Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sea Stories

• 13-04-2015 10:10am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 369 ✭✭

Just found out over the weekend that my great, great, great, great grandfather was once on a merchant navy ship that was attacked by a whale! No one was killed, but the whale damaged the hull so much they had to head back to port! anyone else have any interesting old sea stories?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 491 ✭✭Dozer Dave

Albert Gladstone Trotter was he op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I told my OH many old and fantastic tales about seamen but she wouldn't swallow it...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Never go in search of the golden rivet.

One hand for yourself, the other for the ship.

What happens at sea, stays at sea.

Oil and water don't mix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I had sex on a car ferry once.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Well, I could be wrong, but I believe diversity is an old, old wooden ship that was used during the Civil War era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,872 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

I was the youngest person in Ireland to successfully complete the Dept. of the Marine Basic Sea Survival Course (age 11).

whiskeyman wrote: »
    I told my OH many old and fantastic tales about seamen but she wouldn't swallow it...

She Swallowed mine last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

had a great fight with a "fish" while on a boat, 15 mins in, two seagulls came up on my line...I was devo !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

the super express?

whiskeyman wrote: »
    the super express?

I fingered on the Virgin Pendolino from Birmingham to Holyhead then knobbed her in a cabin on the ulysses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭ebbsy

With a Whale ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I tried ploughing the ocean wave once, but the tractor kept sinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

This stool be high, says I. Arrrrrrrrrrrrrr

ebbsy wrote: »
    With a Whale ?

Car ferry dude.

Car ferry.

IT WASNT A CAR EITHER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

OP,was the whale called Moby Dick by any chance?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

"Fcuk, I banjaxed the jaysus ship by scraping her off a reef after a few bottles of poitin"

"Tell them it was a whale, be grand"

Somewhere off the coast of the peninsulas in the sw of the country there is a bunch of nuns that were raped and then thrown overboard...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_FitzAlan,_1st_Baron_Arundel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,714 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

anncoates wrote: »
    "Fcuk, I banjaxed the jaysus ship by scraping her off a reef after a few bottles of poitin"

"Tell them it was a whale, be grand"

...audio from the black box of the Costa Concordia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I was on a short cruise off Sicily a number of years back. Now a cruise wasn't my idea, but my partner wanted to experience one, so I eventually agreed that we would go on one for three days, before heading to a resort on the island itself.

It was a disaster. There were no suites left, so I had to book an aft cabin with balcony. It was small and the decor was rather dated. The seafood buffet was meant to offer a 'symphony of the Mediterranean sea'. The prawns were unmistakably of the frozen variety and probably farmed off the coast of Vietnam. Dress code was meant to be formal, but most of the men didn't even bother wearing a jacket to dinner. The wine selection was limited and extremely enthusiastically marked-up.

Was in absolutely foul mood for the duration of the cruise,and couldn't wait to get off the ship. I cheered up when we got to the Verdura Resort in Sciacca though. Now that was true land based luxury!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Dozer Dave wrote: »
    Albert Gladstone Trotter was he op?

reminds me of an OFAH quote when Albert was explaining how you get to see the world as a merchant sea man ( can't look the exact quote up just now but went something like....)

Albert: Monday night you sail out of Portsmouth, Tue you round the Cape of Good Hope, Wed you drop anchor in The Bay of Biscay
    Del: Thursday it's your turn in the barrel!

Explained here for anyone who like me as a young lad didn't really get it
    http://www.examiner.com/article/what-is-meant-by-your-turn-the-barrel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I was in east Galway once, not an aft cabin or a frozen prawn anywhere, and the only dinner jackets were on the spuds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Spent many a night when I was a lad battling it out with a whale and being soaked.

Il just get my coat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

When I was younger I used to beat up a rubber kraken in the bath...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

My great grandmothers two sisters were on the Titanic. They survived and lived in America for the rest of their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I was on a short cruise off Sicily a number of years back. Now a cruise wasn't my idea, but my partner wanted to experience one, so I eventually agreed that we would go on one for three days, before heading to a resort on the island itself.

It was a disaster. There were no suites left, so I had to book an aft cabin with balcony. It was small and the decor was rather dated. The seafood buffet was meant to offer a 'symphony of the Mediterranean sea'. The prawns were unmistakably of the frozen variety and probably farmed off the coast of Vietnam. Dress code was meant to be formal, but most of the men didn't even bother wearing a jacket to dinner. The wine selection was limited and extremely enthusiastically marked-up.

Was in absolutely foul mood for the duration of the cruise,and couldn't wait to get off the ship. I cheered up when we got to the Verdura Resort in Sciacca though. Now that was true land based luxury!

I once got the Passage East car ferry. Ne'er a prawn in sight. Talk about hardship.

Seriously though, I can't think of greater hell than a cruise unless it was my own yacht. I'd rather be keel hauled. Though I might be persuaded to go on one of those whale watching ones around the fjords.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 369 ✭✭walkingshadow

My great grandmothers two sisters were on the Titanic. They survived and lived in America for the rest of their lives.

Wow, some experience!

smash wrote: »
    When I was younger I used to beat up a rubber kraken in the bath...

Ah the old kraken one off in the bath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

gaz wac wrote: »
    had a great fight with a "fish" while on a boat, 15 mins in, two seagulls came up on my line...I was devo !!!

Both of them came at once? Just wash it off and keep fishing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Wow, some experience!

Yes our family thought they were dead and my great grandmother was pregnant at the time and went into premature labour and had a little boy two months early. It was a long time after that when our family found out they had survived:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

The area I live in now was notorious through out europe for smuggling and piracy,local folklore tells of a sea cave with treasure in it and a green serpent that guards it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

kylith wrote: »
    Though I might be persuaded to go on one of those whale watching ones around the fjords.

Went on a whale watching cruise while on holiday in New Zealand. The scenery was great but the actual whale watching was pretty underwhelming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Went fishing once and an anchor fell on my toe.

Also managed to hook a seagull.