Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gift for groom on morning of wedding

• 21-04-2015 1:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭

Hi everyone! I was looking for some suggestions on a present I could have sent over to my fiancé on the morning of our wedding. We're getting married in France so needs to be reasonabley portable. I was thinking one or two nice things, my budget is €500 and want to avoid things like hipflasks etc.

I've been working on a photobox all year with ten reasons I love you etc and embroidered the extra fabric for my wedding dress into a hankie from him, but would like something he'll always have, had you heard of any suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Book yourself in for a boudoir photo shoot. Send him the photos the morning of the wedding :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭pooch90

Book yourself in for a boudoir photo shoot. Send him the photos the morning of the wedding :D

This is what I did,it went down a storm!! Plus i got the photographer to be there when he got them,his face is priceless.

On top of that I gave him a bottle of his favorite aftershave,a key ring that said "I'll love you til the zombies get you" and date engraved on it (he's a big nerd) and ordered him socks that said "In case you get cold feet" with the date on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭tread_softly

I got him a present for after the ceremony and gave it to him when we went up to our bridal suite to chill before dinner.

It was a galway crystal whiskey tumbler and I got it engraved "To Mr. Mooney Love Mrs. Mooney"

Cheesy as feck but he did tear up a bit :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Slight hijack here but the question of wedding gifts for eachother came up with the burd recently, in didn't know it was even a thing!

Budget is similar to the OP.

I'm thinking a new bottle of perfume, one that she has never had before with a card reading something to the effect of "this smell will remind you of making me the happiest man in the world every time you wear or smell it" but that's prolly not goin to be more than €200.

Any non jewellery suggestions?

A sexy Business Cat photo shoot isn't an option, I couldn't in good conscience subject anyone to that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭tread_softly

Business Cat, that perfume idea is lovely. If I received that along with that note I'd be thrilled!

You'd just have to make sure it's one she doesn't have already. I assume you're getting married in the coming months so a nice floral, summery fragrance would be perfect to go along with the time of year you're tying the knot.

My hubby made me a big soppy card and bought me a teddy and a hoody. Maybe a dressing gown that says Mrs Whatever on it.

Business Cat, that perfume idea is lovely. If I received that along with that note I'd be thrilled!

You'd just have to make sure it's one she doesn't have already. I assume you're getting married in the coming months so a nice floral, summery fragrance would be perfect to go along with the time of year you're tying the knot.

She loves Jo Malone and has a particular favourite of hers that she always gets so I will get something different but by her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Sherlof3

pooch90 wrote: »
    This is what I did,it went down a storm!! Plus i got the photographer to be there when he got them,his face is priceless.

On top of that I gave him a bottle of his favorite aftershave,a key ring that said "I'll love you til the zombies get you" and date engraved on it (he's a big nerd) and ordered him socks that said "In case you get cold feet" with the date on them.

Thanks everyone great ideas there! Love the boudoir pics idea, I'd be half worried his mum or dad would be in with him, I suppose you could add in a note to say something like open in private?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Sherlof3

She loves Jo Malone and has a particular favourite of hers that she always gets so I will get something different but by her.

That's a lovely idea. Scent is hugely linked to memory, so she will always remember the smell of her wedding day! Maybe have a quick check with a sister / best friend that no ex ever gave her that just in case,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭MarieOC

I got the Jo Malone Blue Agava and Cacao as a present before my wedding so I used it as my "something blue" and loved it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

Picture of a tattoo you got to mark the occasion...#
    Could see if you could get coins made up or something, like when you exchange money or coins as part of the ceremony you could get one similar to the friendship ones that ye can join together during the ceremony again..

What does he like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 RHN_Ireland

I'd get him something he's interested in. I got my hubby a few jokey gifts - Breath Mints, A funny tshirt etc but the gift he wanted and got was a video game.

Two and a half years later he still loves that the gift he got on his wedding day was a video game...

MarieOC wrote: »
    I got the Jo Malone Blue Agava and Cacao as a present before my wedding so I used it as my "something blue" and loved it

Ohhhh, I like that idea!

Sherlof3 wrote: »
    Thanks everyone great ideas there! Love the boudoir pics idea, I'd be half worried his mum or dad would be in with him, I suppose you could add in a note to say something like open in private?

I got my friend to drop down and deliver it so she dragged him off on his own (with photographer) to open it. Express instructions to photographer to leave him alone after he saw first few pages so he wouldn't be totally mortified. Scary as hell to do but he loved them and was so proud I had the guts to do it because I'm not a "if you've got it,flaunt it" kinda gal!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I'm not familiar with this idea at all. Has it always been a 'thing'? Does everyone do it? It seems crazy to me to spend another load of money on gifts for each other when we've spent so much on a whole day for ourselves (and presumably also dropped several grand on an indulgent holiday).

I'd understand spending E50, but not E500. I also could do without the stress of trying to find a gift with so much else going on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

I agree, I think it should be more sentimental than pricey, for what the gift is for, a letter might mean a lot more to him / her than anything you'd buy. You could do a mini scrap book with some photos of big moments, the place you had your first date, where or when you first said "I love you", etc. Just a little emotional token to say - this is why I can't wait to meet you at the altar. :)

We kept little notebooks for the year before that we called our Love Books (sad I know!) but anytime the other did something that made us smile we put it in. From big things to 'I love when you sing stupid songs when you think nobody is listening ' it turned out to be quite sweet and also a good way to document the planning process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

Is this an accepted thing these days? I never heard of it and my wedding is just over a week away!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

If he has any particular interests try to get something surrounding one of them. My husband is a soccer fan so I got him a signed jersey from a final his team won a long time ago that he sometimes talks about. His team doesn't win things anymore. :pac: I also got a card signed by the players and they sent me a certificate of congratulations signed by the manager too. The jersey is on the wall in our sitting room (it's a lovely jersey, thankfully) and it's a constant reminder of our wedding day. Of course there's no need to buy a gift, but some people want to, and if you want to, go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭An Bhanríon

I'm very impressed by all the organised couples out there! I had heard of this idea and had a big plan to write my husband a letter to be opened the morning of our wedding. I was going to put a teddy in with it which he was to bring to the church and I would have a matching teddy in my car. But I never got the time to organise this so it never got done the morning of the wedding. A few months later, though, was Valentine's Day, so he got my letter that day. Better late than never!

I asked my mother about this and she did get a piece of jewellery from my father for their wedding. So it seems it's something that goes a long way back.

It is a lovely idea to leave your partner something the morning of the wedding. I wouldn't go overboard, but I think it could be a nice thing to calm the nerves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Oh its a thing alright, but i do think having a budget at 500e is crazy.

We've a budget of 150e or so = good aftershave or scotch for me.
    She'll decide on what jewellery she wants.

Eventually :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

ando wrote: »
    Is this an accepted thing these days? I never heard of it and my wedding is just over a week away!!

No...it isn't. Its something you can do if you like but its not necessary. We didn't give each other any specific gifts for our wedding and we are no less married/ happy than anyone else !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

pooch90 wrote: »
    I got my friend to drop down and deliver it so she dragged him off on his own (with photographer) to open it. Express instructions to photographer to leave him alone after he saw first few pages so he wouldn't be totally mortified. Scary as hell to do but he loved them and was so proud I had the guts to do it because I'm not a "if you've got it,flaunt it" kinda gal!!

My OH would frame them and hang them over the fire place - trust me! :eek::eek::eek:

Dovies wrote: »
    My OH would frame them and hang them over the fire place - trust me! :eek::eek::eek:

I'm so proud of them now that I'd nearly let him!