Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official injury thread

• 31-03-2015 7:23pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Turned my knee over playing my approach to the 10th on Saturday, ice and compression and starting to put weight back on it today.
    Hoping to be good enough for the free sub competition at the weekend, don't have a hope in hell of winning it but certainly fancy my chances more if I actually enter!

It's either back or knees for me...only silver lining is the crap weather at the minute...

Creating this thread for the injured to come and share their woes...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭dar_cool

Theres nothing worse, I pulled something in my lower back 3 weeks ago, rested up for a few days and then found some helpful youtube videos and started to slowly stretch it, golfed all week in portugal last week relatively pain free thank god!!:D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Portugal, nice heat helps!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

I got a real embarrassing one, was get hay for the ponies last night and a gust of wind caught the shed door loosening the latch and clobbered me square in the feckin back and arse!!!! Man there was some cursing!!
    Played today and was grand but am in bits now, maybe it's just auld age!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

charlieIRL wrote:
    I got a real embarrassing one, was get hay for the ponies last night and a gust of wind caught the shed door loosening the latch and clobbered me square in the feckin back and arse!!!! Man there was some cursing!! Played today and was grand but am in bits now, maybe it's just auld age!!!

Ahh now!! Talk about excuses!! 33pts leaving a lot out there in that wind today, the door has nothing to do with it it's just auld age :p

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

shaunac93 wrote: »
    Ahh now!! Talk about excuses!! 33pts leaving a lot out there in that wind today, the door has nothing to do with it it's just auld age :p

Haha, maybe it is. Can I use a buggy next time?!!! was great fun though, especially hitting driver on a par 3!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

charlieIRL wrote:
    Haha, maybe it is. Can I use a buggy next time?!!! was great fun though, especially hitting driver on a par 3!!

And still being 30yards from flag :p haha. Great craic though :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Danny dyers double

Having played much Golf at all in the last 6 months due to returning to play football . Played Xmas eve and end of February so at this stage I'm itching to get back at it but finding the time is hard with juggling work , football and a 2 year old and another on the way .

So got the Green light to play Friday , Sunday and Monday . Happy days .

Destroyed my back in work yesterday . Sprained all my lower back mussels . Can hardly stand up straight . Physio reckons at least a week till it will feel normal . Life can be cruel .

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Played Sat and Sun like a tool, only gave it full swing for back 9 on Sunday, really should not have gone out as knee very weak now, but such is life, weather this week is VERY tempting....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

I've been out of action since mid-September with a combination of neck and lower back injuries, all occurring while in the gym. I couldn't even swing a club though have had lots of physio and yesterday decided to pay a visit to the driving range as my neck has been good and my back has felt stronger but I've only made things worse. At the moment it's looking like I'll be taking another couple of months away from the game, which is really sickening me. What's really worrying is that I feel like I'm starting to lose interest in the game as I'm away from it for so long. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,513 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Back end of last summer I decided I was going to work on my fitness, in order to be in good shape for the 2015 season ahead. I took up running and was doing it 3 times a week. Everything going great and then about 2 months in, pain in my shins. Having absolutely no idea what this could be, I kept running until I physically couldnt do it anymore, thinking it was some sort of "feeling the burn" type thing, lol

Shin Splints.

I'm still in recovery. I cant run for anymore than 30 seconds or I'm in bits and as a result with my golf swing, I'm reluctant to put any real pressure on my legs/feet when I swing. I've lost on average about 10-15 yards with every club in the bag.

If i could go back in time 6 months, I'd tell my 32 year old self that you're too ****ing old for that **** and look where you'd be now, I'd have never taken it up, lol :D - stayed happy with my lot in life! :D

I'd also bring back a copy of the lotto numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭dwd

Rikand wrote: »
    Back end of last summer I decided I was going to work on my fitness, in order to be in good shape for the 2015 season ahead. I took up running and was doing it 3 times a week. Everything going great and then about 2 months in, pain in my shins. Having absolutely no idea what this could be, I kept running until I physically couldnt do it anymore, thinking it was some sort of "feeling the burn" type thing, lol

Shin Splints.

I'm still in recovery. I cant run for anymore than 30 seconds or I'm in bits and as a result with my golf swing, I'm reluctant to put any real pressure on my legs/feet when I swing. I've lost on average about 10-15 yards with every club in the bag.

If i could go back in time 6 months, I'd tell my 32 year old self that you're too ****ing old for that **** and look where you'd be now, I'd have never taken it up, lol :D - stayed happy with my lot in life! :D

I'd also bring back a copy of the lotto numbers

I know this pain but nothing as bad as what you describe, started doing some running the winter before last and within about 2km going at any sort of pace I'd be in serious pain. The physio I see recorded me on a treadmill and it was very obvious that I was foot slapping, taking all the impact on my heels and then up the front of the of my legs. Have a look at chi running, it details a running style more up on your toes, simuilar it takes a while to build the strength up in the caves, but I'm up to about 10km now without a hint of shin splints, get tight caves now instead though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

I'm back playing! After effectively 8 months out without being able to swing a golf club I visited the range about 10 days ago and then played 18 holes on Sunday. It was a nice walk, picking up 18 points in total so I have a lot to improve upon, but there were no adverse side effects or discomfort so I'm going to try it again this Sunday.