Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Graduate Visa -Boston

Options
  • 30-03-2015 3:20pm
    Registered Users Posts: 13

Hi Guys! I'm planning on heading to Boston this year on the graduate visa. I've already picked a sponsor and have put down a deposit.

I was wondering if anyone had any advise or if anyone else on here is heading to Boston?

I don't have an internship yet, though I am already applying for them (won't leave until August/September). My degree is in music and I don't have any contacts over there.

At the moment I'm saving as much as possible, and thinking I'll get temporary accommodation for when I arrive. Would two weeks be enough to find a place? I realise you guys aren't psychic but should that be enough?

Any advise or experiences would be appreciated :)

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Grayce23

I'm doing the same, and I found Boston to be very expensive rent wise! Research the city and see where is save to live! I know their transport is very good so once you get somewhere on the train line you'll be doing well. House share is probably the cheapest way to get accommodation sorted. I know craigslist is really good, but make sure you don't pay anything until you've seen the place. Another one to try is the college ads! It has a large college community and you can find a lot of rentals on that which might be more affordable. I know I'm aiming to have at least 5,000 with me before I go, just to be safe.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭cabla