Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Lost Wallet Now Worthy Of National TV Coverage

• 30-03-2015 10:38pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭

Could not believe my eyes when i saw crime call tonight.
    Cctv coverage of a guy losing his wallet outside a supermarket and then a guy a few minutes later seeing the wallet and picking it up, plastered the guys pic all over national tv because he picked up a lost wallet, are they having a laugh, bank robberies and attacks on cctv along with this.
    No doubt it was some guards or some big hot shots wallet for i doubt if you or me lost a wallet it would be on a major real crime show.
    A bloody disgrace considering there would be lots of shops who would like to put up cctv of violent crimes but crime call would not be able to put them all up but would consider a lost wallet worthy of national tv coverage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Cctv coverage of a guy losing his wallet outside a supermarket and then a guy a few minutes later seeing the wallet and picking it up, plastered the guys pic all over national tv because he picked up a lost wallet, are they having a laugh, bank robberies and attacks on cctv along with this.
    No doubt it was some guards or some big hot shots wallet for i doubt if you or me lost a wallet it would be on a major real crime show.
    A bloody disgrace considering there would be lots of shops who would like to put up cctv of violent crimes but crime call would not be able to put them all up but would consider a lost wallet worthy of national tv coverage.

Its newsworthy if it contained something extremely valuable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Haha I left an ipod behind me filling out forms in AIB in limerick, wasnt there went i went back. Now, either they have no cctv or they couldnt be bothered - should I get crime call on the case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

You think that's bad? Someone even made a thread about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

*Stolen wallet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

Haha I left an ipod behind me filling out forms in AIB in limerick, wasnt there went i went back. Now, either they have no cctv or they couldnt be bothered - should I get crime call on the case?

Did you even ask had they cctv?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

... But starting a thread about it is grand though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

anncoates wrote: »
    ... But starting a thread about it is grand though.

I guess its more than a trivial annoyance to the op so it deserves its own thread.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 969 ✭✭✭JacquesDeLad

Have they got him yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,233 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I can't stand the suspense, I hope they've found it

Haha it gave me a good laugh, apart from the most obvious look around and shifty back step its a bit much to have it on crimecall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Did you even ask had they cctv?

Ammmm...

See if you can guess before you get to the answer.

Come on, I know you can do it

It's pretty obvious in fairness

Yeah. They wouldn't even check if someone had handed it in over the counter so I wasn't exactly expecting them to help me out with cctv even before I asked. A great bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭JaseBelleVie

Crime Call? Any excuse to post this:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 969 ✭✭✭JacquesDeLad

I can't stand the suspense, I hope they've found it

**** his wallet, there's someone picking up litter in this country. Hurray!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

Any crime should be recorded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

You'd imagine if its not worthy of coverage on the national broadcaster it wouldn't be worthy of coverage on here...

Any thoughts, OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,233 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

**** his wallet, there's someone picking up litter in this country. Hurray!:D

Its actually probably sitting in a lost and found in a garda station

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

endacl wrote: »
    You'd imagine if its not worthy of coverage on the national broadcaster it wouldn't be worthy of coverage on here...

Any thoughts, OP?

My thoughts are its some guards or someone connected wallet.
    Serious crimes cant get on but this can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

Might be part of a bigger picture? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

policarp wrote: »
    Might be part of a bigger picture? :confused:

G'wan away now with yer feckin' lateral thinkin'. This isn't the thread your looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,502 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Yes they can, sure there were plenty of parts about armed robberies, dead bodies/missing persons, violent assaults, other thefts and outstanding bench warrants, did you miss those typing out your rant?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

OP the guy who picked up the wallet might have cleaned out accounts of the guy who lost it or went to his home and robbed it or even used his identity to do something far more serious.

I suspect it's more about identifying the finder of the wallet than it is about returning the wallet itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,297 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It's the existence of CCTV and cameraphone footage these days that partly drives the format. Much cheaper than filming re-enactments of crimes. If there was no CCTV this crime (stealing by finding, I presume) would never have made the programme.

BBC Crimewatch showed footage of an attempted car breakin from Drogheda. Only notable because the thief got hit in the head with his own brick, and it was captured on CCTV. Whole hours of TV are filled with footage filmed by traffic police of various idiotic driving practices.

It can happen on news programmes as well where things which would never get a mention otherwise are stories just because there is CCTV footage.

If you have CCTV footage of serious crimes send it in to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Faith+1

This is a Country where we recently blessed the roads ffs! Nothing surprises me anymore. Craggy Island eat your heart out.