Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farmer need two sprayer courses

• 22-04-2015 5:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭

God the Dept is making a right mess out of the sprayer courses. So now farmers will have to do the hand held course if they use a knapsack or quad as well. Total bull****. It's only a money racket to keep the EU happy.

Farmers who spray with a quad or knapsack as well as with the tractor will have to undertake a second sprayer course.
    Some farmers who booked in to do a pesticide sprayer course in recent weeks have been told - to their shock - that they must do not one of them but two.

New pesticide rules means that anyone who applies plant protection products will have to register as a professional user and show they have training. Many farmers will have to complete a course to continue using the tractor sprayer.

However, participants at some courses have been told that any of them who also use a quad or knapsack for tidy up spraying should also undertake the "hand held" sprayer course - at extra cost.

A course provider admitted to the Dealer that the courses are very similar. "Some of bigger farmers might use a quad to spray under fences. We've received a lot of queries on it from farmers," he said.

"It's a bit of a grey area. I rang the Department and they are advising two courses, but a lot of lads just won't do the hand-held one." But what happens if the farmer is inspected?

The boom sprayer course involves a practical worth 60% of the course, with a written exam making up the rest.

Meanwhile, there continues to be wide variation when it comes to price and length of the course. Some courses cost €500 while the cheapest that I've heard of is from our old friends FarmCo in Mallow, Co Cork, who are charging just €120.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,280 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

No course needed yet for the watering can. That's how all farmers weedkill about the farmyard, isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

God the Dept is making a right mess out of the sprayer courses. So now farmers will have to do the hand held course if they use a knapsack or quad as well. Total bull****. It's only a money racket to keep the EU happy.

Farmers who spray with a quad or knapsack as well as with the tractor will have to undertake a second sprayer course.
    Some farmers who booked in to do a pesticide sprayer course in recent weeks have been told - to their shock - that they must do not one of them but two.

New pesticide rules means that anyone who applies plant protection products will have to register as a professional user and show they have training. Many farmers will have to complete a course to continue using the tractor sprayer.

However, participants at some courses have been told that any of them who also use a quad or knapsack for tidy up spraying should also undertake the "hand held" sprayer course - at extra cost.

A course provider admitted to the Dealer that the courses are very similar. "Some of bigger farmers might use a quad to spray under fences. We've received a lot of queries on it from farmers," he said.

"It's a bit of a grey area. I rang the Department and they are advising two courses, but a lot of lads just won't do the hand-held one." But what happens if the farmer is inspected?

The boom sprayer course involves a practical worth 60% of the course, with a written exam making up the rest.

Meanwhile, there continues to be wide variation when it comes to price and length of the course. Some courses cost €500 while the cheapest that I've heard of is from our old friends FarmCo in Mallow, Co Cork, who are charging just €120.
    Would this be a bad time to mention the course only qualifies you for 5 years, then it's time to do it again?

Grand, i won't mention it so:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Oh that knapsack, I haven't used that in years.

'Tis an antique, that yoke there, sure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Knapsack. Whats that? Is it a phone app?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

The biggest joke is that the sprayer course is 2 days and the knapsack is 3!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Limofarmer

My sprayer has a hand lance attachment for spot spraying . Is that covered under boom sprayer course ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭ABlur

Sacrolyte wrote: »
    Knapsack. Whats that? Is it a phone app?

Try calibrating one of these

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Does either course cover use of a budget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Does either course cover use of a budget

Is a budget not a knapsack?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

So if using a knapsack and quad only, you only need to do one course? I have a boom for the quad, I think it's 10 feet, but can be folded up and turned off to make it 4 foot, arms can be removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Limofarmer wrote: »
    My sprayer has a hand lance attachment for spot spraying . Is that covered under boom sprayer course ?

Nope not covered

I think Frs do a two day one for nap sack but don't quote me on that.
    So if using a knapsack and quad only, you only need to do one course? I have a boom for the quad, I think it's 10 feet, but can be folded up and turned off to make it 4 foot, arms can be removed.

Probably the best thing to do yea, the boom sprayer is for booms over 3m I think and nap sack covers under that afaik.

How exactly do they measure a boom? I presume it's the width sprayed rather than the length of anything else.

Distance from one side to the other I'd imagine! :o

C0N0R wrote: »
    Distance from one side to the other I'd imagine! :o

Lol, yeah, but distance of what :P Arms, area covered by spray, something else?

I may have an idea :D

Lol, yeah, but distance of what :P Arms, area covered by spray, something else?

I may have an idea :D

Cut the boom down to just the tip of the last nozzles? I would say arms but I guess it's open to interpretation, what are you thinking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭newholland

Would this be a bad time to mention the course only qualifies you for 5 years, then it's time to do it again?

Grand, i won't mention it so:pac:

This is not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,280 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

No Sir, its a classic model.... Tax free, and dosen't need to be tested....:D

Cut the boom down to just the tip of the last nozzles? I would say arms but I guess it's open to interpretation, what are you thinking?

I'm thinking I must get the measuring tape and hacksaw out.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    No Sir, its a classic model.... Tax free, and dosen't need to be tested....:D

I think thats supposed to be on the machinery porn thread. ;)

Personally I'm not goin to do the course till I have to. Already the price has come down significantly. Who knows what it will pan out at this time next year when the spraying season is kicking off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Milton09

Anyone know what are the implications of not doing the course - I presume you need course attendance evidence when buying the chemicals ?? or do you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Like a lot of farmers on west coast with scenic land,have plenty of rushes too:)
    Have a weedlicker which is pulled behind the quad and a knapsack sprayer as well for spot spraying nettles and briars along ditches etc to stop them encroaching.
    Mine is a simple question?
    Does the 'knapsack' sprayer course cover the weedlicker on quad as well??

Or will I have to do two separate courses.
    Logic would tell be that the 'boom sprayer' course is for the 'real' tillage farmers down the country with crops etc but logic and the dept don't always see eye to eye!

Be very grateful for any replies,would imagine quite a few farmers on marginal land have a rush licker like me.

Like a lot of farmers on west coast with scenic land,have plenty of rushes too:)
    Have a weedlicker which is pulled behind the quad and a knapsack sprayer as well for spot spraying nettles and briars along ditches etc to stop them encroaching.
    Mine is a simple question?
    Does the 'knapsack' sprayer course cover the weedlicker on quad as well??

Or will I have to do two separate courses.
    Logic would tell be that the 'boom sprayer' course is for the 'real' tillage farmers down the country with crops etc but logic and the dept don't always see eye to eye!

Be very grateful for any replies,would imagine quite a few farmers on marginal land have a rush licker like me.

As far As I'm aware knapsack covers booms <3m and knapsacks and weed lickers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Freejin

For anybody who has done the boom course, what does the practical element involve? Do you actually drive a tractor and spray, or is it more the mixing etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

As far As I'm aware knapsack covers booms <3m and knapsacks and weed lickers.

Actually I thought it's the opposite.
    Knapsack is any spraying device with a lance & boom would be sprayers & lickers

Farrell wrote: »
    Actually I thought it's the opposite.
    Knapsack is any spraying device with a lance & boom would be sprayers & lickers

Maybe I am wrong, from what I heard on the course yesterday that's the impression I got.

Thanks lads....guess a phone call will have to be made to clear it up!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭monkeynuz

Thanks lads....guess a phone call will have to be made to clear it up!:)

Be careful though, I spoke to someone at a training firm today who was under the impression that the boom course covers for knapsacks as well, basically he wasn't offering the knapsack course and wanted me to do the boom one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 722 ✭✭✭P_Cash

what about no farm folk spraying around there houses out front of drive etc. .

its hardly going the route of show me ID when your buying the round-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

It'll be three damned courses if we go ahead and buy that crop-dusting plane I've been putting off since 2009.

kowtow wrote: »
    It'll be three damned courses if we go ahead and buy that crop-dusting plane I've been putting off since 2009.
    monkeynuz wrote: »
    Be careful though, I spoke to someone at a training firm today who was under the impression that the boom course covers for knapsacks as well, basically he wasn't offering the knapsack course and wanted me to do the boom one.
    In fairness that's a ridiculous situation if people offering courses don't even know what they are covering!:(....only in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

At the end of the day who is going to enforce this anyway.

I am from a farming back round but I'm a forester and while I was in college I worked for the afforestation companies doing spraying planting ect, while I had the course's done (pa1 handheld applicator and pa6 handling dipped plants) everyone around me didn't so it was just a waste of money and it was never enforced by any government body

i suppose its like the chainsaw courses one you have them done anything you do is your fault because you are legally competent but if you give a chainsaw to your neighbours and they chop there leg off your still liable because they "don't know any better"

fergus1001 wrote: »
    At the end of the day who is going to enforce this anyway.

I am from a farming back round but I'm a forester and while I was in college I worked for the afforestation companies doing spraying planting ect, while I had the course's done (pa1 handheld applicator and pa6 handling dipped plants) everyone around me didn't so it was just a waste of money and it was never enforced by any government body

i suppose its like the chainsaw courses one you have them done anything you do is your fault because you are legally competent but if you give a chainsaw to your neighbours and they chop there leg off your still liable because they "don't know any better"
    It's enforced when buying where you are limited to a small volume of spray that you're entitled to buy unless you have the required registration number.

It's also covered under cross-compliance where they will ask you for the record of any sprays purchased and used and if you spray without the required qualification, you will get penalised in your SFP(or whatever it's called now)

It's enforced when buying where you are limited to a small volume of spray that you're entitled to buy unless you have the required registration number.

I see, they actually thought it through so. Hope they bring in similar for the forestry sector so people with said qualifications get their monies worth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

fergus1001 wrote: »
    I see, they actually thought it through so. Hope they bring in similar for the forestry sector so people with said qualifications get their monies worth

Have you had to do any refresher courses for the PA1/2/6?

No I don't have to since the forestry sector is lacking in regulations in that regard but because I have my degree now I can't see a big need for it personally,

I have the chainsaw certs up to nptc cs 31,32,33,34 and 35 and once you have them you have them for life I presume my pesticide certs work the same the coarse for the knapsack is very basic

Basically get told to triple rinse everything and don't spray or pour pesticides into water course's and then calibrate and calculate out a mix for the knapsack to do 100 feet, +/- 20 feet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

ganmo wrote: »
    ...:o

No course needed so is what you're saying, that'll do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Got a quote today for 490 for boom course. For fcuk sake. Only have the sprayer for a bit of grassland spraying. Docks, thistles and a few rushes. Only bought the sprayer a few years ago as contractor never turned up when it was the ideal time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

The bit I like best in the literature for that is:

"Ideal for weed control close to habitation"

Right. Particularly if you don't get on with the residents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 joeyk5

Lads haven't a clue , how much is an agri contractor for spraying rough Connemara land that's a jungle of ferns and briars . Needs sorting but no idea how much this sort of thing is ?
    and yep clearly not a farmer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

joeyk5 wrote:
    Lads haven't a clue , how much is an agri contractor for spraying rough Connemara land that's a jungle of ferns and briars . Needs sorting but no idea how much this sort of thing is ? and yep clearly not a farmer

About 15 per acre