Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Top banter m8

• 23-04-2015 3:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭

I often here banter on english shows but lately ive been hearing people here saying it

What the fook is banter? Is it just a joke.

#topbantz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Bit of an ol' chinwag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

It's the get out clause for your run of the mill bully.

They push and push and when they're called out on it, they invoke the clause.

"What's your problem, it's only banter!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

seems to be used on 4chan and stuff in the last few months or year.

i r8 8/8 m8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Ask Richard Keys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

As far as I can gather, it's making dick jokes, gay jokes and recycling stand-up comedians' lines and then passing that off as a sense of humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Vicious bullying disguised as gentle ribbing. Get rekt m8 your mum's a slag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,007 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

The English equivalent of "craic"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

#avindabantz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

it's better than that horrible culchie term "craic".

uuugggh shudder etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

#bittacraicshurewhatharm

#arrawudyagetoveryourselfshurewereonlyhavinabitofbanter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

It's like when you're a little kid and the bigger kids who usually ignore you say they're making you king of the treehouse and you're proud as punch and you walk over to the tree and the wastards have made a trap at the bottom of it and your fall in and get your clothes all muck.

/repressed memory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Its a social process whereby males in the teens and 20s lavish savage, ritual verbal cruelty on one another and pretend they're not offended before going home and crying in their rooms.

Particularly prevalent amongst culchie students.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The King of Moo making hashtags has shattered whatever illusions of respectability on the internet I had left. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

It's when you run around with flaming newspaper in yer arsé crack

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

The King of Moo making hashtags has shattered whatever illusions of respectability on the internet I had left. :(

Sorry, I'm actually just trying to delete voice messages on my work phone and pressing "#" on the keyboard instead.

#yolo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

U wot m8?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Specialun wrote: »
    I often here banter on english shows but lately ive been hearing people here saying it

#topbantz

This isn't the best place to ask because everyone in AH was bullied in school and they're still bitter about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Forgotten password 99

Ask Richard Keys

It was just banter:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

When I was home for christmas I was down in the pub with some of the lads from school. A few of them decided to make some extremely cruel and very repetitive comments towards a particularly stupid person there. When I reminded them that questioning someone’s sexuality, saying it over and over again and laughing like a baboon each time isn’t exactly fine comedy they told me it was just “banter.”

I didn't respond with some "banter" of my own, even though there was a wealth of material available to me. Mostly related to how old looking and dreadfully out of shape they were for men in their mid-30's. Or that their idea of a really great 'lads holiday' was to head to Amsterdam to smoke weed and go - as they put it - window shopping. Pointing out their depressing lack of drive and ambition probably oversteps the mark of what banter is, as well. Can't say I wasn't tempted though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

b8ries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭LadyAthame

hynesie08 wrote: »
    The English equivalent of "craic"
    No craic is far far mightier than banter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the terror of saying anything different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,877 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Specialun wrote: »

#topbantz

What is this word "joke"? Is it some sort of jest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

LadyAthame wrote: »
    No craic is far far mightier than banter.

Banter must always be 'savage', 'fierce', 'mighty' or just the definite article (cf Having The Banter).

See also: GAA, CopperFace Jacks, Supermacs etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

The lines between what is banter and what is not are fading. Some people think making holocaust or dead parent jokes is just 'a bit of banter'. It will only be a matter of time before somebody who's getting sued in court for libel or defamation will get off on the 'it was just banter' clause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Sugarcoated bullying ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

When I was home for christmas I was down in the pub with some of the lads from school. A few of them decided to make some extremely cruel and very repetitive comments towards a particularly stupid person there. When I reminded them that questioning someone’s sexuality, saying it over and over again and laughing like a baboon each time isn’t exactly fine comedy they told me it was just “banter.”

I didn't respond with some "banter" of my own, even though there was a wealth of material available to me. Mostly related to how old looking and dreadfully out of shape they were for men in their mid-30's. Or that their idea of a really great 'lads holiday' was to head to Amsterdam to smoke weed and go - as they put it - window shopping. Pointing out their depressing lack of drive and ambition probably oversteps the mark of what banter is, as well. Can't say I wasn't tempted though.

Jesus .......... I'd say a night out with you is some laugh!! :rolleyes:

MadDog76 wrote: »
    Jesus .......... I'd say a night out with you is some laugh!! :rolleyes:

I'd say you're a "mad dog" though...

efb wrote: »
    I'd say you're a "mad dog" though...

I'd say you're a .......... eh ............ Electronic Flight Bag? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭LadyAthame

kfallon wrote: »
    Sugarcoated bullying ;)
    A lot of the time.

I'd say you're a .......... eh ............ Electronic Flight Bag? :confused:

They would be cool, will the synch with my iPhone?

Let me guess .......... you were a January baby .......... am I right? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

It's a relatively harmless word for joking. I don't get this victim complex people attach to it.

Let me guess .......... you were a January baby .......... am I right? ;)

top searching bantz

I'll take that as a yes so ......... it definitely shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

"Noun - the playful and friendly exchange of teasing remarks."

Seriously if someone is bullying you and they say it's banter, hate the person not the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Sounds like they are very childish but I'm sure it wasn't coming from a bad place. You however seem to be pretty scathing towards these people, bordering on nastiness! I know which one I'd rather put up with on a night out.