Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Suckler dispersal sale in Tullamore today

• 02-05-2015 3:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭

Anybody at it? I traveled down to it but with bids only starting at 2000 I knew very quickly that I was going home empty handed

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,752 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Any examples of prices etc. Were 5 stars worth more:p

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

first lot - 5 year old chx cow with 5 month old ptx calf at foot 2650!

top price was 3150 for a ptx cow at pt calf at foot.

no stars to be seen as far as I could tell.

OK they were very good animals but how can anybody justify paying those prices?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Was this the one?
    http://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/clearance-sale-of-superb-suckler-herd/9224792?sv=1

Crazy prices alright when you think that the guy selling was probably getting out, because he wasn't making money at it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

I think the vendor is a widow woman for some years. How did the stock bulls go?

grassroot1 wrote: »
    I think the vendor is a widow woman for some years. How did the stock bulls go?

Stock bulls went very cheep compared to the cows espeically considering the quality of them.

1800-2100 of I remember correctly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

Stock bulls went very cheep compared to the cows espeically considering the quality of them.

1800-2100 of I remember correctly

Bought top quality pb charolaiscows and calves recently cows all 5* and ai bred back generations for 1900 average
    Considering I can get 2400 for a 16 mth old bull how the jezus do lads make anything when thry pay that for comercial sucklers?

Ya, head to the marts and pick up good red Lim heifers and spend the money on well proven Simmental straws. A better approach in my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

first lot - 5 year old chx cow with 5 month old ptx calf at foot 2650!

top price was 3150 for a ptx cow at pt calf at foot.

no stars to be seen as far as I could tell.

OK they were very good animals but how can anybody justify paying those prices?

It is very easy to justify. You load cow on your trailer and land her home. After a few day Bill from next store calls and you show them the cow. You show them this PTX cow with PTX calf that cost you 3150.

When Bill says ''God were they not dear!'' after hearing the price. You reply ''Shur that the price of them'' :rolleyes:

There is an old saying fools and there money are easy parted. Recently went into a yard with a friend looking at a few Friesian calves he wanted to buy. Owner had bought them to ''drink milk''. Now for calves that were purchassed to drink milk last Dec/Jan they had not in my opinion seen much of it. He was looking for 340 for them.

IMO there were no 400 euro calves in them and a good few that would cost you less than 200 in the mart and at lest two that were worth no more than 150. Now none would die again IMO. The lad I was with was not too interested but said to the owner that the price was very strong. He asked us what sort of money were were thinking.

I said that I taught there was no 400 euro calf and a good few that would make less than 200 in the mart. He started on about what they cost to buy and what they cost to rear for the last four ish months. Now I know when I land into the factory with cattle there is no point in telling an agent of Larry's that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,315 ✭✭✭tanko

It is very easy to justify. You load cow on your trailer and land her home. After a few day Bill from next store calls and you show them the cow. You show them this PTX cow with PTX calf that cost you 3150.

When Bill says ''God were they not dear!'' after hearing the price. You reply ''Shur that the price of them'' :rolleyes:

There is an old saying fools and there money are easy parted. Recently went into a yard with a friend looking at a few Friesian calves he wanted to buy. Owner had bought them to ''drink milk''. Now for calves that were purchassed to drink milk last Dec/Jan they had not in my opinion seen much of it. He was looking for 340 for them.

IMO there were no 400 euro calves in them and a good few that would cost you less than 200 in the mart and at lest two that were worth no more than 150. Now none would die again IMO. The lad I was with was not too interested but said to the owner that the price was very strong. He asked us what sort of money were were thinking.

I said that I taught there was no 400 euro calf and a good few that would make less than 200 in the mart. He started on about what they cost to buy and what they cost to rear for the last four ish months. Now I know when I land into the factory with cattle there is no point in telling an agent of Larry's that.

I hope he told ye where to go. I'd feel sorry for any farmer that has you calling to his yard. I wouldn't be too worried about Larry's agent either, I doubt he's going to starve any time soon.

tanko wrote: »
    I hope he told ye where to go. I'd feel sorry for any farmer that has you calling to his yard. I wouldn't be too worried about Larry's agent either, I doubt he's going to starve any time soon.

I would not like me calling to my yard either. However the reality was he was not helping himself either. Calves weren in one bunch with a three month age gap. He was feeding them meal but not enough and older calves were gobbling it down I say so younger calves had not got a chance.

I gave an opinion to the mart value of the calves I doubt of I was 10 euro out. Half the calves were HO especially a few of the smaller one. The lad I was with is renting a small bit of land and starting to do a bit of drystock. Was I supposed to be unfair to him he can not afford to make too many mistakes.

I make no apologises about my attitude to mking a profit. This farmer bought calves and maybe paid too much for them. If he had bought half the amount of them and did them well he would have had good calves. If he paid too much to another dairy farmer that is his issue. A few years ago who starting out a lad told me '' a farmers only friend is his pocket'' it is a good piece of advice.

Neither am I worried about Larry'sagent but that is who it have to deal with when selling cattle. if I make a mistake it is my children that go barefoot and there is no use crying to Larry's agent. In general drystock farmers pay too much for dairy cross calves. The final price of cattle is not in my gift. I have to operate to a margin and I see no point in buying cattle that will not leave that margin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

I would not like me calling to my yard either. However the reality was he was not helping himself either. Calves weren in one bunch with a three month age gap. He was feeding them meal but not enough and older calves were gobbling it down I say so younger calves had not got a chance.

I gave an opinion to the mart value of the calves I doubt of I was 10 euro out. Half the calves were HO especially a few of the smaller one. The lad I was with is renting a small bit of land and starting to do a bit of drystock. Was I supposed to be unfair to him he can not afford to make too many mistakes.

I make no apologises about my attitude to mking a profit. This farmer bought calves and maybe paid too much for them. If he had bought half the amount of them and did them well he would have had good calves. If he paid too much to another dairy farmer that is his issue. A few years ago who starting out a lad told me '' a farmers only friend is his pocket'' it is a good piece of advice.

Neither am I worried about Larry'sagent but that is who it have to deal with when selling cattle. if I make a mistake it is my children that go barefoot and there is no use crying to Larry's agent. In general drystock farmers pay too much for dairy cross calves. The final price of cattle is not in my gift. I have to operate to a margin and I see no point in buying cattle that will not leave that margin.

Fair play well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,455 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Reading this thread and wondering to myself if half the farmers in Ireland are still tied to their Mother's apron strings.
    If ye haven't got the knowledge to put a realistic commercial value on an animal when buying it and the foresight to predict its worth later on either in the mart or on the hook then don't buy it.
    OH and I normally buy in and rear 200 to 300 FR and coloured bull calves every year. This year we only bought 60 odd calves from a few realistic dairy farmers that we have been buying from for years.
    We called to other regular farmers in Feb this year and they were getting between €25 to €50 for JEx bull calves and €150+ for FR. They were selling them to local farmers. At that stage we knew the **** had hit the fan and we wouldn't be rearing calves this year.
    The calf exporters couldn't compete with those prices. It will be interesting to see the stats for calf exports this year.
    We also noted that a good number of dairy farmers were using Angus/Hereford or a continental bull on their cows this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

went to a suckler sale in carmew on saturday, cow units were all making over 2000 with a bbx cow and bull calf 2 months old 2550, sale ring was packed with buyers and a serious trade for every thing.
    where is the money to be made out of sucklers at this type of money,

went to a suckler sale in carmew on saturday, cow units were all making over 2000 with a bbx cow and bull calf 2 months old 2550, sale ring was packed with buyers and a serious trade for every thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

Know the man that sold tose cows. He would have serious stock and is a fair operator. I was talking to him since and he is absolutely thrilled pink with himself.

Grueller wrote: »
    Know the man that sold tose cows. He would have serious stock and is a fair operator. I was talking to him since and he is absolutely thrilled pink with himself.

Was he getting out of suckling or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭annubis

sure calf will no doubt make 11-1200 euros at some point, thats half cost of cow back in 1 year, assuming she goes on for a good few years and breeds a good few more calves she will have herself paid for fairly quick

I can see Farmer Pudsey shifting in his chair already.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,273 ✭✭✭orm0nd

annubis wrote: »
    sure calf will no doubt make 11-1200 euros at some point, thats half cost of cow back in 1 year, assuming she goes on for a good few years and breeds a good few more calves she will have herself paid for fairly quick

and good culls making up to €1800,

I think quality export weanlings will be dearer in the future and r and o type cattle will be hard sold

these units costing over €2k mightn't be too dear after all

annubis wrote: »
    orm0nd wrote: »
    and good culls making up to €1800,

I think quality export weanlings will be dearer in the future and r and o type cattle will be hard sold

these units costing over €2k mightn't be too dear after all

Yes these sums add up but where is the profit. Very few BBX cows have the frame to carry the weight to bring themselves into anyth over 1500 euro most of the time. Yes at peak prices they may exceed it but not week in week out.

You will need an exceptionall strong export mart price to achieve 3/kg for an export calf. 380 kgs at 2.75/kg is 1045. Grass, a bit of ration dosing vet etc will cost in the region of 225 euro to get him to sale day and sell him.

Of course I forgot the cow will live on fresh air. I taught most suckler farmers were telling us last year that it costs 5-800 to keep a cow for a year.

in this case 2+2 makes 5 or 3 whichever you like.

Was he getting out of suckling or what?

Has a lot of replacement heifers kept and is letting these off to bring in replacements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,273 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Yes these sums add up but where is the profit. Very few BBX cows have the frame to carry the weight to bring themselves into anyth over 1500 euro most of the time. Yes at peak prices they may exceed it but not week in week out.

Ennis last Thursday BBX 715 kgs €1540 LM 730 kgs, €1820 LM 840 kgs €1830 LM 855kgs €1780 and this trade was well back on a few weeks previous

You will need an exceptionall strong export mart price to achieve 3/kg for an export calf. 380 kgs at 2.75/kg is 1045. Grass, a bit of ration dosing vet etc will cost in the region of 225 euro to get him to sale day and sell him.

Of course I forgot the cow will live on fresh air. I taught most suckler farmers were telling us last year that it costs 5-800 to keep a cow for a year.

in this case 2+2 makes 5 or 3 whichever you like.

agree re feeding costs, but these are are also true for the plain stock , there is going to be loads of these availbe from the dairy off spring without producing more from the suckler herd,

had enough of them when guys were farming for subsidies, filled the country with scrub cattle

Just had a look at the Bord Bia export stats. The figures quoted are up to the 18th of April. Calf export numbers are down nearly 10,000 from last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Base price wrote: »
    Just had a look at the Bord Bia export stats. The figures quoted are up to the 18th of April. Calf export numbers are down nearly 10,000 from last year.

True but wasn't there ships ordered to take excess cattle out of the country due to factory issue.
    I wonder where is in comparison to 2013 (regular year) & 2012 where allot of calves were bought by farmers

Best info that I could find from a report by Bord Bia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Base price wrote: »

Are we free falling into another glut situation next year

rangler1 wrote: »
    It looks that way. Time to introduce Beef Futures.

rangler1 wrote: »
    Seems like it is heading in that direction :( I reckon it will not really hit until 2016 when this years FR bull calves will be fit.
    Store and weanling figures are down on last year too.
    Although we might get a miracle - ships will line up at the ports to take all these extra cattle away :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,201 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

had 3 calls today from lads looking for calves, these are lads that are buying calves rather than weanlings/bigger stock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Had a look round carnaross today there was a jersey bred as bull that had to be carried out of the ring that made 120. There's going to be a lot of scrap weanlings around in the autumn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

I was there too. A spilling bxtard of a wet day.
    There was that big a crowd it was nigh on impossible to see in to the ring. Lads had to be bidding without a clear view of what they were bidding at..

Grueller
    which man are you talking about selling the cows, the man from bunclody or the man from clonroche who sold the cows with the blue calves,
    WIllfarman
    not a nice day all right, but a crazy trade for the cows, a neightbour bought 9 of them dear cows just to comply with the stocking rate for sps,
    we got one springer to calve end of august after alot of trying,the commisision on her was 35 euros, no wonder david sold them where the money was to gained.

Grueller
    which man are you talking about selling the cows, the man from bunclody or the man from clonroche who sold the cows with the blue calves,
    WIllfarman
    not a nice day all right, but a crazy trade for the cows, a neightbour bought 9 of them dear cows just to comply with the stocking rate for sps,
    we got one springer to calve end of august after alot of trying,the commisision on her was 35 euros, no wonder david sold them where the money was to gained.

The man from Clonroche. Wasn't there myself. I thought on a clearance sale the commission was 5% + VAT.