Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why bother posting

• 03-05-2015 6:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭

During the past two weeks i have been following two threads where poster had been looking for advice. One was quite funny and the other quite serious. They both said they would come back and let us know what the outcome was.

They never bothered their head's

Why bother posting in the first place. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,908 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Attention seeking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

maybe they took your advice and are waiting to see how it works out before posting back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

lulu1 wrote: »
    During the past two weeks i have been following two threads where poster had been looking for advice. One was quite funny and the other quite serious. They both said they would come back and let us know what the outcome was.

I've had this happen a few times recently My question is why should I bother continuing to help people when they can't be bothered to come back with a "Thanks it worked".

This moves from minor annoyance to downright irritation on other more technical forums where the Forum Admin assumes the issue is solved and marks the thread "Solved". The source of the irritation is when you read 5 pages of suggestions to fix a particular issue only to find the issue isn't neccessarily solved, just the original poster never came back. Did it work? Did they give up? Did they get hit by the 46A bus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

They might just have forgot. Or died. Or just don't have the time. Or maybe they logged out and can't remember their password?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,532 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Maybe it was bad advice and they ended up in a Captain Phillips sort of scenario?
    Can't rule it out OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,879 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I remember one of those threads. It was the person who got notification to collect a registered letter. We came to the conclusion that the bailiffs had seized all his/her worldly goods including their internet devices.

catallus wrote: »
    They might just have forgot. Or died. Or just don't have the time. Or maybe they logged out and can't remember their password?
    OP may have murdered them....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Maybe they took the advice given and blasted them with piss and then got stabbed

OP may have murdered them....

Just so she can come on here and give out about them?

Seems plausible I guess. But why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Because they needed advice

Its not all about your closure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

I remember one of those threads. It was the person who got notification to collect a registered letter. We came to the conclusion that the bailiffs had seized all his/her worldly goods including their internet devices.

The very one i am talking about.

I think their in Mountjoy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

It kills time.

Throwing off investigators, displaying concern, boredom.

Hmmm, there's also the kind of paradoxical thing going on where she is posting a post giving out about other posters posting, which is confusing, to say the least.

We might have a sociopathic criminal mastermind on our hands here.....

Amazing what some will do for a thanks or two, don't trust OP for a second...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

Em, To get advice... as you mention in your post yourself.

I'm guessing if they were needing advice, it's their needs that's the priority not the person responding, and would hope that people wanting to help enough to offer advice to others would do so unconditionally, and could walk away hoping that the advice helped the person's situation even a little, and that's what ultimately matters... not the responders supposed needs to have an update.

I don't understand a 'why post looking for advice in the first place if you're not willing to come back and update us' type of mentality from anyone tbh.

Hmmm, there's also the kind of paradoxical thing going on where she is posting a post giving out about other posters posting, which is confusing, to say the least.

I was just posting a post about other posters posting posts and then not replying when other posters posts advice about their posts

Now here I have a poster posting about my post saying I am giving out about posters posting and then not replying when I post advice :eek:

No criminal mastermind here I'm even confused about my own post now :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I was just posting a post about other posters posting posts and then not replying when other posters posts advice about their posts

Now here I have a poster posting about my post saying I am giving out about posters posting and then not replying when I post advice :eek:

At least you posted a response.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Following boards advice? I imagine one of those poor souls is now in debt to coke dealers and the other is a hostage of ISIS.

That post gave me a headache.

martyos121 wrote: »
    That post gave me a headache.

Me too

me three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,879 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I could say that's confusing to say the least. Only that would make the presumption that it is confusing for everyone. Some people may find it not in the least bit confusing. The correct thing to say is "I'm confused". I'm not actually confused, but I needed to illustrate the point.

Neither am I confused by what the OP is asking, nor do I find it paradoxical. For instance if someone posts "I got a notice saying there is a registered letter for me, I wonder what could be in it" and then fails to respond to four pages of suggestions and discussions, it does beg the question why they chose to post in the first place.

... it does beg the question why they chose to post in the first place.

Maybe they were confused.

As for your illustrating your point, you say you are not confused in one sentence and then in the next you say you are.

But I digress.

Maybe the registered letter was medical results?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭folamh

To reap the advice and skidaddle, of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭LadyAthame

They wanted people to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,660 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Feck ye now I feel bad. I rarely tell the answering folk how it turned out. No more!

*legs it to Dublin forum after this thread reminds him of his 'third level' question *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

OP I suppose if you see them posting again you could give them non-advice like say 'Chocolate roofing is non-edible' or something like that, at least then you will balance out the useful replies that you gave which were never answered. :D:D:D:D

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Feck ye now I feel bad. I rarely tell the answering folk how it turned out. No more!

*legs it to Dublin forum after this thread reminds him of his 'third level' question *

And so you should but feck I'm not going to argue with you because rumour has it that your a very angry man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 percy glendening

I know exactly why.
    I haven't time to explain now.
    But I'll come back to let you know soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

In the same vane, Why does someone take two sips out of a cup of tea and leave the rest?

I know exactly why.
    I haven't time to explain now.
    But I'll come back to let you know soon.

Don't forget