Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there something you're always losing?

• 25-04-2015 12:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

For me, it's bus and train tickets, I just always feckin forget what I did with them. As a result, I live in constant fear of an inspector coming on. Of course, I'll always find them scrunched up in my coat pocket three hours later.

I've also had one or two awkward conversations at Connolly station explaining how I mislaid the ticket. To be fair, they're usually sound enough about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

The will to live!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 491 ✭✭Dozer Dave

Urine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Being a woman and in possession of handbags: everything.

Women's handbags have a vortex into which anything you need at a given time gets sucked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

My religion.

That was just a dream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Women's handbags have a vortex into which anything you need at a given time gets sucked.

Spunking into a lady's handbag is acceptable these days so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

My virginity.

You'd be surprised how many people actually believe that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Hotel room keys once I've gotten in the door

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I emptied mine out and found a pass from an anime con from 2 years ago :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

My marbles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Earrings, it's got to the stage now where if someone gives me a nice pair I just worry about it. I've a lovely pair of Hannah Mc Guinness ones my godparents gave me at Christmas and I'm too afraid to wear them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

My religion.

I think you've said too much :0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Socks.

If I had a Euro for every sock I've lost over the last ten years, I'd probably have enough to buy at least three pairs of socks.

Earrings, it's got to the stage now where if someone gives me a nice pair I just worry about it. I've a lovely pair of Hannah Mc Guinness ones my godparents gave me at Christmas and I'm too afraid to wear them.

Wear them! Enjoy them! They didn't mean them to be kept in a box.

My OH Is the same, pisses me off no end when I see our daughter playing dollies with them!!!!

(Sorry for over reaction but seriously, they bought them for a reason!!! Grrr!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭mazwell

My car keys. Every single day. I thought I lost them once after a night out, tore the house apart looking for them, rang the pub and the guards. They were in my handbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

My debit card. I end up getting a new one every 8 weeks I'd say :o

Wear them! Enjoy them! They didn't mean them to be kept in a box.

My OH Is the same, pisses me off no end when I see our daughter playing dollies with them!!!!

(Sorry for over reaction but seriously, they bought them for a reason!!! Grrr!!)

I tried them on and did a few twirls in the mirror, but seriously, if I wear them outside the house they'll be gone! They were a lovely present so there's no way I could give them away or sell them, but I think they're going to be limited to me wearing them when I go visit the godparents and being conscious of them at all times :(

RayM wrote: »
    Socks.

If I had a Euro for every sock I've lost over the last ten years, I'd probably have enough to buy at least three pairs of socks.
    Ah but I'd say that's something everyone can relate to. Although the duvet-cover - always a few socks scrunched up in the corner of it. But even if I always ensured to wash the duvet-cover and socks separately, the socks would still go missing. It's just a standard thing.

My boyfriend has a knack for losing important things, outdid himself a few weeks ago when he misplaced his driving licence, passport and social welfare card in one fell swoop (they eventually turned up inside a record sleeve, how do you even...never mind). My suggestion that in future maybe he shouldn't keep them all together was apparently pretty unhelpful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭LadyAthame

My Phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Pens...start the day off with 10...end up with one, usually a stubby little s!it of a bookies pen

Oh, and lighters. I always either have several of them on my person/in my bag or else cannot find one anywhere. And then the next day there's dozens of the feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭garra

That was just a dream.

Is that you in the corner?

I tried them on and did a few twirls in the mirror, but seriously, if I wear them outside the house they'll be gone! They were a lovely present so there's no way I could give them away or sell them, but I think they're going to be limited to me wearing them when I go visit the godparents and being conscious of them at all times :(

If you feel good in them, wear them wherever you feel good. A good pair of earrings is really sexy/ good looking. If you don't want to wear them that much, tell them! (I met my 21 year old god daughter out 2 weekends ago telling me how bad my presents to her were!!.it hurt but id much prefer it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

My phone. My dad thought for years I would purposely not answer the phone. I think he has realised now that it is constantly hiding somewhere in the house and often it takes a while before I bother to look for it. Too busy with other stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

garra wrote: »
    Is that you in the corner?

No, that's me in the spotlight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

My boyfriend has a knack for losing important things, outdid himself a few weeks ago when he misplaced his driving licence, passport and social welfare card in one fell swoop (they eventually turned up inside a record sleeve, how do you even...never mind). My suggestion that in future maybe he shouldn't keep them all together was apparently pretty unhelpful.

Record sleeve. Nice one, I'll use that.

Anyway, I lose my patience almost every time any person speaks to me.

Monopoly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Ah but I'd say that's something everyone can relate to. Although the duvet-cover - always a few socks scrunched up in the corner of it. But even if I always ensured to wash the duvet-cover and socks separately, the socks would still go missing. It's just a standard thing.

I've lost towels in the duvet cover before.

RayM wrote: »
    I've lost towels in the duvet cover before.
    Still single then? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

My bank card. I put it in my wallet, and it always somehow manages to find its way to a different pocket, my jeans, my bag, whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Keys. It's bad. To the point where I have to say out loud "Beks, you are leaving your keys on the kitchen counter/bedside locker/hall table" every time I put them down.

Sunglasses. I have an remarkable capacity to lose sunglasses. I have to buy sh1tty 5 pound penneys pairs these days as I routinely lose them about once every few weeks. Double that during summer time.

Oyster card. I now have a collection of about five, from losing and then finding them around the house once I've bought a new one.

Umbrellas. Jesus I can never find an umbrella.

Mini usb cables for charging phone. Duno how many i have gone through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Games of 8 ball pool. I hustle late at night when boys get drunk in my local, but the fall of the balls went against last night and I lost 3 games on the spin. They only play for 2 quid a pop so I lost 6euro to drunkards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

My passport, it always ends in a panic and me buying an emergency one!

You need to close the duvet cover before you wash it. Else the pillow cases go in thee and are in a bajillion creases before they're even dried.

I lose everything. I consider my self relatively smart, and quite logical, but I'm a complete ditz (sp?).

I lose my car key. My house key (not they're not together). My phone. My purse. My whole handbag. Mostly the keys though.

I don't even have one of those vortex bags. I have feck all in my bag, just the above + Vaseline and maybe a phone charger, but still lose everything. Drives me demented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

My dignity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Geniass

Phone charger. When I say lost I mean stolen by other family members.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Robsweezie wrote: »
    I think you've said too much :0

He hasn't said enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Oh - stop

With your feet on the air and your head on the ground
    Try this trick and spin it, yeah
    Your head will collapse
    But there's nothing in it
    And you'll ask yourself

Where is my mind? [3x]

Way out in the water
    See it swimmin'

I was swimmin' in the Caribbean
    Animals were hiding behind the rocks
    Except the little fish
    But they told me, he swears
    Tryin' to talk to me, to me, to me.

Where is my mind? [3x]

Way out in the water
    See it swimmin'

Your head will collapse
    If there's nothing in it
    And you'll ask yourself

Where is my mind? [3x]

Way out in the water
    See it swimmin'

Oh
    Oh
    Oh
    Oh

beks101 wrote: »
    Sunglasses. I have an remarkable capacity to lose sunglasses. I have to buy sh1tty 5 pound penneys pairs these days as I routinely lose them about once every few weeks. Double that during summer time.

Umbrellas. Jesus I can never find an umbrella.
    Oh yes, THIS. I'm not too bad at the non losing of things... except for sunglasses. Cannot hold on to a pair. Wtf, it's not like it's always sunny here like.

Umbrellas - I'd say they're one of those scientifically-proven-to-be-impossible-not-to-lose things, like socks, and thus... out of our control.

Herself and the TV remote. Want to switch channel, where is the fcuking remote, turn up the volume, where's the fcuking remote, turn down the volume, where's the fcuking remote, so for EVERY thing we want to do on the telly, we have to have a hunt for the remote. Usually fell on the ground, got kicked under the couch, lost between the sofa cushions, took it with her when leaving the room, on the kitchen counter, EVERY FCUKING TIME!
    Just put the fcuking remote on the fcuking table and stop dragging it round the house.
    Also, it would be nice if you didn't drop it once every 5 fcuking minutes.
    I live with a klutz!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Yes. usb sticks after I've put important stuff on them. And mini SD cards. And my WiFi usb sticks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Herself and the TV remote. Want to switch channel, where is the fcuking remote, turn up the volume, where's the fcuking remote, turn down the volume, where's the fcuking remote, so for EVERY thing we want to do on the telly, we have to have a hunt for the remote. Usually fell on the ground, got kicked under the couch, lost between the sofa cushions, took it with her when leaving the room, on the kitchen counter, EVERY FCUKING TIME!
    Just put the fcuking remote on the fcuking table and stop dragging it round the house.
    Also, it would be nice if you didn't drop it once every 5 fcuking minutes.
    I live with a klutz!

Attach one of those cat bell collars to said remote and your live should become easier.

Thinking of investing in Tiles:
    https://www.thetileapp.com/how-it-works

P.S.:
    I think it is OK to murder people who say "where did you lose it?"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Flood

The horn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

P.S.:
    I think it is OK to murder people who say "where did you lose it?"
    I'll be your accomplice. You can be the patsie though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭SMJSF

Keys and bus card- every morning just as I'm about to dash out the door, I have to pull the place apart, and they're usually in my bag already.

Scissors And tweezers, ... I have about 100 of both by now, they're there one minute, gone the next, never to be seen again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭stevek93

PLL wrote: »
    No, that's me in the spotlight.

Loosing my religion