Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you win the lotto...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

delaney001 wrote: »
    You can do what this lad did 😱😱😱

http://www.forum4farming.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3333

Don't think that shed is big enough :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭delaney001

Reggie. wrote: »
    Don't think that she'd is big enough :rolleyes:

Some dreamland stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Mad. What country is that in?
    Only looked at the pictures so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭paulmclaughlin

Scotland I think.

Some set up anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

If I won the lottery it would be coke and hookers for a good while before I'd go building anything like that :D
    Would there be much enjoyment in going that big ? I would imagine it would just seem like extra work after a while running a show like that . Id be as happy leaving the farm the way it is but just having more time around it and maybe encouraging more wildlfe around it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

When i win the euro millions, I'm gonna set up a foundation and charter in three fully night vision equipped medi-vac helicopters. Full round the clock crewing; and base one in leitrim, one around Terry glass and one somewhere in the laois/car low area. Put an end to this scandalous carryon with ambulances bouncing around back roads for two hours with critically ill patients in the back. Also be on the way to any ship sinking in the Atlantic before the RAF boys get out of Wales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭pat73

I would keep farming til it was all gone.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    When i win the euro millions, I'm gonna set up a foundation and charter in three fully night vision equipped medi-vac helicopters. Full round the clock crewing; and base one in leitrim, one around Terry glass and one somewhere in the laois/car low area. Put an end to this scandalous carryon with ambulances bouncing around back roads for two hours with critically ill patients in the back. Also be on the way to any ship sinking in the Atlantic before the RAF boys get out of Wales.
    I'll do the air operations manager for ya nek ;)

Bullocks wrote: »
    If I won the lottery it would be coke and hookers for a good while before I'd go building anything like that :D
    Would there be much enjoyment in going that big ? I would imagine it would just seem like extra work after a while running a show like that . Id be as happy leaving the farm the way it is but just having more time around it and maybe encouraging more wildlfe around it

I was thinking the same. I would hate to be at a size where it was more of a management role for the owner. I don't think you'd know your individual cows at that stage.
    Some amount of money spent there all the same. I thought it was only in Ireland that milk production was expanding. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Imagine having to come up with 11 sets of wages every week, feed 1000 cows and pay for those buildings on 18p/ltr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Imagine having to come up with 11 sets of wages every week, feed 1000 cows and pay for those buildings on 18p/ltr.

When your costs might be 30 or 35p/l! I think I'd be happier investing the whole lot of lotto winnings in Glainbia shares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,935 ✭✭✭jaymla627

That farm must be on a Tesco contract which is still paying 30 pence litre at the minute, either that our he actually did win euro millions our the whole lot will go wallop in a few moths time when the banks move in haha....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

If I won lotto I don know if I'd invest it in the yard or farm at home.
    might buy land maybe but ye could never say ye built up this farm with your own hard work and long days iykwim

And of course, most importantly, you could tell the Dept. where to stick their SFP, and their cross compliance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 jazzdude18

If you or I won the lotto, what about buying land, then plant loads of fruit and veg, get a nice housing system (eco,etc)... and give the option for the homeless people to move there, so they can have food and sleep under a roof. a place they can call home, if you they want

jazzdude18 wrote: »
    If you or I won the lotto, what about buying land, then plant loads of fruit and veg, get a nice housing system (eco,etc)... and give the option for the homeless people to move there, so they can have food and sleep under a roof. a place they can call home, if you they want

Don't ever go farming! I don't think you have the backbone for it.

[mod] This may not have been intended as provocation but it caused offence. If you dispute a post then keep it to the subject matter and keep comments that may be taken personally out of it!.[/mod]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

If I won lotto I don know if I'd invest it in the yard or farm at home.
    might buy land maybe but ye could never say ye built up this farm with your own hard work and long days iykwim

Why would ya want to? Thats only for who are worried what others think. if i was going to spend money on the yard, I'd get every thing right.Concrete yards, cubicles, slurry storage, parlour, handling facilities and then make money from milk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Why would ya want to? Thats only for who are worried what others think. if i was going to spend money on the yard, I'd get every thing right.Concrete yards, cubicles, slurry storage, parlour, handling facilities and then make money from milk

Same as darragh,I'd have a model farm yard,concrete yards ,best sheds money could buy kitted out accordingly ,100 cows max still work the farm,full time guy to rear calves ,take every Sunday off and have relief Milker for same for May to dry off.i love working with and milking cows.100 would be grand no .after that make Munster the Toulon of Ireland .,spreading urea listening to Leinster match thinking of all the great days I had following Munster around Europe,distant memory unfourtnagely!!and sure after that coke and hookers!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 jazzdude18

Don't ever go farming! I don't think you have the backbone for it.

[mod]jazzdude18, I've deleted your comments as they do you no credit whatsoever. The correct approach to what you feel is provocation is to report the post and let the moderators deal with it. Escalating the response is only going to get you into hotter water than the poster that caused your ire. [/mod]

Personal preference
    I'd be awfully bored farming Ifthere wasn't a challenge in it

:D......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Do not all farmers win a version of the lotto when the grant comes in every year :pac:

whupdedo wrote: »
    Do not all farmers win a version of the lotto when the grant comes in every year :pac:

What grant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

whupdedo wrote: »

Yep we do and we have a right piss up with the proceeds and blow it all on cocaine and hookers..,,,grant ,u don't have a clue my friend.only for the auld grant u wouldn't be able to provide a plate of food for ur family as food would be so dear.u obviously have no idea how much red tape and regulations we have to follow in order to provide fully traceable hormone free food produced from a natural food base.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Lotto- I'd put up a massive shed with 200 cubicles with mattresses 20k litre bulk tank and outside a 30 ton meal bin. Then I'd sell the cows, fill the shed with hookers, the tank with booze and the bin with coke, and go for an all-year-round breeding season. Then hope and pray that I finish my days getting loaded up onto the knackerys trailer with blowing lungs and a broken rod. What a way to go.

That sounds like too much work :D

Personal preference
    I'd be awfully bored farming Ifthere wasn't a challenge in it

You're never going to get bored so GO , you could have all the money in the world and there will still be some sort of a challenge in farming !

Different issue with the lotto is would ye tell anyone ye won it or spend like mad and leave them wondering ? I wouldn't tell a soul if I won it

You're never going to get bored so GO , you could have all the money in the world and there will still be some sort of a challenge in farming !

Different issue with the lotto is would ye tell anyone ye won it or spend like mad and leave them wondering ? I wouldn't tell a soul if I won it

Same as that. I'd do a little bit at a time and leave the neighbours wondering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Reggie. wrote: »
    That sounds like too much work :D

It's not work if you enjoy it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I wouldn't tell anyone, probaly not even herself. I'd just let on that i was a great farmer (that could be the problem) and earning savage money at milking.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

jazzdude18 wrote: »

For what its worth, given that we are discussing a utopian situation, I think your idea is as good as any.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

I wouldn't tell anyone, probaly not even herself. I'd just let on that i was a great farmer (that could be the problem) and earning savage money at milking.

Don't mind the milking , sure that's almost lottery money anyhow , now we could call you a very good farmer if you had a suckler farm making the big bucks !

I'd tell ye what there's a 185 ac dairy farm For sale down in conna In cork
    turn key farm just add cows For 3.5 mill.
    I'd go buy that 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,223 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

If I won the lotto I'd get a good internet connection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

If I won the lotto I would buy Boards and F&F would have its own Category :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Base price wrote: »
    If I won the lotto I would buy Boards and F&F would have its own Category :D

.........you wouldn't forget the nice moderators either, would you?:p

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Buy the meat factory's!!
    I'm a bit of a tight arse so prob jus live off the interest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

57747895.jpg

Buy the Farmers Weekly, and drool over some big estates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Why would any farmer want to continue farming if they won the lotto?

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Why would any farmer want to continue farming if they won the lotto?

For the love of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

Farm till i ran out of money ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 CowMeister

If I won the lotto I'd head to the Caribbean. Laying on a beach with bikini clad ladies all around me, smoking cigars and skulling pints without a care in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

I won the Nigerian lotto three times, the Spanish one twice and the Turkish one once. I'm still farming away as poor as ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭the_blue_oval

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Same as darragh,I'd have a model farm yard,concrete yards ,best sheds money could buy kitted out accordingly ,100 cows max still work the farm,full time guy to rear calves ,take every Sunday off and have relief Milker for same for May to dry off.i love working with and milking cows.100 would be grand no .after that make Munster the Toulon of Ireland .,spreading urea listening to Leinster match thinking of all the great days I had following Munster around Europe,distant memory unfourtnagely!!and sure after that coke and hookers!!!!!

+1 make the farm as comfortable a place as possible to be for both myself and the cows!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Buy some proper land in the midlands and run a herd of suckler lims. With a few horses thrown in for good measure.

Pay off the parents last mortgage too!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 260 ✭✭Jimlh86

And you only farming bullocks!!