Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bus and Truck Licenses (C & D | Or CD)

• 24-03-2015 9:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭

Hi Folks,

Here I am again with some questions that I think seem silly but don't seem to have clear answers about.

It's in relation to the Bus and Truck theory tests.

In the past few months I've recently passed my driving test for my B license and I am now fully qualified on the road motoring away as confident as ever.

However, this wasn't my stopping point when I planned on passing my test.

I'm a qualified EMT and I really want to get into Paramedic training but most courses for Paramedics if not all require you to have a C1 license on entry and require you to have a D license before you are offered employment.

So the question poses:

Which test do I apply for?

There are 3 categories.

C: Truck
    D: Bus
    OR
    CD: Bus and Truck

Do I have to do the C or D license before I go for the CD license or can I kill 2 birds with 1 stone and go straight for the CD?

Thanks for any information on this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,849 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

I think you're mixing up the Theory Tests with licence categories.

There is a C Theory Test and a separate D Theory Test or you can do the combined CD Theory Test which covers you for both. You can also do what's called a Bus or Truck module test which is a shorter theory test which you can take within two years of doing the C or D theory test. So there are two ways to get the theory test for c and d.

There is no CD licence.

You do the C practical test and the D practical test separately.

Hope this makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭TomJoe Wallace

But can you go straight for the CD?

Do you not have to get a C or D Theory passed before you try for the CD... That's what I gathered from the way it was layed out on the site but I was unsure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭westgolf

You need the theory test done before you do the practical test, they will ask for the proof letter.

As a paramedic you only need to do the C1 which is easier to do. Its typically a ford transit with a box/body or luton body, not the full truck set-up

Westy

westgolf wrote: »
    You need the theory test done before you do the practical test, they will ask for the proof letter.

As a paramedic you only need to do the C1 which is easier to do. Its typically a ford transit with a box/body or luton body, not the full truck set-up

Westy

Oh I know I have to the theory test. That's a given.

Funny you should said that the reason I'm doing it is because of the Paramedic requirement.

But I think by the end of a Paramedics course you also need to have a D License as well before offered employment. I read that somewhere anyway.

Yeah I knew I read it somewhere:
    What qualifications do I need to become a Paramedic?
    The entry criteria are under review presently. The last entry criteria required that Candidates must meet the following requirements;

Be the holder of full clean C1 driving licence (no restrictions) Paramedic students will be required to obtain a full D1 driving licence prior to being offered employment, following paramedic qualification.
    Have a good standard of education. Potential students will be required to hold a minimum of 5 passes, including maths and a science subject, at leaving certificate pass or honours level. Secondary Education from other countries equivalent to the above may be considered.
    Be of good health and may be required to pass a fitness test
    Successfully complete an entrance aptitude test
    Successfully complete a competency based interview process
    Receive a satisfactory rating in an occupational health screening assessment
    Receive clearance from the Garda Vetting Unit

I have everything in the bag really except for the C1!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭maniac2000

The C driving test and D driving test are 2 separate driving test that are done independently of each other.

Both the C and D driving licence categories come in 2 forms.

C & C1
    D & D1

the difference between the C1 and C are weight and size (brennans bread truck (C1) vs rigid HGV truck used by delivery companies etc (C))
    the difference between the D1 and D are weight and size also (mini-bus (D1) vs Coach(D))

now if you are going to sit a truck test I would suggest trying the category C test (larger rigid HGV) simply because it's more beneficial if your spending money on lessons etc as the only difference is a bigger sized truck than the C1 category.

if you are going to sit the bus test then the comparison is a lot bigger than the example above for category C. The difference is a mini-bus vs a bus eireann coach. So perhaps the mini-bus category of D1 will do the trick.

If you have Category C license then you are allowed to drive the C1 sized vehicles also. This goes for the D and D1 categories also.

hope this helps explain the difference in categories.

Max

maniac2000 wrote: »
    The C driving test and D driving test are 2 separate driving test that are done independently of each other.

Both the C and D driving licence categories come in 2 forms.

C & C1
    D & D1

the difference between the C1 and C are weight and size (brennans bread truck (C1) vs rigid HGV truck used by delivery companies etc (C))
    the difference between the D1 and D are weight and size also (mini-bus (D1) vs Coach(D))

now if you are going to sit a truck test I would suggest trying the category C test (larger rigid HGV) simply because it's more beneficial if your spending money on lessons etc as the only difference is a bigger sized truck than the C1 category.

if you are going to sit the bus test then the comparison is a lot bigger than the example above for category C. The difference is a mini-bus vs a bus eireann coach. So perhaps the mini-bus category of D1 will do the trick.

If you have Category C license then you are allowed to drive the C1 sized vehicles also. This goes for the D and D1 categories also.

hope this helps explain the difference in categories.

Max

Brilliant so if I sit the highest category it'll knock out the lower catergories when you get your license?

I think I get it now.

That would be much handier down the line then if I do that rather than having to go through the categories 1 by 1 down the line.

Brilliant so if I sit the highest category it'll knock out the lower catergories when you get your license?

I think I get it now.

That would be much handier down the line then if I do that rather than having to go through the categories 1 by 1 down the line.

exactly!

if you pass the C driving test and can drive a car then the D1 minibus will be a walk in the park!

exactly!

if you pass the C driving test and can drive a car then the D1 minibus will be a walk in the park!

Great! Thanks for all the info!
    Guess I'll be applying for the C then.

Next stop Paramedic. YEAH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭sjb25

Oh I know I have to the theory test. That's a given.

Funny you should said that the reason I'm doing it is because of the Paramedic requirement.

But I think by the end of a Paramedics course you also need to have a D License as well before offered employment. I read that somewhere anyway.

Just so you know those of us on the paramedic panel at the moment have been told we will not require D1 at end of internship......
    Now obviously that's for us and may change but I wouldn't go mad getting it
    You will need C1 before recruitment or you won't even get an aptitude test tho

sjb25 wrote: »
    Just so you know those of us on the paramedic panel at the moment have been told we will not require D1 at end of internship......
    Now obviously that's for us and may change but I wouldn't go mad getting it
    You will need C1 before recruitment or you won't even get an aptitude test tho

Really? Seems a bit strange seeing as it's been a criteria as far as I remember...

But if the C1 covers the Emergency and Intermediate care ambulances I'm not sure sure what other vehicles they need to drive exactly?

Oh yes, I know that for certain but I'm not 100% sure if I'm going train here either. It really depends on how the Paramedic scene is starting to look here.

Although it would be spectacular if I could train with the HSE I dunno what there availability in the near future. However, I'd rather not do it the college route that's currently starting to open up as the way I've been trained up to EMT Level has probably be a lot better than any college education I've ever gotten.

Really? Seems a bit strange seeing as it's been a criteria as far as I remember...

But if the C1 covers the Emergency and Intermediate care ambulances I'm not sure sure what other vehicles they need to drive exactly?

Oh yes, I know that for certain but I'm not 100% sure if I'm going train here either. It really depends on how the Paramedic scene is starting to look here.

Although it would be spectacular if I could train with the HSE I dunno what there availability in the near future. However, I'd rather not do it the college route that's currently starting to open up as the way I've been trained up to EMT Level has probably be a lot better than any college education I've ever gotten.

They are removing the D1 requirement altogether from what I have been told. The HSE emergency ambulances are category C so im not sure why they only want C1. it's always been a C licence requirement for previous student paramedic applications. D1 is for their mini-buses

I thought HSE Ambulances were C1?
    Not too bad if they are removing the D though. An expense less for the time being.

I thought HSE Ambulances were C1?
    Not too bad if they are removing the D though. An expense less for the time being.

I have driven similar ambulances and required a C licence myself so that's why I was under the impression their ambulances are the same licence. I stand to be corrected.

I'm on the National ambulance service student paramedic panel and we have been told by email it won't be required anymore I have it so doesn't matter either way to me

Yes ICVs and emergency ambulances are all C1 it was d1 for some of the older ambulances and minibuses but they are mostly gone from the fleet

A paramedic recruitment in the near future is doubtful they are up to about 70 on our panel used there is around 150 people on the panel so it will be next year I'd say have a look over here for more info https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056918256/63/#post94812500

I'm on the National ambulance service student paramedic panel and we have been told by email it won't be required anymore I have it so doesn't matter either way to me

Yes ICVs and emergency ambulances are all C1 it was d1 for some of the older ambulances and minibuses but they are mostly gone from the fleet

A paramedic recruitment in the near future is doubtful they are up to about 70 on our panel used there is around 150 people on the panel so it will be next year I'd say have a look over here for more info https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056918256/63/#post94812500

That gives me loads of time anyway to get my arse in gear and get this C so.
    I've been talking about going to train since I've become and EMT, bout time I make some tracks!

I know a couple of lads on that panel and they have all taken up employment in other emergency services and defence forces. you would be surprised how many people have 'moved on' but yeah it won't be advertised again this or early next year at least.

That gives me loads of time anyway to get my arse in gear and get this C so.
    I've been talking about going to train since I've become and EMT, bout time I make some tracks!

Just make sure you meet all the other requirement also as in leaving cert etc you'll get al info from that link to the thread on here also rumours at the moment of an EMT recruitment soon but that's just rumour

I know a couple of lads on that panel and they have all taken up employment in other emergency services and defence forces. you would be surprised how many people have 'moved on' but yeah it won't be advertised again this or early next year at least.

Agreed a lot of people not taking up places but on the flip side not many classes going on 2 so far this year and that's the most since 2013

Yeah, it's a tough job to get into it especially with all the interest but people gotta be patient (No pun intended)
    Just make sure you meet all the other requirement also as in leaving cert etc you'll get al info from that link to the thread on here also rumours at the moment of an EMT recruitment soon but that's just rumour

Yeah I meet all the rest of the requirements I can currently anyway.
    I've heard a few mentions of this EMT, Paramedic recruitment floating around so it quite possibly could be in the works. However, rumours are called rumours for a reason until confirmed so I won't count my chickens just yet!

Yeah, it's a tough job to get into it especially with all the interest but people gotta be patient (No pun intended)

Yeah I meet all the rest of the requirements I can currently anyway.
    I've heard a few mentions of this EMT, Paramedic recruitment floating around so it quite possibly could be in the works. However, rumours are called rumours for a reason until confirmed so I won't count my chickens just yet!
    Exactly and also you don't need CPC either if you are wanting to save money on tests etc you don't require it for emergency vehicles just explain to the RSA why you want the licence and they will except you from the CPC part of the test

Oh I did not know this.

And here's me thinking that CPC might be a pain in the arse. That's great!

I sat my C driving test last february and I wasn't asked once for CPC. I found it very odd. I just applied for the test and took it. no questions asked at all but yeah as an emergency driver your exempt.

How many people do the HSE have in each paramedic recruit class?

Oh I did not know this.

And here's me thinking that CPC might be a pain in the arse. That's great!

Yep you don't need it now unless in the meantime you wish to use the liecence to get a job while you wait for the paramedics then you would need it but if you are just getting it for the ambulance service you don't need it I did both my C and D1 without CPC saved a lot of time and money but obviously I can't work as a truck or minibus driver but I don't need to

How many people do the HSE have in each paramedic recruit class?

Depends realy last year had 11 as the defences forces took up rest of the places class that started last Monday had 18 and a class that is starting in May has 28 it has normally been around 25 in the past tho

I sat my C driving test last february and I wasn't asked once for CPC. I found it very odd. I just applied for the test and took it. no questions asked at all but yeah as an emergency driver your exempt.

I was asked did I want CPC as I didn't ask for it explained why was no problems

Yep you don't need it now unless in the meantime you wish to use the liecence to get a job while you wait for the paramedics then you would need it but if you are just getting it for the ambulance service you don't need it I did both my C and D1 without CPC saved a lot of time and money but obviously I can't work as a truck or minibus driver but I don't need to

Well I currently have a full time job and I don't ever think I'll need it in that case to be fair (I'm qualified in Web Development so my B License does me fine)

Is there much work between getting the actually theory test done and the actual license.

Do you think I'd need a load of lessons or just a few seeing as I already have the know how of driving already?

Well I currently have a full time job and I don't ever think I'll need it in that case to be fair (I'm qualified in Web Development so my B License does me fine)

Is there much work between getting the actually theory test done and the actual license.

Do you think I'd need a load of lessons or just a few seeing as I already have the know how of driving already?

Everyone is different. Driving a car is one thing but driving a truck can be a challenge for some given the sheer size and the split shift gearbox can be awkward for people if they have never used one. My advice would be book 2 lessons and gauge it from there. your lessons will be in 2 1 hour lessons done back to back. your instructor will have a fair idea of how well you cope.

Once you get you're theory done just apply for test and I got 5 lessons and a pre test and passed first time for both my C test and D1

Everyone is different. Driving a car is one thing but driving a truck can be a challenge for some given the sheer size and the split shift gearbox can be awkward for people if they have never used one. My advice would be book 2 lessons and gauge it from there. your lessons will be in 2 1 hour lessons done back to back. your instructor will have a fair idea of how well you cope.

I guess it's down to the individual so. I'll have no fear in doing it anyway and I pick up things pretty quickly so I'll definitely grab a lesson or 2 after the theory test is done.
    Once you get you're theory done just apply for test and I got 5 lessons and a pre test and passed first time for both my C test and D1

How much are lessons these days do you lads know?

Also would any of ye know where I could get a copy of the book or CD?
    I've only ever seen easons to the B License DVD and book but never seen the truck one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,123 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I've only ever seen easons to the B License DVD and book but never seen the truck one.

Library. The book has all sections for the different classes, or it least it did when I did them a good few years ago

I guess it's down to the individual so. I'll have no fear in doing it anyway and I pick up things pretty quickly so I'll definitely grab a lesson or 2 after the theory test is done.

How much are lessons these days do you lads know?

When I did mine it was €100 a lesson