Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is rage on the increase last few years

• 01-04-2015 10:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16

I spent some time working in Northern Ireland (half a year), yet I now find places like Swords are seeming more dangerous on a day-to-day basis compared with the peaceful experiences I had up north.

So I wanted to ask other people - in the last few years I have seen an increase in general rage - people starting trouble over nothing - not in bars, but in everyday normal places like petrol stations, the queue in supervalue, carparks, the M50 and so on. Mostly its in Swords but maybe it more widespread.

Is it just me or are others noting this - more rage than, say, 2007 when nothing seemed to ever happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

No, it's not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

I hate you, I hate your family, I hate your food, I hate your country, and I hate your face*!

:mad:

*i don't really, was watching Dom Joly*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

I'd say so with the recession, austerity, Anglo Irish Bank, Irish Water et al. Certainly if social media discussions on the likes of the above are anything to go by (although maybe social media just makes it *seem* like there's more).
    Also, the general consensus among those who deal with customers is that the aggression streak that was always there, is more prevalent in the last six or seven years, and far more "I know my rights"-ness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

Balbriggan overspill?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 sten_gun

Zebra3 wrote: »
    No, it's not.

Not its not just me, or no its [rage] not increasing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Not really, I'm still just a rat in a cage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

It's a symptom of the ever increasing pace of life, especially for city dwellers and also the general malaise into a society of instant gratification and narcissism. imHo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Pluto square Uranus man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

its just the rat race on steroids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Agricola wrote: »
    It's a symptom of the ever increasing pace of life, especially for city dwellers and also the general malaise into a society of instant gratification and narcissism. imHo
    Don't forget nihilism!

Nihilism always gets included in those kinda sentences. I must still find out what nihilism means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I JUST CAN'T GET ENOUGH RAGEAHOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Ruu wrote: »
    I hate you, I hate your family, I hate your food, I hate your country, and I hate your face*!

You have that wrong.
    “I 'ate his face, I 'ate his fur, and I 'ate the mess he made on the floor.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Is that what everyone is killing in the name of? People nowadays are like bulls on parade, I've said too much so I'll go sleep now in the fire

:P

I was going to propose an anti-rage demonstration, but it sounds like it would turn very violent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Some people just want to watch the world burn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I Like cake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,449 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

When there's plenty to go round, people are happy. When things are tight, people will get very snappy towards their neighbours (not literally their neighbours, but those people whom they perceive to have more than them or are a threat to them in some way).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Bassfish

I do worry about the escalating levels of violence in our communities, just the other day I walked into Boots and punched a guy for no reason!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I'd feel far safer walking the streets of London than Dublin. Country is turning into a right scummy little cesspit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

Their is rage now even in mass to get the holy communion first.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Is that what everyone is killing in the name of? People nowadays are like bulls on parade, I've said too much so I'll go sleep now in the fire

:P

How can you sleep when your bed is burning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

Could be down to the fact that now more than ever with the emergence of social media, people feel less important, successful, happy etc due to the egotistical self gloathing, selfie generation we live in, you know the one where everybodys a model,entrepreneur,athlete or expert in some department.

Meh just a theory though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

sten_gun wrote: »

I spent some time working in Northern Ireland (half a year), yet I now find places like Swords are seeming more dangerous on a day-to-day basis compared with the peaceful experiences I had up north.

So I wanted to ask other people - in the last few years I have seen an increase in general rage - people starting trouble over nothing - not in bars, but in everyday normal places like petrol stations, the queue in supervalue, carparks, the M50 and so on. Mostly its in Swords but maybe it more widespread.

Is it just me or are others noting this - more rage than, say, 2007 when nothing seemed to ever happen?

I have lived in swords for the last 30 years and know it all like the back of my hand, and have not noticed this scenario at all. Of course you will get some young teenagers messing around but nothing bad.

No-matter where you are you will see a bit of bad stuff happening, but for the size of swords now as it is, it's a reasonably decent place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

Ruu wrote: »
    I hate you, I hate your family, I hate your food, I hate your country, and I hate your face

Eff you, eff your effing wife. I'll stick this effing pitchfork up your hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

I have lived in swords for the last 30 years and know it all like the back of my hand, and have not noticed this scenario at all. Of course you will get some young teenagers messing around but nothing bad.

No-matter where you are you will see a bit of bad stuff happening, but for the size of swords now as it is, it's a reasonably decent place.

I've always found Balbriggan to be far more aggro,grittier....rotten to the core

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭ROAAAR

To be honest I think things are a lot quieter than they used to be. 2006/2007 I was in hospital twice after being attacked by a few lads after a night out. Even then I was punched so many times by different groups of young lads when I'd be walking home after a night out. Granted I was younger and 18-20 year old spots tend to be full of more scrotes than most places I'd go nowadays. But I think Ireland full of less rage now anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Regarding rage with some folk... there will be, and always will be people out there probably cut-off from the dole that are desperate and will attack folk for items/money, but this happens in every county in Ireland but is in the minority of folk that are like this, but it happens every-one 'almost' at some time unannounced in their life-time.

Ireland is no-where near as bad as many other countries. Understanding your surroundings and areas and the feel of these places will give you an inkling. Look ahead before moving forward, if it doesn't look too nice then back-track. Focus of your surroundings is the key. Be streetwise and watch everything as in this case you can deviate.

Be wise.

Weirdly this past years its just a likely to be someone from Malahide or someone in their 50's as a sterotypical "scanger" - and out of the blue...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

f**k you and the donkey you rode in on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

And if you have any brothers f**k them too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,222 ✭✭✭circadian

It could be a case of the North generally being quieter in that regard. Growing up there I never had hassle, there'd be scraps but not without reason.

There was always an element of not pissing off the wrong person, so people are generally quite pleasant to one another up there. I prefer that environment compared to living in Dublin which just feels a bit on edge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I have noticed that over the last few years. Some people seem to be very edgy, agitated, ready to rip someone's head off over any perceived slight. That's Ireland for you - beneath the veneer of civility lies quite a corrupt, lawless little place where the biggest, thickest, loudest buck-ape usually gets the cream. And when there's a shortage of cream the BTLBA gets very angry indeed. Compare with more civilised jurisdictions such as Texas, where manners and civility are the order of the day, because you don't know who has a 1911 Colt under their jacket. :pac:

When there's plenty to go round, people are happy. When things are tight, people will get very snappy towards their neighbours (not literally their neighbours, but those people whom they perceive to have more than them or are a threat to them in some way).

In my experience the worst for going around with a puss on them like a bulldog licking piss off a nettle are those who get everything for nothing. The idea that you might have a tenner in your arse-pocket seems to send them into an apoplectic fit. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Don't forget nihilism!

Nihilism always gets included in those kinda sentences. I must still find out what nihilism means.

Narcisism tends towards a lack of empathy, usually expressed in dismissive scarcastic nihilism.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

A lot of peoples lives got a lot more shít once we were hit with economic trouble, and most people have been affected to some degree (some worse than others), so naturally - yes - there is such an increase in social dysfunction and violence.

Economic dysfunction leads to social dysfunction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

jimgoose wrote: »
    I have noticed that over the last few years. Some people seem to be very edgy, agitated, ready to rip someone's head off over any perceived slight. That's Ireland for you - beneath the veneer of civility lies quite a corrupt, lawless little place where the biggest, thickest, loudest buck-ape usually gets the cream. And when there's a shortage of cream the BTLBA gets very angry indeed. Compare with more civilised jurisdictions such as Texas, where manners and civility are the order of the day, because you don't know who has a 1911 Colt under their jacket. :pac:
    So in Texas the vaneer of civility is based on fear of being shot? I'll stick to little Ireland thanks

It's based on the biggest, thickest, loudest buck-ape alluded to above being put on his hole by three cross-cut .45 ACP slugs by a six-stone eighty-year-old lady, yes. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Bassfish wrote: »
    I do worry about the escalating levels of violence in our communities, just the other day I walked into Boots and punched a guy for no reason!

Same thing happened to me!!

I clocked him an upper cut for no reason!! :eek:
    As soon as I did it, I feared the worst... but he came over and hugged me!
    I hugged him back and we talked things through and have been in regular contact since. Top bloke.

This was in the make-up aisle...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

I think gratuitous violence was on the rise during the start and middle of the 2000's. It was around that time that you also heard of way more murders over drugs as there was more demand thanks to folks having more disposable income (and a deficit of cop on, but that's another story). There were loads of people who got the sh*te kicked out of them on O'Connell street after wandering out of a pub back then cos everyone was hitting the booze way more and the drugs scene was more prominent. I think that pre-2007 more people were drinking in town because we all thought we were rich and could afford it, but that lessened as people started to have house parties more often in response to the rising price of pints in the years post-2007.