Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

stand bag. Yes or no

• 05-05-2015 2:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭

I bought a trolley cart about a year ago and It broke the other day. I was going to buy a new one then started thinking about buying a stand bag as it may last longer but also save some car space when travelling to the course. Does anybody here use a stand bag. Would you recommend them? Or is it a pain to carry around a bag for a full round? has anybody any suggestions, obviously I'd be looking for a light one and not too expensive either.

(note: I'm in my mid twenties so I presume having a carry bag shouldn't be too much of a burden)

Thanks for any replies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

DJ90 wrote: »
    I bought a trolley cart about a year ago and It broke the other day. I was going to buy a new one then started thinking about buying a stand bag as it may last longer but also save some car space when travelling to the course. Does anybody here use a stand bag. Would you recommend them? Or is it a pain to carry around a bag for a full round? has anybody any suggestions, obviously I'd be looking for a light one and not too expensive either.

(note: I'm in my mid twenties so I presume having a carry bag shouldn't be too much of a burden)

Thanks for any replies

Make sure that it is light and has two straps. I always carry and am twice your age so grow a pair :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

I just started carrying after pushing for the previous few months. I find carrying easier and less tiring. I'm going to try and sell my cart bag and trolley I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

I carry during the nice weather.
    Push trolley in winter with loads of gear in the bag.

I love the freedom of carrying a bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Domo1982

Good alternative but not for everyone.

My handicap went from 2 to 18 over the course of a few seasons about 10 years back all off the back of changing from a trolley to a standbag. I changed back,upgraded to battery powered, then to remote control but it was too late unfortunately and my game was gone.

Fatigue is the big risk and you might find rounds blowing up on the last 3-4 holes on a regular basis.

Dehydration also a factor on hot days or when on holidays abroad. A mate of mine collapsed on the 18th green in Valderrama while -4 for the round. He played off 21 usually but had one of those days. He always used a trolley when at home but decided to tryout a standbag on this fateful day.

Then there's the mental side of the game - research has shown that 97.2% of amateur matchplay events are won by golfers using trolleys. just seems to give them that something extra on the day over the guys 'Carrying'(in the non gun way). Quite interestingly that stat goes out to 102% when extra holes are involved

Ask you local pro for a loaner and see if you like it before buying

Best of luck with your decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Domo1982 wrote:

My handicap went from 2 to 18 over the course of a few seasons about 10 years back all off the back of changing from a trolley to a standbag. I changed back,upgraded to battery powered, then to to remote control but it was too late unfortunately and my game was gone.
    How can you possibly know it was just down to changing from a cart to carrying?

Domo1982 wrote:

Fatigue is the big risk and you might find rounds blowing up on the last 3-4 holes on a regular basis.

Domo1982 wrote:
    Dehydration also a factor on hot days or when on holidays abroad. A mate of mine collapsed on the 18th green in Valderrama while -4 for the round. He played off 21 usually but had one of those days. He always used a trolley when at home but decided to tryout a standbag on this fateful day.
    Carrying a bag didn't cause him to collapse. Not hydrating/adapting to the conditions caused it.
    Domo1982 wrote:
    Then there's the mental side of the game - research has shown that 97.2% of amateur matchplay events are won by golfers using trolleys. just seems to give them that something extra on the day over the guys 'Carrying'(in the non gun way). Quite interestingly that stat goes out to 102% when extra holes are involved
    102%. Really?
    Domo1982 wrote:
    Ask you local pro for a loaner and see if you like it before buying

Domo1982 wrote:
    Best of luck with your decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Domo I think you're dehydrated

Post of the year for me ;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I have both and still not sold on carrying. A few holes is fine but for long rounds and carrying lots of water etc it can get heavy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 richbohs

I started carrying just before Christmas. Delighted with the move, as others have said i love the freedom. I was using a cheap pull trolley before and actually found i was less tired after a round when i switched. Can't see myself changing back anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭JIdontknow

ForeRight wrote: »
    I carry during the nice weather.
    Push trolley in winter with loads of gear in the bag.

I love the freedom of carrying a bag

I do the exact same. Trolley bag when weather is bad to bring wet gear etc but must say I personally like carrying the bag, I don't find it anymore tiring than a trolley, infact find it less tiring if that makes any sense! Find the stand bag very comfortable to carry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭mjsc1970

A light carry bag,no raingear, just the right amount of golf balls and good weather you're all set.
    Bad weather, a powakaddy everytime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Senecio

I have a carry bag that I like to carry in the car for the long summer evenings when I might be able to get out for 9 holes after work. I couldn't be bothered carrying for weekend competition rounds, too much stuff to carry (rain gear, bag cover etc...).

That of course means that you need a backup set to keep in the carry bag because swapping would be too much trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Ronney

News flash People but you can actually put a Carry Bag on a Trolly!

I know it my be frowned upon in some circles and considered a crime along the lines of using a spoon and bowel for Cup a Soup.

If your course is not a tough walk (hilly with long gaps between holes) and your reasonable fit then go for a carry bag.

Only downside to carry bags is bad weather as the bag on your back acts like a sponge. Just throw it on a cart on bad days, they might not sit perfectly but are grand side on.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Ronney wrote: »
    News flash People but you can actually put a Carry Bag on a Trolly!

I know it my be frowned upon in some circles and considered a crime along the lines of using a spoon and bowel for Cup a Soup.

If your course is not a tough walk (hilly with long gaps between holes) and your reasonable fit then go for a carry bag.

Only downside to carry bags is bad weather as the bag on your back acts like a sponge. Just throw it on a cart on bad days, they might not sit perfectly but are grand side on.

This is what ive started doing, carry when feck all in the bag but on trolly on wet days or courses ive never played before (few extra balls just in case!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Kingswood Rover

Carry yisser clubs ya shower of aul ones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I'm a 'carrier' and have been for some time.

As others have said the ability to go anywhere, move directly from A to B and be 'all terrain' is handy. You walk less with a carry bag, in my experience.

It's fine as long as you don't overload the bag (and yourself). As for 'dehydration' the bag has pouches for carrying water bottles.

The only time I don't carry is on 'mountainy' courses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

I always carry my bag even on the bad days cause i'm usually wearing the wet gear :p Love the freedom of not having to walk around greens and been able to go as the crow flies to tee boxes etc :)

Only time i use cart is if i have a big camogie match day after cause i do find my shoulders are a bit tighter when i switch to hurling after carrying bag but not noticeable if just doing day to day activities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Always carried up until last year and delighted I made the change - shoulders always tight towards the end of the round - I'm sure the bag weighed around 20kgs though :o

Love my GoKart now, wouldn't leave home without it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

I also chop and change depending on the weather and my humour.
    The best thing about the carry bag for me is being able to simply throw it into the boot afterward - not having to to clean trolley wheels, detach bag, fold trolley, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭yettie1701

I use both. Depending on where I'm playing. There are pros to both I think. In the winter a cart bag is great for storing all the different items of clothing needed. Then in summer time the carry bag is handy. Links golf demands a carry bag I reckon. It's too hard get up the dunes to look for my ball with the trolley. Just ends up turning over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Golf365

Being carrying since last Summer , really enjoy the freedom of just grabbing the bag & shoes.
    But I think I might get the switch on the Golf Glider now fixed for the big Competitions!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

I appear to be the opposite to most. Carry in winter as comps are shorter, waterproof/warm gear is on me and bag is virtually empty.

If weather is guaranteed to be good (or on holidays) I might carry as bag will be light. Otherwise I use an electric cart as the weather is so unpredictable during the Irish golf season you need to pack the entire golf wardrobe :rolleyes: Also just getting back into things after a few injuries so I do feel it after carrying a full bag 18 holes in comps and not gonna tempt fate.

Don't have a preference for either but don't buy into the freedom crap either apart from it's handy not dicking around with the trolley in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭TLOA72

What is wrong with you people? Hire a caddy for a round. throw a few bob their way and if they are not up to scratch give him a jolly good trashing.......
    Have a carry bag but use a battery trolley. Tend to forget to charge battery now and again so handy to empty out bag of any extra weight and carry if needs be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Sean_pop

Carry bags are fine in the summer when you don't need wet gear. Also make sure not to carry too many Golf balls. You would be surprised how much heavier a bag is with loads of Golf Balls in them.

Sean_pop wrote: »
    Carry bags are fine in the summer when you don't need wet gear. Also make sure not to carry too many Golf balls. You would be surprised how much heavier a bag is with loads of Golf Balls in them.

That's all very well unless you're playing The European :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Sean_pop

You might lose a ball in the European club but find 3 or 4 when looking for your own.

Or lose double figures :(:o:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,116 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

I prefer to carry, but it does affect the game. I have a light bag, but the clubs are heavy, so having a light bag doesn't make much of a difference.

The best rounds I have ever played have all been when I was in a buggy.

Followed by when I use my golf glider.

Carrying is great, but I've only recently gone back to the Glider and find a huge difference. Sore back, tired shoulders, all add up to poorer performances. There is a reason why Pros don't carry their own bags.

PS, I have a hybrid bag, doesn't sit great on the trolly, but does the trick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I think carrying really comes into it's own in winter when restrictions are introduced on where trolleys can go etc

The only disadvantage I've found is during windy weather when they can blow over if you don't align them properly with the wind.

I agree with your point about weight - carrying does force you to carry only what's essential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭BOB81

Started carrying my bag more this year and will aim to carry when weather is decent and use a pull trolley when its not - not a fan of carrying a soaking wet bag around for 18 holes. Home course is fairly flat and we have what is supposed to be links style rough off the fairways which you can't bring trolleys into - so often easier to have a bag on your back given how frequently I end up in that same rough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭WacoKid

If you play a flat course and hit it down the middle every time then a trolley is for you.

For us that have to go up and down hills, mounds, other fairways looking for balls then a carry bag makes it easier to navigate around the course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭daithi7

If you value your back, NO. Get a 3 wheel push trolley & mind your back as you only get one of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

i think both bags are useful. carry for the winter comps with the reduced number of holes and electric trolley for the summer months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Jazzzman

I found I was suffering from back problems after being a 'carrier' for 4-5 years.

Now I'm a 'holder'.

Basically I just hold my bag of clubs to my chest.

I probably look daft but it's working. Gone from a 22 h/c to single digits in the space of 8 months.

Try being a 'holder'. Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

Jazzzman wrote: »
    I found I was suffering from back problems after being a 'carrier' for 4-5 years.

Now I'm a 'holder'.

I probably look daft but it's working. Gone from a 22 h/c to single digits in the space of 8 months.

What about this http://www.hammacher.com/Product/81021?

You wouldn't need a bag at all.

Jazzzman wrote: »

Now I'm a 'holder'.

You're attributing your reduction to carrying your bag in an odd way??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

You're attributing your reduction to carrying your bag in an odd way??

Think how low he'd be if he carried it on his head............both arms free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,015 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Seve OB wrote: »

PS, I have a hybrid bag, doesn't sit great on the trolly, but does the trick.

A hybrid bag is a good investment allright.

I usually carry the hybrid bag for rounds less than 11 holes but anything longer than that the trolley will be used.
    I carry the bag more in the winter than summer .

I always use a trolley in 18 hole competitions though ,far too heavy lugging a big bag around with all the stuff you need for 18 holes.
    Water,food,golf balls,gloves,umbrella,a hat or a jacket,it all adds up.
    If you value your back, NO. Get a 3 wheel push trolley & mind your back as you only get one of them!

As someone with a bad back ,thats excellent advice .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Gosh some of you guys make it seem like a mammoth carrying a bag. I've always carried and it's no big deal. Leave a couple of clubs out if the bag is too heavy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

I have both, usually use the trolley though. Carrying will fatigue you more but I found a two wheel trolley is just as bad. 3 wheel is much better.

If your going to only carry, get the lend of one and put all the gear you'd normally bring in winter (wet gear,food,umbrella etc) and see how you get on before getting rid of the cart bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,116 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Club weight has to be a major issue. My bag is a lightweight one but clubs are seriously heavy. Part of the reason I've given up carrying.

I picked my dad's golf bag up the other day, it's a big ass old fashioned pro bag. Jeysus it was light as a feather. All boils down really to the clubs inside it....... Makes a big difference