Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

first Dublin marathon thread of the year

• 21-04-2015 10:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.sports-insight.co.uk/news/asics-agrees-two-year-partnership-with-sse-airtricity-dublin-marathon
    ASICS agrees two-year partnership with SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon
    The brand will be the official sportswear partner for the event, which this year takes place during the Irish Bank Holiday weekend of October 25-26.

As well as providing merchandise for the marathon, ASICS will also offer runners training tips and a personalised wristband that will allow them to track their time per mile and enable friends and family to locate them on the route.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

A what now?
    ... and a personalised wristband that will allow them to track their time per mile and enable friends and family to locate them on the route.

First read I just thought they were over stating the usefulness of a printed out paceband, but that sound like some sort of tech. Or more likely the person writing the press release has got confused between a timing chip on your shoe and a pace band on your wrist and invented something new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I was trying to work out how it would work as described, and nothing like that is going to be given out for free to all runners.
    Maybe a paceband and a more user-friendly version of the spreadsheets that say "if you are going x fast you will pass y point at z o'clock"
    or just asics branding on the existing runner tracking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

I think its a thing Asics do at marathon expos. In Barcelona last year they had a stall where you gave your goal time and they printed off a wristband with mile or km splits for that time - pretty handy actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,503 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

It's basically a personalized pace-band. They ask you what your target time is and give you your splits for your specific target. They take your details at the expo and print them off on the fly. Handy enough, actually. Saves a lot of messing. They also provide a couple of cards highlighting what time spectators can expect to see you at specific points of the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,667 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

I know none of us do this race for the shirt, but hopefully this partnership might result in a better souvenir than the previous two (and especially last year's). :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Murph_D wrote: »
    I know none of us do this race for the shirt, but hopefully this partnership might result in a better souvenir than the previous two (and especially last year's). :)

What are you on about? It's all about the t-shirt. Mine that has never been worn yet, but I did try it on last week and it cheered me up. A gent went by me last night with a 2013 one that I WANT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

I've not started training for the marathon and don't intend starting until four weeks out. Will I have time to train then?

Also I have no intention of entering until after the cut off. Could someone else enter now so they can transfer the entry to me a week before it please?

Yours
    RSPer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

tunney wrote: »

I've not started training for the marathon and don't intend starting until four weeks out. Will I have time to train then?

Also I have no intention of entering until after the cut off. Could someone else enter now so they can transfer the entry to me a week before it please?

Yours
    RSPer

I hope your going to have a 3 week taper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭SCOL

What are you on about? It's all about the t-shirt. Mine that has never been worn yet, but I did try it on last week and it cheered me up. A gent went by me last night with a 2013 one that I WANT!

I have a few old smelly t-shirts from marathons and Triathlon even 1/2 Ironman's I could "Sell" I even have some of the 100% cotton one's !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

SCOL wrote:
    I have a few old smelly t-shirts from marathons and Triathlon even 1/2 Ironman's I could "Sell" I even have some of the 100% cotton one's !!!!

Sorry, we don't do cotton about these parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Murph_D wrote: »

My Barca shirt from 2014 was a light, single colour green t-shirt with black print.
    It was sponsored by Asics but yet was one of the plainest t-shirts I have ever received.
    So, I wouldn't be holding my breath for anything exceptional!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭The Officer

Personalised pace bands... The Pacers will have their heads wrecked with these.... ''Eh buddy, you were 2 seconds slow for that last mile according to my official Ascics personalised pace band''.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

belcarra wrote: »
    My Barca shirt from 2014 was a light, single colour green t-shirt with black print.
    It was sponsored by Asics but yet was one of the plainest t-shirts I have ever received.
    So, I wouldn't be holding my breath for anything exceptional!

For me that'd beat the tops that are a walking advertisement for a list of 10 companies all down it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,876 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Personalised pace bands... The Pacers will have their heads wrecked with these.... ''Eh buddy, you were 2 seconds slow for that last mile according to my official Ascics personalised pace band''.....

Always gave out pacer bands at Dublin Marathon expo, also easily make your own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Novice question, but what is the frequency of the pacers?
    e.g. there'll be a 3:30, a 4:00 etc, but is there a 3:45, or 3:40 and 3:50 etc ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Phoebas wrote: »
    Novice question, but what is the frequency of the pacers?
    e.g. there'll be a 3:30, a 4:00 etc, but is there a 3:45, or 3:40 and 3:50 etc ?

every 10 mins last year so 3:30, 3:40, 3:50, 4 etc
    All the info should be on the DCM website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭PVincent

News tonight is that Dublin Marathon has won Best International Event at the Runners World Awards in London. Well done to all the organising committee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

I picked up a pace band last year at the expo, indeed very handy yokes! So don't think it's new for DCM, just the sponsors of it changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

I picked up a pace band last year at the expo, indeed very handy yokes! So don't think it's new, just the sponsors of it changed.

Asics were at the Hamburg Expo yesterday handing them out.
    Basically they print a pace band with your name on it and you get the usual 5k, 10k, 20k etc. splits. But they also print out a map of the course with your name on it and the estimated time of day you'll be at certain points if you're on target. I assume you give this to your supporters so they know when to be where on the course. Not a bad idea in fairness, especially being free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Any idea what the DCM route is this year?

Same as 2014 I'd imagine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Ed Mc

At my first marathon ( Dub.13). I asked what they were. The guy says pace bands, is this your first marathon? what time are you planning?
    Yeah my first i said, planning 3:30. He gave me a " ya think so sort of look"
    He handed me 3:30 and asked did i want a back up 3:40 just in case.
    I humoured him and said yeah( i'll show you)
    Finished 3:58.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,408 ✭✭✭ger664

Normally that conversation goes the other way.
    3:30 but give me a 3:00 just in case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Normally that conversation goes the other way.
    3:30 but give me a 3:00 just in case

or:
    not sure, I'd say 3 hours, maybe 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭JMSE

I wonder if they would ever stage the run on the Sunday. Am told by a reliable source that the Monday thing has a huge amount to do with mass i.e. not wanting to clash with it and the traffic etc. I'd say that whatever about in the early days of DCM, this wouldnt be such a thing anymore. The Great Limerick Run next week goes ahead on Sunday...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭NetwerkErrer

JMSE wrote: »
    I wonder if they would ever stage the run on the Sunday. Am told by a reliable source that the Monday thing has a huge amount to do with mass i.e. not wanting to clash with it and the traffic etc. I'd say that whatever about in the early days of DCM, this wouldnt be such a thing anymore. The Great Limerick Run next week goes ahead on Sunday...

Big difference though. Less than a thousand set off in Limerick that early in the morning and only a few streets have full road closure. The start of the marathon in Limerick is gone out of the city centre after 3 miles and only sporadically arrives back in the city. Put 15000 people on the street at once and it becomes a different story.

I quite like the Monday start in Dublin, can kick back and get everything sorted on Saturday and Sunday. I know others hate it but it never made a difference to me with working hours. For the DCM 13, my boss wanted me to come back down straight after it and be in work for 6 that evening to spend 8+ hours on my feet behind the bar on a jammers bank holiday Monday. Ye Mon-Fri 9-5 crowd are gone too soft:rolleyes::)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Rathfarnham 5k and Terenure 5 mile start at 10, Raheny 5 at 3, because you won't get permission to close roads between. 11 and. 1pm

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Always gave out pacer bands at Dublin Marathon expo, also easily make your own

Well not always, only in the last 4 years or so ;)

Think officer's point is that people will have different pace bands printed off at the expo. 3:14:59 and 3:14:45, for example, for people going for sub 3:15 which could potentially be a nightmare for pacers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Irishder

Bit of a newbie question but if i wanted to run the DCM this year. What mileage would i need to be up to comfortably by when. Not sure if that makes sense but should i be comfortably running 10 miles with 18 weeks to go, then start into a plan.

I have run a couple of 1/2 marathons and got in at about 2 hours. So I would like to get the full in around the 4 hour mark, it be my first so not too worried about the time.

Only back running a couple of weeks, took about 6 months off due to babies, doing a masters and work and I am looking at setting myself a goal for the year. Apologies if this is not the correct place to post this but all help appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Irishder wrote: »
    Bit of a newbie question but if i wanted to run the DCM this year. What mileage would i need to be up to comfortably by when. Not sure if that makes sense but should i be comfortably running 10 miles with 18 weeks to go, then start into a plan.

I have run a couple of 1/2 marathons and got in at about 2 hours. So I would like to get the full in around the 4 hour mark, it be my first so not too worried about the time.

Only back running a couple of weeks, took about 6 months off due to babies, doing a masters and work and I am looking at setting myself a goal for the year. Apologies if this is not the correct place to post this but all help appreciated.
    There has been a novices thread on here for the last few years for people planning on running DCM for the first time. They recommended that you should be comfortably running 20 miles a week by the time the plan starts around end June.

Here's a link to last years thread - its a wealth of information for first time marathoners.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=90266006

I think I just threw up in my mouth a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,408 ✭✭✭ger664

What mileage would i need to be up to comfortably

Whatever mileage is in the first week of your marathon plan

I think I just threw up in my mouth a little.

??

??

The fact it's close enough to talk about >.<

oh right lol