Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

24? out the door!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I feel sorry for them. It's the home they grew up in. Their dad fecks off years ago and then comes back to get the house when their mum dies. I can't blame them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

That's absolutely ****ing disgraceful.

eviltwin wrote: »
    I feel sorry for them. It's the home they grew up in. Their dad fecks off years ago and then comes back to get the house when their mum dies. I can't blame them.

He's only getting a quarter of the value. He was paying the mortgage. Sad case anyway. It said elsewhere that they had the place in a tip, with rubbish in the back yard and dirty clothes everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

" Time to get out and pay some rent!"
    What say you AHs?

I'd say you're a blowhole but that's just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 canttalk

I feel sorry for them....but from the article it looks like their dad was paying the mortgage. Had the parents divorced I still think it would have ended much the same way.

They're obviously very close brothers but the real tragedy is the estrangement with their father. Hopefully whatever money they receive from the sale will give them a little helping hand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭haveringchick

Do uou not think there's something creepy about a man in his thirties still sleeping in his old bedroom, 3 of them no less.
    Have they, none of them, had the urge to get out there and set up home with s significant other?
    I might understand wanting to not abandon their mother like their dad did, but shes been gone for 6 years. Time to jump out of the nest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Do uou not think there's something creepy about a man in his thirties still sleeping in his old bedroom, 3 of them no less.
    Have they, none of them, had the urge to get out there and set up home with s significant other?
    I might understand wanting to not abandon their mother like their dad did, but shes been gone for 6 years. Time to jump out of the nest!

Perhaps they are shy and not very good at attracting the other halves, like a lot of us on here.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Time to jump out of the nest!

It's not like his mammy was still cooking his dinner and washing his socks. I can understand, given her passing, why they would be reluctant to move away from the family home.

I do think that, presuming the father had a hand in buying the house in the first place, that he have some share returned. If the lads wanted to keep it so badly they could have bought him out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Seems they agreed that if he took up mortgage repayments then they would vacate and sell at a certain date? They made an agreement? Have to stick by it? Am I missing something? Did they have no option but to enter into the agreement legally? Would they have had to sell either way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Father maintained payments so owns the house.

They're getting their share when it's sold.

Next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 GTX 780

I have a feeling this thread is going to bring out a lot of judgmental folks - The type of folks that expect everyone to live up to their type of lifestyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

GTX 780 wrote: »
    I have a feeling this thread is going to bring out a lot of judgmental folks - The type of folks that expect everyone to live up to their type of lifestyle.

"I moved out and was entirely independent at the age of 12 etc etc I never had my parents pay for me to do anything since then"

Yep, I know the type.

Maybe they just split up and he maintained payments on the family home until his kids were grown up which is the decent thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 edword

feel sorry for these men but i hope they dig their heels in, if enough people in their twenties stayed in the family home then we wouldnt have such a housing crisis. the key is in the name - its a shortage of houses, not a shortage of rooms. some people leave 4/5 bedroom houses and leave their parents on their own in them, thats 3/4 empty bedrooms contributing to the crisis. we need to understand what contributes to the problems we have but everyone is looking the other way.

"I moved out and was entirely independent at the age of 12 etc etc I never had my parents pay for me to do anything since then"

Yep, I know the type.

To be fair, we're talking about 3 guys in their 20s living by themselves in a house they pay nothing towards, by the sounds of it. Not somebody living with their parent(s) on a mutual agreement.

Maybe they could buy the Da out or pay him rent. You can't expect the Father to cover their accommodation indefinitely unless they're in college or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

Sorry, but the guy is paying the mortgage on the house and they expect him to live in a bedsit so they can have their nice comfy childhood home? They're not latchkey kids, they're grown men. What is wrong with the country when a guy in his 30s/ 40s being looked after by his Daddy gets elected by the public. "Representative" me a*se.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

edword wrote: »
    feel sorry for these men but i hope they dig their heels in, if enough people in their twenties stayed in the family home then we wouldnt have such a housing crisis. the key is in the name - its a shortage of houses, not a shortage of rooms. some people leave 4/5 bedroom houses and leave their parents on their own in them, thats 3/4 empty bedrooms contributing to the crisis. we need to understand what contributes to the problems we have but everyone is looking the other way.

I think lack of proper urban planning has more to do with it. Enter ghost estates. Plenty of houses in the middle of nowhere where nobody wants to live.

The dad says the place is in a sorry state. I suppose the mam kept cleaning up after them till she died and they still havnt figured it out.
    Really I've no sympathy at all for them. Crowd of moochers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭triple nipple

GTX 780 wrote:

You mean ... like ... normality?

Ok. Not sure what you're trying to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

GTX 780 wrote: »
    Ok. Not sure what you're trying to say.

People in their 30s with jobs who don't expect their parents to put a roof over their heads for the rest of their lives. Is that clear enough?

Soz, didn't read the OP properly.

Why didn't the three of them buy their father out of the house?
    They're in their 30s for jaysus sake!
    They can hardly expect their father to pay the mortgage for three grown men to live rent free in a house!!!

Confused by the "poor lads" posts.. If you read the article, it's clear that the father paid the mortgage and the sons wanted an early inheritance of him while he lived in a bedsit. I only feel sorry for the father not being able to sell it six years ago when it was worth more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭LadyAthame

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/no-one-should-lose-their-home-like-this-politician-on-losing-family-home-to-his-estranged-father-31175385.html
    3 grown men still clinging on to the family home presumably having never moved out, one of them an elected representative.
    I say " Time to get out and pay some rent!"
    What say you AHs?
    I live at home I don't expect anything. I don't expect my parents to not sell or sell they must do what they feel is best.

I have no expectations I enjoy my family. I couldn't give a flying F8ck what people think. If they have something to say I wouldn't like them anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

nobody should have to pay for anything.

lets form a drum circle.

#no2moneybullies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭LadyAthame

nobody should have to pay for anything.

lets form a drum circle.

#no2moneybullies
    Or the anything for Money bullies eh DM?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I think most people would choose a rent-free house over renting or buying a house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

edword wrote: »
    Well, if the parents would sell the 4 bed houses when the kids moved out there wouldn't be such a problem, would there?

As for these lads, I've no sympathy. Their dad was paying the mortgage on the house while they lived rent free. They broke the agreement on when to move out because they couldn't find 'affordable' accommodation, because apparently they couldn't use the time they were living rent-free to save up a few month's rent. Disgraceful behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Confused by the "poor lads" posts.

There are poor , downtrodden children being flung from their homes all the time. It has to stop.Sure theres been a case in the news for the last few weeks. #justicefortheodennellchildren #savethehands #handsaroundodonnells

The biggest problem for those lads might be who will wipe their arses when they can't rely on their Daddy any more?

I mean, even the person in the article doesn't seem to grasp the issues. It's not about divorce. In fact, if his parents got divorced, the issue would have been addressed long ago, the house would have gone to one or other parent, or sold and they would have been out then, or sold with a stay until they turned 18 or whatever. It's about ownership and contributions towards that, such as paying for the mortgage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

They agreed to vacate the house, but then failed to do so because they couldn't get their finger out and find somewhere else to live. Yet somehow magically they'll find somewhere to live in the next four weeks. Imagine that.

No sympathy for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 amie lee

My partner still lives at home with his parents at age of 35 and we have a baby together

amie lee wrote: »
    My partner still lives at home with his parents at age of 35 and we have a baby together

Nothing wrong with that, well nothing seriously wrong. But if he starts claiming he has rights in their house, tell him to cop on.

amie lee wrote: »

Do you and the baby live there too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

25? Buried alive!... back on topic.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭SMJSF

I totally agree.... What about the kids who are in care and have a roof over their heads the day before they turn 18, the next day, they're booted out the door of what they are supposed to call home and then homeless!!
    And these young (and older) so called reps/TDs will "help" these kids/Young people who are sleeping in bushes and doorways, while they go home to a meal made by their mammies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Indo wrote:
    Cllr Hand the court case and ruling regarding their old family home can "rooted" to the fact his mother and father never divorced.
    http://www.quickmeme.com/img/aa/aa04545ca38e8696e00c8cb698da9a0b2190d12110f952461ad6ab2e41992576.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 amie lee

Do you and the baby live there too?

no I live in my own house with baby he stays at weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 thecamcam

i was told to get out aged 18 , so i did .