Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Queens of the Stone Age Tribute Gig

• 17-04-2015 9:58am
    Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭

Ireland's first and only QOTSA cover band, Queens of the Sauce Age, play a 20 song live set by the legends Queens of the Stone Age at Cork City's best known rock venue Fred Zeppelins.

Expect hits like Song for the Dead, Feel Good Hit of the Summer and Little Sister along with fan favourites Mexicola, Someone's in the Wolf and Tension Head.

Admission on the night is free of charge.

Saturday 16th of May. Doors at 21:30. Show starts at 22:00.

https://www.facebook.com/events/1586638898271048/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IFq4besijY0&feature=youtu.be

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭Concise Maths 3

• Registered Users Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭EyesClosed

Dublin date and I'm there

EyesClosed wrote: »
    Dublin date and I'm there

Yeah would definitely be up for that. Where do you think best place would be for this? Fibbers or Gypsy Rose or Mezz or wherever(your gaff :-P)? Not too familiar with cover band policy in Dublin venues.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭EyesClosed

Yeah would definitely be up for that. Where do you think best place would be for this? Fibbers or Gypsy Rose or Mezz or wherever(your gaff :-P)? Not too familiar with cover band policy in Dublin venues.

Fibbers would probably be the spot

• Registered Users Posts: 6,355 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Ireland's first and only QOTSA cover band

Seen a few around the country, there was one who were local to me even not too sure if they packed it in though.

As in actually seen play a gig? A full on tribute band? I went searching the net and can't find any reference to one. The closest I've gotten to it was when I saw Race the Flux cover all of Songs for the Deaf. It was absolutely class and thought why not a full on tribute band? I have seen plenty of people on here over the years, including myself, attempting to start one but to no avail.

Anyways if you can point me in the direction of these other bands I'll change the description. Don't want to be lying to people.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,355 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Yeah, I could tell you the band in my town were called the Little Sisters anyway not too sure bout other but believe twas in Dublin think they were doing Songs for the Deaf also so maybe they were same as you talking about.

Fair enough. How does one change the first post in a thread? Having difficulty here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Fair enough. How does one change the first post in a thread? Having difficulty here.

Doubt anyone cares tbh.

Gave me a chuckle. Classic internet banter.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,473 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Would it not be better if it was actually Queens of the Stone Age rather than a bunch of guys pretending they are Queens of the Stone Age. :confused:

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

It certainly would.

Hey lads, we'll be hitting the stage at 10pm tomorrow night. It looks like it might be a busy one so get in early to avoid missing out. Here's a video of naked Nick for your enjoyment. Our bass player has promised to expose himself in a similar fashion. You can then judge for yourself who has the better balls.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XvydcSNRSwM

• Registered Users Posts: 253 ✭✭rock whore

Would it not be better if it was actually Queens of the Stone Age rather than a bunch of guys pretending they are Queens of the Stone Age. :confused:

Like Queens of the Stone Age, but instead of playing their own songs they do a tribute act to another band?

Queens of Leon?

Video from Saturday night - Regular John - https://youtu.be/c9tsPoAZDPE

Video from Saturday night - Burn the Witch - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wmjhc_izxOw

• Registered Users Posts: 6,906 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Sounds grand musically, vocals could do with strengthening though.

Last post relating to Saturday night. If you're digging the vibes keep an eye out, we're currently arranging some more gigs around the place.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RHHheyKNFEM

P.S. any comments or constructive criticism much appreciated (Everyone - "stop annoying our heads with this thread" :)), as this was our first run out like.

We are taking the show on the road this summer and first up is Fibber Magees on the 12th of June. Details here: https://www.facebook.com/events/814047745310844/

Friday night in Fibbers Magees, Dublin @ 10pm. 23 song, 2 hour set. All Queens...all the time...all the time...
    https://www.facebook.com/events/814047745310844/

• Registered Users Posts: 7,515 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Ireland's first and only QOTSA cover band, Queens of the Sauce Age

What about these fellas from Sligo - https://www.facebook.com/irishqueens

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,515 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)