Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

hot wire starter

• 03-04-2015 9:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭

Is is possible to hot wire a starter to get it to start stranded 4x4? Starter not engaging - "click" when key turned - and new starter not due until well into next week, jeep in awkward position and not really able to tow or push it.

Someone suggested giving starter a whack of a hammer...:rolleyes:...but think he was just messin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Yes belting the starter with a hammer and piece of wood can sometimes work.

There is no hot wiring the starter
    The plunger on low current wire sometimes sticks shocking the starter can free up plunger to close the high current circuit connecting the starter motor to battery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Peterbilt

Okay, will try it. Thanks. Was going to get starter repair kit from fleabay but not available. Brand new starter coming from Germany next week, €130 inc delivery. Quotes i got for refurbished starters here in Ire ranged from €190 to €360 inc vat :eek: Wicked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Had a jeep myself and parts here where beyond ridiculous prices. I ordered either from UK or USA even allowing for postage it was much cheaper.
    As you have new starter on way you can chance hitting starter directly with hammer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

Peterbilt wrote: »
    Is is possible to hot wire a starter to get it to start stranded 4x4? Starter not engaging - "click" when key turned - and new starter not due until well into next week, jeep in awkward position and not really able to tow or push it.

Someone suggested giving starter a whack of a hammer...:rolleyes:...but think he was just messin...
    He was not messing,
    What make and model will speed up the answers .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

Cross the starter input terminals with whatever metal thingy comes to hand. Preferably one with an insulated handle. Bingo - starter turns engine. Generally, unless it's totally fubarred.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 491 ✭✭Dozer Dave

Take off the wedding ring too, alot of lads got nasty burns from them.

Dozer Dave wrote: »
    Take off the wedding ring too, alot of lads got nasty burns from them.

I binned mine years ago - too easy to get yer finger ripped off! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Possibly just needs new brushes hence the clicking.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 491 ✭✭Dozer Dave

I binned mine years ago - too easy to get yer finger ripped off! :D

My misses would bin me if i threw away my ring :pac:

Dozer Dave wrote: »
    My misses would bin me if i threw away my ring :pac:

I jumped off a digger and it caught in a bolt on the door handle. Oh, the pain..it went for a rapid hop. Herself was huffy for a bit, but they forget eventually. You just need to show a bit of commitment. "I'm not wearing it, feck off".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Peterbilt

Well it looks like I've ordered a starter for nothin. Took off the Denso today and opened it up expecting to see worn out brushes and copper contacts. They were worn yes, but not worn enough to cause failure in my eyes. Hooked it up to the battery, cog wheel flies out and spins like, well, like a sound healthy starter. Concluded that problem must be elsewhere. To cut LONG story short - trying to find breaks in circuits is a pain in the h*le - discovered that there's no power going to air heaters in intake manifold - the 2.9 Terracan has no glow plugs, what it has is these twin metal grids that heat the air before it reaches combustion chambers. Traced it back to what looks like a dodgy Air Heater Relay switch, which cost a hell of a lot less than a starter. Moral of story: bench test BEFORE you buy.