Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ideas need for weekend with buddy

• 20-04-2015 10:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭

A friend of mine is rather seriously down in the dumps at the moment. I'll spare you the details but basically he has lost his mojo (I don't mean sexually).

Anyway, I offered to go away for a weekend with him to try and lift his spirits a bit (I'm not expecting miracles here). Problem is I have no idea what we could do for a weekend together. I asked him what he'd like to do and he said 'I don't care, I'll leave it up to you' (as I said he has lost his mojo).

Some guidelines:
    NOT looking for a dirty lads weekend type suggestions.
    In general he is not an active type but would not be averse to mild activity.
    In Ireland and affordable (I know that's relative)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

WildWater wrote: »
    A friend of mine is rather seriously down in the dumps at the moment. I'll spare you the details but basically he has lost his mojo (I don't mean sexually).

Anyway, I offered to go away for a weekend with him to try and lift his spirits a bit (I'm not expecting miracles here). Problem is I have no idea what we could do for a weekend together. I asked him what he'd like to do and he said 'I don't care, I'll leave it up to you' (as I said he has lost his mojo).

Some guidelines:

Afternoons shooting in courtlough in balbriggan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭WildWater

Stheno wrote: »
    Afternoons shooting in courtlough in balbriggan?

Thanks for the suggestion. I would not have thought of something like that. It's not something that neither of us would have any experience of so will give that some consideration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Some guidelines:

Has you any hobbies in common?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,931 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

prayformojo.jpg

Car driving day would be an idea too. Try https://www.mondello.ie/driving_experiences/

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

A hawk-walk is outdoorsy but doesn't require peak fitness, and seeing these beautiful birds up close is amazing. Usually there are other birds like owls that you can see up close too.

There are a few places around the country that do it so you'd have a pick of locations and prices- Adare manor, Ashford Castle, The burren and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

If you both play golf I'd recommend a golfing weekend in a nice hotel with good food and beers.

Adare Manor was mentioned in a previous post and that would be a great spot to go. If not Adare then somewhere like Killarney would be good. Lots of nice golf courses within range and if you want to socialise then Killarney has great bars and restaurants. It also has the advantage of train connectivity so you can leave the car behind.

Has you any hobbies in common?

Good question. I think its fair to say that he does not have any (current) hobbies which is why I'm finding this difficult. He has become a complete workaholic. The only social activity I've known him to do is to go to a Ireland soccer game.

prayformojo.jpg

Car driving day would be an idea too. Try https://www.mondello.ie/driving_experiences/

Thanks, good idea. Will take a look at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Blingy

A night away in Delphi in the west. Lots of activities ye could get involved in.

Aidric wrote: »
    If you both play golf I'd recommend a golfing weekend in a nice hotel with good food and beers.

Adare Manor was mentioned in a previous post and that would be a great spot to go. If not Adare then somewhere like Killarney would be good. Lots of nice golf courses within range and if you want to socialise then Killarney has great bars and restaurants. It also has the advantage of train connectivity so you can leave the car behind.

Thanks for the suggestion and it would be great but unfortunately golf ain't an option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

Standup Paddle Boarding on the Stunning Lough Gill in Sligo? fresh air, no mobile fones or wifi. Get away from it all.

You dont need to have any water experience. They cater for complete beginners. Its like floating on air.

https://www.facebook.com/SUPforall

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VF8WfnGZbM4

Blingy wrote: »
    A night away in Delphi in the west. Lots of activities ye could get involved in.

Thanks, would suit me no problem. I don't think he will do anything that involves heights and definitely nothing that involves water. I know Killary have that shooting game (paint ball without the paint balls) but I'm not sure it would be much craic with just the two of us being put in with another bunch of people that we wouldn't know.

Clay shooting, Mondello and Hawk-walk are good possibilities. I'm really finding this difficult which is why I've turned to you guys for suggestions. So thanks for all the suggestions so far and I'd really appreciate anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭cichlid child

Footee golf.
    Not to strenuous golf with a football
    Deerpark in howth,Ashbourne,Tallaght,Waterford , Wexford and Donegal have them.
    Great fun For young ,Old and people who lost their Mojo

Carson10 wrote: »
    Standup Paddle Boarding on the Stunning Lough Gill in Sligo? fresh air, no mobile fones or wifi. Get away from it all.

You dont need to have any water experience. They cater for complete beginners. Its like floating on air.

https://www.facebook.com/SUPforall

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VF8WfnGZbM4
    Good suggestion but he cant swim and has a fear of the water. Which is a real pity as I would love the paddle the blueway up in Leitrim.

Footee golf.
    Not to strenuous golf with a football
    Deerpark in howth,Ashbourne,Tallaght,Waterford , Wexford and Donegal have them.
    Great fun For young ,Old and people who lost their Mojo

Never even heard of that. Sounds like a good option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭cichlid child

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

You could try airsoft. A good few places have it, and usually you can do archery too, which is always fun.

What about fishing? I know you said he has a problem with water but standing on a pier or riverbank shouldn't be too bad.

Maybe take off for a weekend camping? Find somewhere you can light a bonfire or something, grab some whisky or beers and have a chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Camping - couldn't recommend this enough

You can setup anywhere - personally I'd recommend by a beach.

You can get air matresses for €20 or so if you want a comfortable sleep and if you need it, I can put a list of things you should bring to ensure a decent break but overall there's nothing better for the soul & wallet than a weekend where you chill out with your mates, have a couple of beers if you want, seek out a local place for breakfast, get a disposable BBQ for your supper, bring shorts and baptize yourself in some cold water.

I think it's a perfect way to get some peace and quiet, chat some stuff out if you're with your buddies, get a fire & smores going if you want but all in all - it's an inexpensive way to get some downtime, and if you want, a very good catch up with friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭magicmoves

It seems your friend needs sun and a good session so he can blow some steam off. I would recommend head off to one of the many beautiful islands off the coast of Ireland and go mad for a weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Ascii

I for one am for the camping suggestions. I go 2-3 times every year with my brothers and have done for years. Does not get any better. Can be as cheap as chips or as expensive as you want. If you convince him to get on a boat at all a half days angling in Rosses Point in Sligo is as good as it gets. Out bobbing on the ocean away from it all....sheer class Take up a hobby like Geo-caching or the like ?? Not to strenuous and it can be a regular hobby to get involved in so its an on-going thing, not just for the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

would you go mountain climbing? Go to Mayo and climb Croagh Patrick? also agree with the camping suggestions, they can be good fun, nice to get away from it all .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

He has become a complete workaholic.
    Because of this, I'd second golf. Most companies have a golf society, so if he enjoys it, he may consider keeping it up by playing with his work colleagues.