Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mobile phone from the 1990s making a comeback as Nokia 8210 proves popular for drug d

• 01-05-2015 2:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭

Extract from Article in the Mirror:

"Crooks favour the Nokia 8210, launched in 1999, over smartphones fitted with wi-fi, GPS and Bluetooth.

mobile phone from the 1990s is making a comeback among drug dealers.

Crooks favour the Nokia 8210, launched in 1999, over smartphones fitted with wi-fi, GPS and Bluetooth. The most popular phone of the late 1990s is back in demand among the criminal underworld because the devices are harder for police to trace"

Any thoughts on this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭anvilfour

What puzzles me is that with a smartphone you could use OTR messaging, also you can encrypt the device against being seized.

Balancing that out it would be fairly trivial using Bluetooth, GPS and Wifi to trace where the phone was.

So is this a case of just making sure that the phone's location is harder to trace? It's just the way I see it it would be easier to monitor call records and text from an older style phone whereas it would be much more difficult to intercept an encrypted conversation with OTR done over Jabber for instance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭lickme

anvilfour wrote: »

"Crooks favour the Nokia 8210, launched in 1999, over smartphones fitted with wi-fi, GPS and Bluetooth.

Crooks favour the Nokia 8210, launched in 1999, over smartphones fitted with wi-fi, GPS and Bluetooth. The most popular phone of the late 1990s is back in demand among the criminal underworld because the devices are harder for police to trace"

Any thoughts on this?

Use 2g signal. Harder to pin point exact locations. No Google location services. Forensic analysts can get feck all data from the phone like location etc. Sums it up really. Be stupid not to use an older phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

lickme wrote: »
    Use 2g signal. Harder to pin point exact locations. No Google location services. Forensic analysts can get feck all data from the phone like location etc. Sums it up really. Be stupid not to use an older phone.

Plus more practical stuff like the battery lasting a week, it can get bounced off the wall a few times and survive, and one costs less than my shirt. Handy if you need half a dozen of them.

I reckon texting is actually faster on them as well.

syklops wrote: »
    Plus more practical stuff like the battery lasting a week, it can get bounced off the wall a few times and survive, and one costs less than my shirt. Handy if you need half a dozen of them.

I reckon texting is actually faster on them as well.

Good point syklops, much easier to use Nokia as a burner phone.

I have a Nokia phone (not for this reason!) but because I heard 2G was more reliable and as you say the battery life!

lickme wrote: »

I suppose it would be harder to pinpoint an exact location. I suppose my worry for a Nokia phone would be that there's no way to protect your text messages and of course your calls can be monitored.

Get a 50 Euro Android phone and have a VOIP encrypted call or exchange messages over OTR, you can keep your conversation private but at the expense that it's easier to pinpoint where your phone is located.

As always I suppose it depends on your threat model. If you're known to the Police already as a drug dealer, you don't want any evidence placing you near the scene of the crime, although I still don't think there's much advantage in having a Nokia phone over a smartphone as you can still be located.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,927 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

anvilfour wrote: »

Any thoughts on this?

5110 and 3210 were more popular than the Nokia 8210 in 1999. 160 million 3210's sold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭dbit

Well Well well some shower of drug dealers the lot of ye tut tut tut. 6110 did it for me sexy sleek and so many mods available for all the above. IT did not sell me much drugs however . ( I was doing it wrong)

dbit wrote: »
    Well Well well some shower of drug dealers the lot of ye tut tut tut. 6110 did it for me sexy sleek and so many mods available for all the above. IT did not sell me much drugs however . ( I was doing it wrong)

Since our last discussion about this, back in the UK where I am from my Dad tells me they have just arrested a drug dealer with an old Nokia phone... it appears he was also cycling around the city to sell door to door to avoid his vehicle being tapped/traced. All might have been well if he didn't use his own Facebook account to advertise (facepalm).

Dad jokes that he's now a former dope peddler! Ha! Pedal? Get it? :-D