Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair play.

• 20-04-2015 11:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭

Now that the dust has settled, and Dwyer has been sentenced, I feel it is only right and proper that the efforts of An Garda Siochána are acknowledged on here.

Yes, its their job. Yes, its what they're paid to do. On the other hand, what they did in this instance was to construct a successful murder prosecution in the absence of almost anything but circumstantial evidence. From Gda. James O'Donoghue's hunch that led him to searching, by hand, the mud on the fringes of Vartry Reservoir, to the teams of technical specialists who pieced together a jigsaw puzzle of call records and text messages.

We heard second hand reports, on a daily basis, of the vilest evidence that was presented to the court. We sympathized with a jury who had do sit through the reality of this evidence. The Guards, in the course of their investigation, had to deal with this same evidence, and more that wasn't presented, without the benefit of having somebody tell them that there was something coming up that they might find disturbing. Those individual Guards have to process the results of having been exposed to the darkest side of human nature, and I thank them for it. I couldn't do it, and I'm glad I don't and won't ever have to.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/criminal-court/how-the-garda%C3%AD-caught-graham-dwyer-1.2156054

Just to balance some of the usual Guard related knee-jerkery we get on here with some regularity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 491 ✭✭Dozer Dave

They deserve a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I wouldn't tar them all with the same brush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Well put OP.

You couldn't pay me enough to be a Garda. Whatever they're paid, give them some more. They're all we have between us and the Graham Dwyers of the world, and the vast, vast, majority of them do the job well and with dignity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

Having to deliver news of a death to the surviving family would be horrible.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I think it's astonishing what they achieved in this case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

It was a tremendous bit of police work. Full credit to those involved.

• Administrators Posts: 54,417 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Stheno wrote: »
    I think it's astonishing what they achieved in this case

I think it's amazing that the entire thing was kicked off by the sheer dumb luck and exceptional odds of fishermen hooking some random junk out of a reservoir.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

awec wrote: »
    I think it's amazing that the entire thing was kicked off by the sheer dumb luck and exceptional odds of fishermen hooking some random junk out of a reservoir.

And a cop who followed up on it