Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Youngest a lamb can manage without milk?

• 21-04-2015 4:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭

Ewe had twins 4 weeks ago.
    One lamb is doing only ok, the other is doing poorly... Thin and hungry looking...

I have caught and given her some milk from a bottle for the past few days, but she's not great at taking it... (And tisnt too easy to catch her either then)

I dunno is she getting any milk from the ewe, if she is, it's very very little I'd say...

My question is what age would a lamb manage away without milk? I dunno if bringing her in now, would do her much good, when she isn't that much into the bottle...

What ye think lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

You could feed her meal. 4 weeks is old enough for her to do well on a meal diet. Bring the 3 of them in first and give them a bit of meal, the mother will train the lamb to eat the meal, as she will be hungry. Then throw out your creep feeder, or put together a makeshift one. She will pick away at the meal herself and you wont have to buy milk or chase after her with a bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

6 weeks would be better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Come on the 6 weeks mark. Starting to tire of feeding my pets a few times a day. I cannt go outside the back door without them starting the maaaing. No peace with them :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Come on the 6 weeks mark. Starting to tire of feeding my pets a few times a day. I cannt go outside the back door without them starting the maaaing. No peace with them :D

Even at six weeks they need more than grass, ie meal

A friend has 130 'pets' on one of these fancy automatic machines, using 13 bags lamlaca day so you think you have it bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Can you imagine the amount of maaaing that person hears when they go into the shed first thing in the morning before machine is switched on:pac::pac:

machine would be on all the time, weaning could be noisy though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

rangler1 wrote: »
    A friend has 130 'pets' on one of these fancy automatic machines, using 13 bags lamlaca day so you think you have it bad

is that 0.5kg a day?

he really should get some of them bigger bags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cran

rangler1 wrote: »

Bloody hell that must be some fun training them... I have 22 and 1 of them is driving me nuts, he's blind was attacked by crow when mother rolled over on his back and wouldnt take machine :( I'd imagine with 130 you d have a few like that