Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spraying Silage Ground

• 26-04-2015 1:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭

I've been looking over older threads and couldn't see a definitive answer.i have the silage ground closed 3weeks hope to cut first it second wk in june. There are an awful lot if dandelions coming through. Seems free enough from docks or anything else. Will it stunt the growth to spray fields? If not what spray would ye recommend and how close to cutting date should I spray or could I spray asap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

If it's fine enough to spray,spray while ya have the weather forefront will be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭jaymla627

I've been looking over older threads and couldn't see a definitive answer.i have the silage ground closed 3weeks hope to cut first it second wk in june. There are an awful lot if dandelions coming through. Seems free enough from docks or anything else. Will it stunt the growth to spray fields? If not what spray would ye recommend and how close to cutting date should I spray or could I spray asap?

Might be better going with 2 ton of lime after cutting, dandelions are a sure sign of low soil ph

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

I said wrote: »
    If it's fine enough to spray,spray while ya have the weather forefront will be grand.

I thought forefront couldn't be used before cutting for silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭degetme

Pastor or doxstar pro shouldnt stunt it. I think the cheaper sprays will stunt growth tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Personally I wouldn't bother spraying dandelions unless they've completly taken over. They are hightly palatable and nutricious for stock as their long tap-roots bring up alot of essential elements from deeper in the soil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Might be better going with 2 ton of lime after cutting, dandelions are a sure sign of low soil ph

That can't be right. PH of 8 and the land is riddled with the bast@rds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

+1 6.8PH in a field around home and it's riddled with them. They dont look as bright since I sprayed them a few days ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭jaymla627

The only place we have any here is on headlands where lime was missed, the neighbours bordering us are infested with them wouldnt have went with lime in 20 years plus they also seem to pop up on hungry land too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

All my ground ph is correct and there's still heaps of dandelions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Miname wrote: »
    I thought forefront couldn't be used before cutting for silage.

You may be correct either way spray when the weather allows with what ever you use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭tomieen jones

I said wrote: »
    You may be correct either way spray when the weather allows with what ever you use
    the grass will smother a good lot of them by harvest time! They are no harm only good if anything! Wouldn't bother with spraying IMO it will stunt grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭promises

You cannot spray forefront on silage ground plus it works out expensive. Cheaper option like bandit would be my preference, works out bout €12 an acre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

+1 6.8PH in a field around home and it's riddled with them. They dont look as bright since I sprayed them a few days ago!

I'd spray the hoors but there's no clover friendly spray for them. Tbh, I think it's a mistake to mind clover that the expense of weeds, I'll pull the trigger soon. What did you spray with Mad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

I'd spray the hoors but there's no clover friendly spray for them. Tbh, I think it's a mistake to mind clover that the expense of weeds, I'll pull the trigger soon. What did you spray with Mad?

Ya no clover is safe here any more, feck it. I can throw sum seed into the spreader when all the weeds are gone. Sprayed with high load.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

It has something to do with the spring we are getting rather than soil ph. I don't have a scientific reason why, but Dandelions are very popular everywhere this spring over say last year.

As far as I know, I think it's too late spraying them now after they have flowered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

jaymla627 wrote: »

Got two bags at closing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Thanks for all the replies. Think I will leave it and maybe spray the after grass. Might be bit late for some of the weeds but end of june early july won't be too far out either.:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Toby12345

Interesting points lads. I was wondering about it all myself. My silage field looks like a crop of rape this year when usually there is hardly one dandelion about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

if dandilions are the worst thats growning in that feild then keep your money in your pocket

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭votuvant

Sorry to hijack this thread but a quick question for ye.

I'm going to reseed a few acres and I sprayed it with roundup about 2 weeks ago at the recommended rate. The grass is all pretty much dead but the fecking docks are still alive but a bit sickly looking. How long does it take them to die or will I have to spray them again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

votuvant wrote: »
    Sorry to hijack this thread but a quick question for ye.

I'm going to reseed a few acres and I sprayed it with roundup about 2 weeks ago at the recommended rate. The grass is all pretty much dead but the fecking docks are still alive but a bit sickly looking. How long does it take them to die or will I have to spray them again?
    What way are you going to sow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭votuvant

What way are you going to sow?

Plough and power harrow. Its meadow that has never been reseeded and I want to get it right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

votuvant wrote: »
    Plough and power harrow. Its meadow that has never been reseeded and I want to get it right.

Wouldn't worry about them so. You'll get them with post emergent spray after its sown