Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lamb creep feeder

• 17-04-2015 8:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭

Just thinking about getting a proper creep feeder for the lambs, not fully decided whether I'll creep them yet or not. I was thinking of one of the "mushroom" type ones, rather than a long narrow one. I know Sturdy, JFC or Cormac do them. Any other makers? What's the best type and would ye know prices roughly? Do any come with bird guards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cran

I have a load of those types, inherited them. Personally wouldnt buy them if was purchasing them now, check out Stanley engineering George has one that is pulled by the quad with creep gates and crow guards. More expensive than the mushroom type but I think a better job all together and from memory not as dear as you d think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Con, I've a couple of these which I modified to pull with the quad as it was an arse going to move them with the tractor every time. I paid £425 for them about three years ago and spent perhaps £50 on each for the wheels, hitch etc. They have bird flaps on them and are good at keeping out the birds and also adjustable horizontally and vertically. The one problem i did find is that if they're not kept topped up and lambs are hungry they will all try and pile into the feeder and smother ones at the front when you fill the feeder again,so I fed some meal on the ground to stop them being so hungry that they would't pile in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭eire23

Thats a handy job antrim. easy for moving around.

Bought two of those 8ft double sided feeders of cormac in tuam last year. think they were 425 each, need to look up the reciept. I find them very good and you will feed a lot of lambs with one. One of the upsides is lambs cant get smothered and the bars going across are on a spring release so if their head gets trapped they cant hang themselves. I move it every second day when im checking them so its always on fresh ground.One Downside is they are heavy enough though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭ihatewinter

Don't get the mushroom creep feeder if you're ewes have a tendency of breaking things. I had one out with about 40 ewes who broke it in **** trying to get the ration out of it. Turned it over and broke the top off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

Bought 2 of these today as I'm getting as part of grant, cost €450 incl vat each

Can see birds been a problem

razor8 wrote: »
    Bought 2 of these today as I'm getting as part of grant, cost €450 incl vat each

Their a good job razor, is it of IAE ya bought them?

I think birds are only a problem if your feeding crunch/ration. They dont seem to pass any heed of the intensive lamb nuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

have them ,(cormac)

don;t see to have any bird issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

eire23 wrote: »
    Their a good job razor, is it of IAE ya bought them?

I think birds are only a problem if your feeding crunch/ration. They dont seem to pass any heed of the intensive lamb nuts

It il be pellets there getting, bought them off cormacs and will be delivered Tuesday, think they are stocking a lot of IAE equipment. Priced up North but prices don't come close with sterling the way it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

I have a cormac mushroom one. I filled it a week ago. It's still full. The lambs didn't get trained to eating creep before I put them in field, and aren't touching it, I thought they would have cleared it by now.

It il be pellets there getting, bought them off cormacs and will be delivered Tuesday, think they are stocking a lot of IAE equipment. Priced up North but prices don't come close with sterling the way it is
    The ones i got off cormac werent IAE now, their ones that they made themselves. Their grand but they wouldnt be just as well finished as the IAE feeders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Bought one of them about three weeks ago, no grant though. €440 incl the vat:D you saved 33%+ with the grant and I saved a €10. My €10 doesn't seem so good now:D

There a great job. Feeding 40 lambs with one of them. There eating 3 bags of creep a week. Reakon I'll have 50% to offload in 4-5 weeks, hopefully the rest shortly afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

just one point on these creep feeders

if a lamb tries to pull out and cant he might panic and choke himself if it's not designed properly

the cormac one allows a lamb to free himself, another very similar model by a different manufacturer is not designed so well

i know a guy who found 3 factory fit lambs dead side by side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭AnFeirmeoir

orm0nd wrote: »
    just one point on these creep feeders

if a lamb tries to pull out and cant he might panic and choke himself if it's not designed properly

the cormac one allows a lamb to free himself, another very similar model by a different manufacturer is not designed so well

i know a guy who found 3 factory fit lambs dead side by side

Whats the similar model ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Lads , any ideas as to how to keep the crows out of the cormac mushroom feeder? Their climbing into it and stealing my lamb creep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

A dead fox on top of it. A scarecrow. A dead crow hung up