Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quad fertiliser spreader!!

• 27-04-2015 8:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭

Any else here have one?
    Are they reliable?

Would a 250cc have any problem pulling one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

If you had a tractor and your land was accessible to a tractor, I'd buy a tractor mounted one instead. I can remember pricing the quad ones and I think their up around €1,200-€1,500 for something decent. That's just too near the price of a quality brand of tractor mounted spreader that would be a superior job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

They're more like 1800+. Had a gamberini before myself and a honda 300. Could only really spread 4 bags at a time comfortably. Most lads are using 500cc quads for the job i believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

That's the same money as a brand new wagtail so. I've a 350cc honda and put 2 bags of fert up on back carrier rail of mine recently and one on the front, just bring it up to a shed. Don't think I would of liked to carry any more then that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭visatorro

That's the same money as a brand new wagtail so. Throw 3 bags of fert up on the back carrier rail of your quad and drive around the farm. That might give you an idea of how it might drive with a trailer attached. ;)

was thinking of getting one and doin paddocks when bringing in the cows. decided feck it I didn't want to go back to lifting 50kilo bags again. up til this year I waited until I had enough ground for half tonne bag and do it myself. this year contractor blanket spreads farm once a month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭CallofGuti

Recently bought a 1t Vicon for €1,000. It only had a few years done and is in excellent condition. Plenty of spreaders out there so don't over pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Got a Fimco spreader that holds one bag at a time, mounts on the rear rack, cost €495. I haven't used it yet but a neighbour has one for a few years and talking to them swung my decision.

http://www.oneillspowerequipment.ie/products/fimco-atv-dms-12v-spreader

They don't have to be a million dollars each :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Got a small new Fleming tractor spinner last year for 500 quid...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭minktrapper

My own opinion is if a four wheel drive tractor can't travel the land there is no point in spreading expensive fertilizer.But that is just my opinion and my circumstances.

This is the yoke I got, just used it for the first time today, took a bit of getting used to on my excessively flat ground :eek: :o It just about takes a 50kg bag, probably a good idea to fill less if doing any acrobatics. Fire a another bag on each rack and away ya go.

I think there'll be a while spent this summer (if we get one) spent removing obstacles with the transport box, too much zig zagging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Obstacles...
    Aka big bastatds rocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

Fire a another bag on each rack and away ya go.

Make sure your front rack is rated to carry 50kgs. I busted the steering on my last quad carrying a fertilizer bag on the front.

Pacoa wrote: »
    Make sure your front rack is rated to carry 50kgs. I busted the steering on my last quad carrying a fertilizer bag on the front.

Got a small trailer for her too so I suppose in reality there isn't much need for me to carry much weight on the racks any more. Handy to just fire them on and drive off all the same. I'll check in the book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

My new baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

satstheway wrote: »
    My new baby.

Fine set up! How many bags does the spreader hold, 4 or 5? What's it like to pull with the quad when full?

Parishlad wrote: »
    Fine set up! How many bags does the spreader hold, 4 or 5? What's it like to pull with the quad when full?

Holds 500kg easily. Grand full on good ground.
    2 bags on very bad ground. Quad would tip before it will. Had gamberini last for 10 yrs it Was better on rough ground but only held 5 at a push.
    got this for the half ton bags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

ganmo wrote: »
    Got a small new Fleming tractor spinner last year for 500 quid...

I have the same but I am not impressed. I used in in the spring to put out some urea. I found that it spread very uneven. It spread very heavy directly behind the shaker but light to the side or vice versa! maybe i should have kept my tracks closer but I was trying to keep around 10ft apart and thought this would be ok.

Wouldnt use it again for this reason and the price of fert is to dear to be wasting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

My new baby.

Lovely tidy outfit, best of luck with her.
    Would that spreader sit wider than the gamberdini? I find the gamberdini a bit narrow for rough ground, would have liked the wheels to be set out another few inches and I like the plastic hopper on that one.

Lovely tidy outfit, best of luck with her.
    Would that spreader sit wider than the gamberdini? I find the gamberdini a bit narrow for rough ground, would have liked the wheels to be set out another few inches and I like the plastic hopper on that one.

I never found my gamberini narrow and I have been in some unbelievable ground. mine was the 2003 model which was lower than the older ones. The new one is ok but the disk spun rate is a bit slow for rough ground. Gamberini was better.
    New one does not batter u constantly with fertiliser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭minktrapper

RobinBanks wrote: »
    I have the same but I am not impressed. I used in in the spring to put out some urea. I found that it spread very uneven. It spread very heavy directly behind the shaker but light to the side or vice versa! maybe i should have kept my tracks closer but I was trying to keep around 10ft apart and thought this would be ok.

Wouldnt use it again for this reason and the price of fert is to dear to be wasting.

Try spreading to the nearest wheel mark and that might help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭greenpetrol

My new baby.
    What cc id needed to pull that full? Would a honda 420 pull it without burning the heart out of it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

visatorro wrote: »
    was thinking of getting one and doin paddocks when bringing in the cows. decided feck it I didn't want to go back to lifting 50kilo bags again. up til this year I waited until I had enough ground for half tonne bag and do it myself. this year contractor blanket spreads farm once a month.

http://www.c-dax.co.nz/index.php?page=shop/flypage&product_id=12516&parent_cats=

I have one of these and i believe its exactly what you want for what you are describing above. Go out with the quad to get the cows. Throw out a bag of fertiliser when the cows are coming in.
    It is heavy on the back end of the quad though. 7/800 quid though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭sonnybill

Gamberini or jarmet?

I looking at jar met five bag but draw bar seems short to me and have used old gamberini for years and she was a great yoke ?

Walco seem but flimsy to me only thing bringing me towards jar met is they seem heavy galvanised frame or should I hold out for the gamberini?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭fanmanad

sonnybill wrote: »
    Gamberini or jarmet?

I looking at jar met five bag but draw bar seems short to me and have used old gamberini for years and she was a great yoke ?

Walco seem but flimsy to me only thing bringing me towards jar met is they seem heavy galvanised frame or should I hold out for the gamberini?

What about atchison? Have a 10 bag one here. Very well built

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Gamberini or jarmet?

Gamberini all the way. Better built now and has a plastic hopper. Good even spread and very steady. Can be a little hard to get into gear but it's only a small complaint. Hold 6 bags at Max. Got one of those bag valves. Avoid the 50kg bags at all cost.
    Key to minding them is a quick hose and a spray of oil after use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭sonnybill

Gamberini all the way. Better built now and has a plastic hopper. Good even spread and very steady. Can be a little hard to get into gear but it's only a small complaint. Hold 6 bags at Max. Got one of those bag valves. Avoid the 50kg bags at all cost.
    Key to minding them is a quick hose and a spray of oil after use

Yeah I’m thinking they worth the extra few euro, jarmet in comparison although Galvanised seems very short draw bar and would turn over in a hearbeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Ard_MC

Gamberini or jarmet?

Walco 10 bag one here. Brilliant machine. Wouldn't part with it.

Yeah I’m thinking they worth the extra few euro, jarmet in comparison although Galvanised seems very short draw bar and would turn over in a hearbeat.

Yea. Galvanised frame is only ok when you wash it straight away. Leave it 1 night with fertliser on it and if will start to corroded off the galv.
    Fertiliser and galv cong go well together af all.

I have the Atkinson one now for 5 years and it's like new. Washed every time. Great spreader on large even hilly ground but not as good as the gamberinni on rough ground.( need more speed with Atkinson).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 St.Senan

@9935452 - the C-Dax Spreadmaster looks to be a well constructed piece of equipment - it looks to be the most solid and robust of all the electro-broadcasters. What's your opinion of it at this stage?

Anyone else have experience of it?