Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GMac interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

shaunac93 wrote: »
    Interesting interview with graeme in the irish independent about golf, nationaliality, family life and even the accent.

A bit of light reading for those of ye in an office 'pretending' to work :)

http://www.independent.ie/sport/golf/graeme-mcdowell-irish-northern-irish-british-i-tell-people-im-irish-because-everyone-loves-the-irish-31171821.html

p.s if there is a gmac thread feel free to merge this mods, i just couldnt find one.

Read it yesterday. Excellent read. PK has a habit of really getting into his subjects which makes for great interviews.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

Great interview... open and honest as per usual. Never knew about the following.... so you could say Elin chasing Tiger around with a 9 iron had a part to play in Gmac's major win! :D

GMcD:
    I was in China, playing in the World Cup with Rory and remember reading the news (about Tiger crashing his car) on Saturday night. Conor Ridge (former manager) had met with the guys at Chevron (the sponsors of the World Challenge, an event hosted by Woods in December) about getting into his event but it wasn't looking good. Then Tiger obviously did his thing, and they asked Conor on the Sunday we were in China, if I'd fly to LA as a reserve. I said 'sure', because it was on our way home, and the next day we got a call saying Tiger was out. I finished second that week.

It got me back into the world top 50, which meant I was going to Doral and the Masters in 2010. Five months later, on the morning after Wentworth, I click on the world rankings and I'm still there, right on the bubble at 49, but in the US Open. And if you extrapolate that back, it all began with Tiger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Yeah, read it. Kimmage is my favourite interviewer even if he did tread a little carefully with the McIlroy stuff. Got to make sure people will speak to you in the future I suppose.

It was a nice insight into McDowell and he comes across well as he does in all his media dealings. The accent is hilarious alright and the fact he picked it up after a few months is all the funnier.

Was going to mention the nationality subject but remembered it's taboo although it's raised briefly in the interview. At the risk of my first ever caution I'll say it's pretty simple in my head. Born on the island of Ireland=Irish.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Was going to mention the nationality subject but remembered it's taboo although it's raised briefly in the interview. At the risk of my first ever caution I'll say it's pretty simple in my head. Born on the island of Ireland=Irish.

And we'll leave it at that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

Born on the island of Ireland=Irish.

Couldnt agree with you more!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Why does any discussion about Rory or Gmac always descend to this.....:mad:

It has nothing to do with golf - get over it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Really enjoyed the interview. Gave a great insight. Was right not to ask too much about Rory, the interview was about Gmac and the other subject has been done to death at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

After rant post.......

I've got to be honest I didn't used to like GMAC, stupid name, more stupid accent but the guy has proven himself to be a top, top golfer.

For me the best guys(or gals) are the ones who can really produce their best game when the largest amount of pressure is on and GMAC has shown this time and time again. I fancy him to win at least one more major as the guy has bottle in spades - will need to be a shorter course though due to lack of length off the tee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭Dayor Knight

Very entertaining, enjoyable read. Quite a likeable guy - very candid and straightforward in his replies. Made me think I wouldn't mind to see a Graham McDowell thread on here - he's one of the good guys, imo. Well done to PK on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

After rant post.......

I've got to be honest I didn't used to like GMAC, stupid name, more stupid accent but the guy has proven himself to be a top, top golfer.

For me the best guys(or gals) are the ones who can really produce their best game when the largest amount of pressure is on and GMAC has shown this time and time again. I fancy him to win at least one more major as the guy has bottle in spades - will need to be a shorter course though due to lack of length off the tee.

I've always been a fan but his game hasn't really been there over these past couple of years. I would only fancy him now in extreme conditions and that's not good when playing in the US. He was always that type of player but I think he has been surpassed by the younger lads and I couldn't see him challenging at all in a regular event with favourable conditions. When he was at his peak he could do that a bit.

Hope I'm wrong but I can't see him being in the position to show just how good under pressure he is. And I don't think he believes he can be in the same league as the stars of the game. He has made some comments over the past few years reflecting this, especially when talking about Rory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Very entertaining, enjoyable read. Quite a likeable guy - very candid and straightforward in his replies. Made me think I wouldn't mind to see a Graham McDowell thread on here - he's one of the GOD guys, imo. Well done to PK on this one.

He may have the accent but he isn't one of the bible belt boys :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

PARlance wrote: »
    I've always been a fan but his game hasn't really been there over these past couple of years. I would only fancy him now in extreme conditions and that's not good when playing in the US. He was always that type of player but I think he has been surpassed by the younger lads and I couldn't see him challenging at all in a regular event with favourable conditions. When he was at his peak he could do that a bit.

Hope I'm wrong but I can't see him being in the position to show just how good under pressure he is. And I don't think he believes he can be in the same league as the stars of the game. He has made some comments over the past few years reflecting this, especially when talking about Rory.

I'd like to think he has another US open in him or even a British. The tougher, grinders courses suit him best. The point and bomb of the weekly tour is a tough place for him given his relative lack of length.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭Dayor Knight

PARlance wrote: »
    He may have the accent but he isn't one of the bible belt boys :)

Lol. Good spot. I've edited to take god out of my post! I'm sure He won't mind, under the circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

I do love when he tells of what was going through his head on the 18th at Pebble Beach, it's not just us hackers who have to fight the negative thoughts!