Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Massey 6170

• 07-04-2015 6:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭

Was looking at a MF 6170 with the BIL earlier. Looks a nice yoke but I don't know much about them. I thought they were about 120hp but the BIL reckons it's closer to 100. Was trying to figure out the gears the handles were worn so not sure what each ones does. I assume there is a range lever with 4 gears in each range. Do they have power shuttle or wet clutch as he is thinking about putting a loader on it.

Anyone have one or know what they are like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

http://www.tractordata.com/farm-tractors/000/8/9/895-massey-ferguson-6170.html

This does not give engine hp, just PTO power, but based in that I'd be saying around 110 hp?

Dunno too much about them tbh, fairly well speced machine, probably a dyna 4 gearbox and wet clutch?

Reggie will prob give you full details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭Jb1989

yellow50HX wrote: »
    Was looking at a MF 6170 with the BIL earlier. Looks a nice yoke but I don't know much about them. I thought they were about 120hp but the BIL reckons it's closer to 100. Was trying to figure out the gears the handles were worn so not sure what each ones does. I assume there is a range lever with 4 gears in each range. Do they have power shuttle or wet clutch as he is thinking about putting a loader
    on it.

Anyone have one or know what they are like?

Power shuttle depends on what u seen
    Most common are the two gear sticks on your right hand side
    Closest stick is 1 2 3 4 with high and low to the far right of same gear stick
    The further stick is the forward reverse shuttle
    And then you've the lever at the steering wheel with the four speed dynashift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Jb1989 wrote: »
    Power shuttle depends on what u seen
    Most common are the two gear sticks on your right hand side
    Closest stick is 1 2 3 4 with high and low to the far right of same gear stick
    The further stick is the forward reverse shuttle
    And then you've the lever at the steering wheel with the four speed dynashift.

Thought the one on the steering wheel would be for a shuttle. Seems an awkward set up TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Thought the one on the steering wheel would be for a shuttle. Seems an awkward set up TBH.

No the 6150 to 6190 were usually this type system
    4270s and 399s and the like had shuttle on the steering wheel, either standard or powered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

I drove an 8170 for a while with the same set up. its a bit awkward, but grand once you get used to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

jimmy G M wrote: »
    http://www.tractordata.com/farm-tractors/000/8/9/895-massey-ferguson-6170.html

This does not give engine hp, just PTO power, but based in that I'd be saying around 110 hp?

Dunno too much about them tbh, fairly well speced machine, probably a dyna 4 gearbox and wet clutch?

Reggie will prob give you full details.

Always thought them machined were higher horsepower than that.

We have a 6190 here. Just remember that the main gear levers are the opposite to normal setups and can be awkward to get used to.

The one we have is on bad nick but it could have been the life it had before us. Don't think they had a good rep as many operators weren't too happy with them and the gear box gives bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

mf 6190 is rated at 130 hp, the 6170 is 110 as far as i remember,

The lever beside the steering wheel is the ABCD dynashift,

some of those yokes have the gears the wrong away around as in:

*3-1* layout rather than the reverse order in most tractors, i found them awkward enough in a 6190.
    *4-2*

6200 series far better , 6290 one of the bets mf made.

i quite like the 6160s but they arent turboed like the 6170-80-90.

i would be checking if the dynashift has had any work done on it , and the manual shuttles a bit of a balls too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

The BIL hasn't heard great things about them either, can't say I have heard too much good things about the 61 series, most see to talk about rusty roof leaks and alpha romeo electrics.

That said he has fallen in love with a 5610 and loader, dealer was sprouting something about cheap finance. They do look nice and would be spot on for his needs, but it would need to be a very good deal to get home to buy.

Anyone know if massey are doing cheap fianance deals?

The BIL hasn't heard great things about them either, can't say I have heard too much good things about the 61 series, most see to talk about rusty roof leaks and alpha romeo electrics.

That said he has fallen in love with a 5610 and loader, dealer was sprouting something about cheap finance. They do look nice and would be spot on for his needs, but it would need to be a very good deal to get home to buy.

Talk to GG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

They are if you can get there finance to take you.
    they decided not to finance us so we went elsewhere. For no reason at all only he didn't like the fact we had a mortgage our dealer told us.

5610 great tractor. Wouldn't say she is great in a wet spot though. But ideal stock man's tractor

they decided not to finance us so we went elsewhere. For no reason at all only he didn't like the fact we had a mortgage our dealer told us.

5610 great tractor. Wouldn't say she is great in a wet spot though. But ideal stock man's tractor

Could ya not put bigger wider wheels in it

Reggie. wrote: »
    Could ya not put bigger wider wheels in it

For an extra 2k yep fire away

Small money in the grand scheme of things

worth it if you ain't getting stuck or damaging the ground.

Reggie. wrote: »
    Small money in the grand scheme of things

worth it if you ain't getting stuck or damaging the ground.

She just tends to go down a bit more now since wheels have worn s good bit.

I'll put the 2k into draining them. It'll be better spent

She just tends to go down a bit more now since wheels have worn s good bit.

I'll put the 2k into draining them. It'll be better spent

Seems small money to me for the benefits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

God forbid a farmer to have a mortgage.

grazeaway wrote: »
    God forbid a farmer to have a mortgage.

Absolutely ridiculous never made much matter before when we went to buy something as long as out business's was sound and figures were good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Absolutely ridiculous never made much matter before when we went to buy something as long as out business's was sound and figures were good
    Can i ask, how much of a % discount you got off agreed price when you weren't financing with them?

Blackgrass wrote: »
    Can i ask, how much of a % discount you got off agreed price when you weren't financing with them?

Hard to remember but there was some yoke we still got that took 3% off its price we were getting that regardless I think.
    We had to pay a slightly higher interest rate with different crowd
    it's on a lease so we can change it next yr if we want but I'd say we'll keep her and trade up when she's paid for.
    Should be still worth a good bit in 4 yrs time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Hard to remember but there was some yoke we still got that took 3% off its price we were getting that regardless I think.
    We had to pay a slightly higher interest rate with different crowd
    it's on a lease so we can change it next yr if we want but I'd say we'll keep her and trade up when she's paid for.
    Should be still worth a good bit in 4 yrs time

It's funny all these low finance deals guys like but then buy the machine straight and suddenly a few % drops off list price. My old boss pulled a master stroke on our jd dealer which effectively got us a few free extras. He wasn't massively happy but he wanted to deal and we leave a little money there and this year he wants to get into tractor rental of stock in the yard to earn something on idle stock so it's good.

We basicly were buying straight our yoke was bollix ed. 20k hrs plus on her.
    You boys would get better deals on Kit than us livestock men who only buy the every few yrs

We basicly were buying straight our yoke was bollix ed. 20k hrs plus on her.
    You boys would get better deals on Kit than us livestock men who only buy the every few yrs