Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Remapping and warranty

• 26-03-2015 12:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭

Im still deciding on what new car to buy. Its between the new astra which has 130hp and the new focus which has 100hp.

I love the way the focus feels to drives but that engine needs more power.

Its a 1.6 tdi which I am sure can produce a hell of a lot more power if it was not for emissions.

I see companies like superchip boast 20 or 30 more HP with an add on box or remap.

Would Ford be able to detect a mod on its service?

And why are new cars engines so fecking bouring these days! If I want a nice bit of power I need another 10K by the looks of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Most of those boxes just trick the car into running rich. Not worth it. I know the newer Astras are locked down meaning a remap involves a lot more than a laptop and rolling road.

There's a 2 litre 150bhp Focus now too.

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/ford/focus/used-2015-151-ford-focus-zetec-s-2-0-kilkenny-fpa-150214259906762020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

Budget of 23k with scrappage and PCP finance

The 150 version lifts the price from 23k to 27k

Priced out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Use the attach option when posting if you want to add a file.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

Im still deciding on what new car to buy. Its between the new astra which has 130hp and the new focus which has 100hp.

I love the way the focus feels to drives but that engine needs more power.

Its a 1.6 tdi which I am sure can produce a hell of a lot more power if it was not for emissions.

I see companies like superchip boast 20 or 30 more HP with an add on box or remap.

Would Ford be able to detect a mod on its service?

And why are new cars engines so fecking bouring these days! If I want a nice bit of power I need another 10K by the looks of it.

I think its a catch 22 situation with buying a new car and remapping it/superchipping it.
    I have heard that if they do a software download due to an update (in a service) you can lose your remap.
    I dont know if they can detect a remap but if they can it would definately void a warranty.
    Regarding superchips,at another poster says a lot of the cheaper ones trick the car into running rich, a good bit of research would need to be done with them.

I drove a new focus 1.6 diesel for a few weeks 3 months ago. two things i found annoying were the lack of power and the gear ratios on the 6 speed gearbox. The car wanted you to be in 6th gear at 60kmph. It was an aweful lot of clutching to get to 60kmph

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Superchips bluefin? Load/unload/reload your standard/performance map depending on the day?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Most of those boxes just trick the car into running rich. Not worth it. I know the newer Astras are locked down meaning a remap involves a lot more than a laptop and rolling road.

There's a 2 litre 150bhp Focus now too.

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/ford/focus/used-2015-151-ford-focus-zetec-s-2-0-kilkenny-fpa-150214259906762020

Something fishy going on there.

Focus Zetec S isn't available here. Nor is that 150bhp 2.0TDCI engine.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Superchips bluefin? Load/unload/reload your standard/performance map depending on the day?

Bluefin would work but he'd be better off with a 115bhp version of the engine to begin with. Bigger turbo and injectors.

p.s. Why would he need to change the map? To avoid voiding the warranty or for insurance reasons? Either of those reasons is at best dodgy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Bluefin would work but he'd be better off with a 115bhp version of the engine to begin with. Bigger turbo and injectors.

p.s. Why would he need to change the map? To avoid voiding the warranty or for insurance reasons? Either of those reasons is at best dodgy.

Bring car to dealer. Dealer has some TSB or other that requires a firmware upgrade. Remapped values are returned to stock values plus whatever minor tweak was part of TSB.

And, not applicable here but...
    On a petrol you might be happy enough to have it mapped at the weekend?

Tis only a suggestion like. I don't think there is a bluefin available for that engine if it is brand new anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Something fishy going on there.

Focus Zetec S isn't available here. Nor is that 150bhp 2.0TDCI engine.

This is brand new with kph speedometer:
    http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/Ford/Focus/2.0-TDCI/139514236463926630/

bazz26 wrote: »

No sign of that model nor engine on www.ford.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

Why not see if Mountune do a kit for it, it can be done in UK Ford dealerships and wont effect warranty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

Ended up buying a new Golf with a bit more power anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Congrats, well wear. Are Ya smiling from ear to ear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 marko_eire

Hi Lads,

I've been sucked into the remapping Dilema!!:D i've a 08 Chrysler 300 SRT design Great car but can take some time to give you the umph you want if the your not in the right gear (autobox of course) i've been doing a bit of digging on the 300c forums but there all uk based boffins i've never heard of ... i've since googled for some irish remapping places and emailed them querying what gains i could expect to get from my 3.0 V6 it's at 218BHP with 510 Nm of troque (from what i've read online) standard response i've got is 40BHP with 70NM of troque is this a big gain ? i don't want a chip as it don't want to just trick my engine into dumping more fuel etc... i'm looking for a rolling road remap with proper power / fuel gains not expecting too much on the fuel size given the size of the beast but anything would be welcomed :). if anyone has had a good experience with a remapping crowd it would be great to get some feedback.

thanks in advance

Marco !

The 300C uses a Merc diesel engine afaik. Joe Power in tdr.ie remapped my old VW diesel and is highly regarded. Went from 140bhp to 177bhp at the flywheel on his dyno. He is based in Rathcoole just outside Dublin.

Yeah I seen his name mentioned on the forums and sent him a request via his website your correct it's a merc engine the same as the cls 320 afaik ! I'll wait and see who gets back to my queries so is 40bhp and 70Nm of torque noticeable especially in a car this size :0

You are better off ringing or calling into him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

As above , Joe is regarded as the best in Ireland by many. Terrible at responding to e-mail , call him..

will do lads thanks i've been waiting for a email response the above explains why i hadn't got one !!

just tried calling think he might be on hols the number has that weird dial tone....

much better on the phone lads he literally just text me straight after missing the call ! any other recommendations than TDR ? or is it best to go with this guy ?

Martin in Autoremap.com is other guy that comes to mind.

Cheers pal I sent those guys a mail earlier aswell just waiting to hear back

Again your better off ringing these guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

is the 1.6tdi engine the OP is on about not that PSA 1.6 that needs to be babied to not explode ?

If so I wouldn't touch it with a remap and change the oil 100km before its due.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

is the 1.6tdi engine the OP is on about not that PSA 1.6 that needs to be babied to not explode ?

If so I wouldn't touch it with a remap and change the oil 100km before its due.

The ford/psa 1.6tdci is a good engine. It's biggest fault is it simply does not tolerate poor servicing. My wife has a chipped 110hp 1.6tdci that Joe waved his magic wand on it a few years ago and the dyno stated 130hp. Quick little car and gives no trouble.

Ford/PSA changed the head on it around 2011 from 16v to 8v in two different tunes 95 and 115. These are a lot more immune to poor servicing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

As was said already if a software update is carried out for whatever reason it will wipe your upgrade.

With Ford anyway you can get a pcm upgrade to up the bhp not sure what extra power you get but maybe worth looking into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

mullingar wrote: »
    The ford/psa 1.6tdci is a good engine. It's biggest fault is it simply does not tolerate poor servicing. My wife has a chipped 110hp 1.6tdci that Joe waved his magic wand on it a few years ago and the dyno stated 130hp. Quick little car and gives no trouble.

Ford/PSA changed the head on it around 2011 from 16v to 8v in two different tunes 95 and 115. These are a lot more immune to poor servicing.

making it completely useless to the irish punter and almost worthless second hand. Im sure your wifes car will be grand but pre 2011 cars with that engine id avoid unless you bought it new or it has stamps for every service done not a single km over the line.