your case if there's no smell in the attic could be they just blocked off the vent instead of re-routing it behind the drywall.

No harm sealing around that connection as well.

If you're going to seal the joint I wouldn't personally use silicone because it'll come loose eventually, I would go for something else that will stay put maybe an MS-polymer sealant like Tec-7 or Evostik 007. Sewer gases can be dangerous especially in a confined space, have been in the news lately unfortunately, I would get it sorted it sooner rather than later.

I'll get a tube of Tec7 and give it a try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭cruiser202006

Take the screws out of toilet bowl and cistern that are fixing it to floor and fall and replace multick with a new multiwick. Can even cut 4" pipe at floor level anyway as it looks awful that height! New multiwick will be same price as silicone! Use washing up liquid on rubber on both ends to lubricate it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭agusta

Take the screws out of toilet bowl and cistern that are fixing it to floor and fall and replace multick with a new multiwick. Can even cut 4" pipe at floor level anyway as it looks awful that height! New multiwick will be same price as silicone! Use washing up liquid on rubber on both ends to lubricate it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Sorry to go off on a tangent here, but this thread has made me laugh more than any other on Boards for a long time!

This line is pure comedy gold

"Thinking back on it all now, the problem seems to have arisen when we had builders in converting the attic, one of the guys had a massive dump in the downstairs toilet which blocked it up, and we think it was since then the issues arose! Could this guys massive deposit have damaged the seal".

Ever think of writing comedy scripts OP????

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 6,380 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wearb

NIMAN wrote: »
    Sorry to go off on a tangent here, but this thread has made me laugh more than any other on Boards for a long time!

This line is pure comedy gold

"Thinking back on it all now, the problem seems to have arisen when we had builders in converting the attic, one of the guys had a massive dump in the downstairs toilet which blocked it up, and we think it was since then the issues arose! Could this guys massive deposit have damaged the seal".

Ever think of writing comedy scripts OP????

I was curious as to how he knew this. :eek::confused:

Please follow site and charter rules. "Resistance is futile"

Wearb wrote: »
    I was curious as to how he knew this. :eek::confused:

Because the feçkër blocked the toilet, and at the time a plumber was moving the hot water tank, so the water was turned off (the cistern was full so he had 1 chance to banish his masterpiece without us knowing), the guy had no option but to walk away from his triumphant blockage, leaving it for us to sort out.
    He didn't even have the courtesy to inform us what had happened!!
    In fairness though, who would?

Because the feçkër blocked the toilet, and at the time a plumber was moving the hot water tank, so the water was turned off (the cistern was full so he had 1 chance to banish his masterpiece without us knowing), the guy had no option but to walk away from his triumphant blockage, leaving it for us to sort out.
    He didn't even have the courtesy to inform us what had happened!!
    In fairness though, who would?

This thread keeps on giving :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Tony Beetroot

Its a wonder he didn't burst the toilet with the huge turd he made.

Maybe he bloody well did though!!!
    Maybe he cracked the pipe!

He wasn't even a big guy, he was a short small framed carpenter!! I reckon he definitely went home 10% lighter that day!!

A big dirty Guinness ****e too it was no doubt.

He was a bit of a Howya, so I reckon he did like his few scoops alright.
    Just a pity he wasn't a wake up and dump the load kinda guy, more the "I'll hang on til I get to that gaff I'm working in, and ruin his day" kinda guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Can't help you OP but thanks for making my day ðŸ˜

Very unprofessional taking dumps in places you work, he could at least gone outside, lifted an aj cover and shited to his heart content and used the garden hose as a bidet.

Funniest
    Thread
    Ever

Who would have thought it would be in Plumbing & Heating?

NIMAN wrote: »
    Funniest
    Thread
    Ever

Funny how?

Goodfellas_087Pyxurz.jpg

I think in the battle of the dark gunk, the Tec-7 might be winning!!

Will it withstand another massive turd?

I doubt it! I try and avoid the downstairs toilet now for the número dos, as I don't want my depth charge to be the straw that broke the camels back!!

Good plan, give the tradesman a shovel next time he wants to use the toilet.

Next time I'll give the feckęr directions up to the local Tesco!! Let them deal with his "few scoops & a ruby murray"

He needs to train his bodily bowel movements to the morning, could just imagine the state of his own toilet.