Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Agricultural Building - planning permission

• 01-05-2015 6:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭

Wondering did anyone here get plans done up for the last grant and if so how much did they cost? Did the entire farm yard have to be measured and drawn?
    Thinking of getting the ball rolling here and get someone in to apply for planning to be ready for the new grant...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭50HX

good question

starting out myself after taking over from the aul lad

young farmer grant is 60% i think, does this include any vat refund?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

€1000-1500 should get plans done for a shed.
    60% after vat afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Tyson Lannister

Thanks, might get the ball rolling so, think it takes 3 months for planning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Who outside of teagasc does shed designs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,356 ✭✭✭tanko

Who outside of teagasc does shed designs?

Anyone with an engineering or construction related qualification would be well able to do plans for a shed. With a bit of luck they wouldn't be charging €1500 for a couple of hours work either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Mate just after finishing up 750k gal lagoon and 16 unit parlour and put plans in fir 200 topless cubicles
    said planning permission cist 500e and 200e fir architect.
    He was saying if he was to put up a roof on cubicles it would cost so much per square meter for the planning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

Mate just after finishing up 750k gal lagoon and 16 unit parlour and put plans in fir 200 topless cubicles
    He was saying if he was to put up a roof on cubicles it would cost so much per square meter for the planning

Intrested to hear more, what kind of parlour, and what spec, who done design and planning, in similar boat just starting looking at a greenfield site for 24 unit parlour (maybe stall work for 32/36) and 200 and topless cubicles.
    Pm either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Would a small single bay slatted unit be planning exempt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,583 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Anyone here with a lagoon,??.any issues or conditions getting planning.there a bit of a no no around here by our local authority,I know of only one and a few refused planning.if planning got I'd also presume you could expect at least one inspection per year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

tanko wrote: »
    Anyone with an engineering or construction related qualification would be well able to do plans for a shed. With a bit of luck they wouldn't be charging €1500 for a couple of hours work either.

It'd take a lot more than a few hours to do a farm planning in Cork. A minimum of 16 hours and depending on complexity, it could be 30 hours work.

Wondering did anyone here get plans done up for the last grant and if so how much did they cost? Did the entire farm yard have to be measured and drawn?
    Thinking of getting the ball rolling here and get someone in to apply for planning to be ready for the new grant...

I did a lot of farm plannings during the last grant. Most planners wpuld design the shed to fit into the existing farm yard. The most simplistic planning would cost 850. I would jave paid for the Maps (€100) add in the paper (min €80). The actual planning fee would be paid by the farmer as it is a big variable cost.

Sure darragh I'm sure you'd do a special boards f&f rate for any of us going building !!!!

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Anyone here with a lagoon,??.any issues or conditions getting planning.there a bit of a no no around here by our local authority,I know of only one and a few refused planning.if planning got I'd also presume you could expect at least one inspection per year

Had lad in yard yesteray going to give us quote for 3 sizes 350k gal up to 450k g
    he says there's no problem in wexford getting them any way.
    The lad I mentioned in last post had no bother at all
    He does ones fir land fulls and quarrys too and there a bit trickier to get alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,573 ✭✭✭✭Base price

If you are thinking about putting in a lagoon remember to price additional costs that will not be covered by the lining company - digger for several days, removal of clay, stone, pea gravel, fencing, gates at agitation points etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Base price wrote: »
    If you are thinking about putting in a lagoon remember to price additional costs that will not be covered by the lining company - digger for several days, removal of clay, stone, pea gravel, fencing, gates at agitation points etc.

It's working out cheaper to put up a slatted tank here.

Crowd we had here give complete price Inc everything and they do everything inc digging lining fencing agitation points etc
    working out circa 150e per cow I reckon

td5man wrote: »

And worked out cheaper and less hassle(planning,co co inspections etc) to put up finrone overground tank.idcsay where you have 250/300 plus cows a lagoon would be def more cost effective as regards slurry storage.for small medium sized herds maby not,

Crowd we had here give complete price Inc everything and they do everything inc digging lining fencing agitation points etc
    working out circa 150e per cow I reckon

So 150k for just slurry storage for 150 cows ,sounds dear

150k :eek: get the calculator back out mj 22.5k my calculator is telling me

I went to see a friends plans from the previous grant. Cost him e1000.
    There's a lot of work in it.
    All farm yard buildings measured, yard levels taken. Site layout of entire farm yard drawn, including proposed building. All soiled water, water courses etc drawn in.
    All existing floor area worked out and proposed floor area.
    All existing capacity plus proposed capacity.
    Site location maps, 6 and 25 inch.
    Plans of the building, floor plan, elevations, sections. All dimensioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

I went to see a friends plans from the previous grant. Cost him e1000. There's a lot of work in it. All farm yard buildings measured, yard levels taken. Site layout of entire farm drawn yard, including proposed building. All soiled water, water courses etc drawn in. All existing floor area worked out and proposed floor area. All existing capacity plus proposed capacity. Site location maps, 6 and 25 inch. Plans of the building, floor plan, elevations, sections. All dimensioned.

Same done here and worked out just under the 1000.

I went to see a friends plans from the previous grant. Cost him e1000.
    There's a lot of work in it.
    All farm yard buildings measured, yard levels taken. Site layout of entire farm yard drawn, including proposed building. All soiled water, water courses etc drawn in.
    All existing floor area worked out and proposed floor area.
    All existing capacity plus proposed capacity.
    Site location maps, 6 and 25 inch.
    Plans of the building, floor plan, elevations, sections. All dimensioned.

Would ye nearly be aswell not bothering with the grant. The price of everything is going to go through the roof ye won't be much better off and all the hoops you will have to jump through
    aswell as waiting for months for approval to be able to start the job and waiting again to get your grant and god help you if something is wrong

Would ye nearly be aswell not bothering with the grant. The price of everything is going to go through the roof ye won't be much better off and all the hoops you will have to jump through

You were rights earlier gg apologies,was with neighbour all morning and a heap of figures going round the head,he's planning extra cubicles and storage as well,thought about lagoon but decided against after chat with local co co..
    On above point re grant in putting in extra cubicles this summer in form of ocs ,new and bigger calving pens and extending my main calf shed .grant made me think about a roof but sticking to my guns and going topless!!as going grant route will add time and more spec

You were rights earlier gg apologies,was with neighbour all morning and a heap of figures going round the head,he's planning extra cubicles and storage as well,thought about lagoon but decided against after chat with local co co..
    On above point re grant in putting in extra cubicles this summer in form of ocs ,new and bigger calving pens and extending my main calf shed .grant made me think about a roof but sticking to my guns and going topless!!as going grant route will add time and more spec

We've just ordered new bulk tank so may get that out of the way first.

Could take 2 months to get PP but then ye talk to lads who have built alot of stuff with no planning si I dunno.
    need to get in contact with lads that do the towers. Dad likes them over the lagoon. Doesn't really make much difference to me what we go with just what ever works out cheaper. The one thing the tower has going for it is we can just do it for 100 ciws now and then add on next yr or when ever.

Sure darragh I'm sure you'd do a special boards f&f rate for any of us going building !!!!

yeah. no problem. it would be a very "special" price indeed (rubs hands together, with an evil laugh)

Did you do them up by hand or CAD?

AutoCad. by hand must be a pain in the hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,573 ✭✭✭✭Base price

td5man wrote: »
    I would not know the cost of putting up a slatted unit. To be honest I detest them as I personally find it objectionable that any animal should have to lie on concrete, let alone concrete with slits and a draught up their ass :(
    We have an old 6 bay one here that used to have cubicles (lie back?). We cut out the cubicles years ago and lightly bed that area with shaving/turf if we have to use it for larger cattle. Most of the time it is used to rear suck calves, we bed the slats with sheets from 8x4x4 bales of straw.
    I am not a fan of the lagoon either, due to the potential danger of having a very deep hole, full of sh1t/liquid and the possible accidents that could occur. However as a women I am more inclined to zone in on potential/possible/probable dangers.
    The one positive that I can say about the lagoon is that we have more than enough storage even during the wettest Winter/Spring. If the slatted unit gets full then our contractor can pump it into the lagoon and vice versa if the slatted unit needs additional liquid to agitate it.
    Our local County Council and Dept know that it is in situ and we get the occasional visit from a member of the CC Environment Dept.
    If I won the lotto in the morning I would get a walkway/gangplank thingie constructed over it so that it would be easier to spray off the grass/weeds.
    Our lagoon is 300k gallons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

AutoCad. by hand must be a pain in the hole

Not really. County Councils different. Make an appointment with local planner and see what are requirements. For last Grant scheme I drew up plans myself. I went into detail that I found afterwards was unnecessary. If you know any lad that drew them up himself look up his application online.

Some council planner are happy with single line drawings you can state that everything is to department standard. good yard sketch and view from main road. Most councils know that if you are getting a grant you have to do clean water etc. I think I drew it up in an evening filled out the application, took it to a photocopying draughting office and they laminated the planning application for the gate as well. Do not think I spend 100 euro plus planning fee. Planning fees change from council to council so just check.

I would not know the cost of putting up a slatted unit. To be honest I detest them as I personally find it objectionable that any animal should have to lie on concrete, let alone concrete with slits and a draught up their ass :(
    We have an old 6 bay one here that used to have cubicles (lie back?). We cut out the cubicles years ago and lightly bed that area with shaving/turf if we have to use it for larger cattle. Most of the time it is used to rear suck calves, we bed the slats with sheets from 8x4x4 bales of straw.
    I am not a fan of the lagoon either, due to the potential danger of having a very deep hole, full of sh1t/liquid and the possible accidents that could occur. However as a women I am more inclined to zone in on potential/possible/probable dangers.
    The one positive that I can say about the lagoon is that we have more than enough storage even during the wettest Winter/Spring. If the slatted unit gets full then our contractor can pump it into the lagoon and vice versa if the slatted unit needs additional liquid to agitate it.
    Our local County Council and Dept know that it is in situ and we get the occasional visit from a member of the CC Environment Dept.
    If I won the lotto in the morning I would get a walkway/gangplank thingie constructed over it so that it would be easier to spray off the grass/weeds.
    Our lagoon is 300k gallons.

Cattle are a lot hardier than you think most are too warm in sheds rather than too cold. Every farmers has to do his own costs and most opt for slatted units as they are the cheapest in the long term

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

We had no problem our self's in we
    Submitted plan our selves

Must be a big difference in county councils. A single line sketch of a yard and of the shed wouldn't have a hope around here. I looked up the agricultural planning guidelines- site location with entire farm in blue plus site in red, (6 and 25 inch,) site layout(no more than 1;500) yard must be surveyed, elevations and floorplans not less than 1:200, must have section views and Northpoint. Existing and proposed capacity and floor area. Water body area etc.

Thats the minimum requirement in cork too (don't know your county). And i was often asked for further information too