Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New tractor advice

• 22-03-2015 3:30am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 560 ✭✭✭

Im looking for a new tractor, 170hp minimum needs to be reliable any suggestions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

I like the Puma cvx. Resale values may be a bit of an issue...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

As above, maybe new duetz or claas wouldn't be interested in others of same level.
    Big 3 need to be doing ALOT of earning hours to justify.
    Write out what you want tommorow, and what you'll want in 5 years also.

Blackgrass wrote: »
    As above, maybe new duetz or claas wouldn't be interested in others of same level.
    Big 3 need to be doing ALOT of earning hours to justify.
    Write out what you want tommorow, and what you'll want in 5 years also.

Deutz look ok but shyte dealer backup here.

Dawggone wrote: »
    Deutz look ok but shyte dealer backup here.
    Depends, days of every town having machinery dealer of some sort is long gone. Our guys are at least 90mins away and always on call, will drop off supplies like filters on way past just give a little notice etc.. more concerened of if machine does go down and needs sorting how fast or will they be able to supply replacement. Deere dealer here only has 3/4 guys any good out of 9 rest are just computer says no/bolt a new part on spanner men.

Blackgrass wrote: »
    Depends, days of every town having machinery dealer of some sort is long gone. Our guys are at least 90mins away and always on call, will drop off supplies like filters on way past just give a little notice etc.. more concerened of if machine does go down and needs sorting how fast or will they be able to supply replacement. Deere dealer here only has 3/4 guys any good out of 9 rest are just computer says no/bolt a new part on spanner men.

The standard of mechanics here is atrocious. As you say....computer men that bolt on new parts.
    Massey main dealer did me for €1100 for an air filter problem. End of Massey for me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

Flood wrote: »
    Im looking for a new tractor, 170hp minimum needs to be reliable any suggestions?

Out of the box New, or new to you?

What do you plan to use it for?
    How many hours will it get used a year?
    What type of transmission, lift and other extra spec do you need?
    What do you have at the moment? What machines do you prefer?
    What's your budget ( max repayment per month over term of lease)?
    What are your local dealers like, any good finance offers?

Like the other say it depend on what you want it for? Personally I do like NH and Case. FIL has a Puma 190 with CVT for the tillage and it's a great machine, very simple to use and he has found it very reliable.

Lots of JD round here but they are expensive and plenty of lads moving away from them. Claas have been making big inroads to the local tractor market but mostly cos they have very good finance offers and it works out well when buying new and changing after a few years (a bit like people who buy new fiat cars). I not sure they will be great machines in 10-15 years but if your only using them new and have a good dealer back up and warranty then it makes perfect sense.

Massey, NH, JD all have very good resale value so would make more sense if you are buying outright and plan to keep for years. If your looking at a lease deal the look at how much you are prepared to spend per month to have a new-ish tractor all the time. This would then point you in the direction of best value. Most manufacturers will have a warranty to cover any breakdowns over the 1st few years so no big repair surprises if the gearbox or engine stops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Night Nav

Personally I would be a Case or New Holland man but I would seriously think about looking at a Valtra also depends what dealers are nearby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

We hired out a class arion 640. 172 hp 50k box a great work horse and was good on the diesel only thing is there a john deere engine and the head gaskets are fond of going in them. Only thing cab suspension can be a bit bouncy. We're looking at buying a case ourselves seem like a good machine but very costly machine. Only tractor id stay away from are the new john deeres way over priced and are a let down aswell

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

Waste of time buying a 170hp tractor, that is an inbetween size. 200hp is a more desirable tractor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭johnny osbourne

get a Ford

get a Ford

Any model, they made a few 170hp ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭johnny osbourne

Any model, they made a few 170hp ones.

na good,

get a 7710

7710c.jpg

na good,

get a 7710

Wasting your time with a 100hp tractor, them days are long gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,224 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

anyone have a claas tractor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

whelan2 wrote: »

Me
    But its only a waste of 100 hp one
    Ps very happy with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

no , but know a few people that have them and mostly happy

heard of one where the back end went in bits, but have heard similar with jd , NH etc

orm0nd wrote: »
    heard of one where the back end went in bits, but have heard similar with jd , NH etc

Owners asking too much out of underpowered tractors no doubt, sticking a weight block on the front is no compensation for lack of power.

orm0nd wrote: »
    no , but know a few people that have them and mostly happy

clutch went on our new holland after something like 12 hours, got it done-for free- and still have tractor 15 years later, ye seems a good few around here have claas tractors and they seem happy enough with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

John deere 6170m

Ford stopped making tractors back in the early 90's. So for a new one you be looking at NH.

Old big HP fords 170 hp or higher

TW35 and TW30
    FW's 20,30,40 & 60
    8670, 8770, 8870, 8970

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Hershall

Have a claas celtis here v happy with it. Contractor near me would break iron and he has valtra tractors when they can stick him they'd do anybody!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Wasting your time with a 100hp tractor, them days are long gone.

Cheek of ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

Got one a couple of months back. Bought it new of the lads in Duleek. 100 hp with front loader delighted with it serious machine to pull. Had one issue on a saturday evening a few weeks back jubilee clip on hydralic feed to pump was'nt tight and pipe came loose so lost all hydralics(i had'nt a clue what was up..frightened yhe ****e outa me :). They had a man with us in 20 minutes without exagerating. Very very happy with it and the knowledge that there is a good back up service is great

we have alot of different garages in our area, claas,mf,case, john deere,new holland dont know whether thats a good or a bad thing but class seem to be doing well

You can't beat a good back up service

Noone can match Claas backup, by god you do pay for it though...

Reggie. wrote: »
    You can't beat a good back up service

Thats for sure. I reckon its probably the most important factor to take into account when buying!!

Amen to that

Was it an arion 410 ye bought ?.. what arr they like we are thinking bout a 430 arion

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Was it an arion 410 ye bought ?.. what arr they like we are thinking bout a 430 arion

No the Axos 340. New Arion looks the job!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 491 ✭✭Dozer Dave

With the way tractors are going and sizes of farms increasing the bigger tractor will be a better option, 170hp would be a bad buy. 200hp minimum, 240hp would be a very resalable tractor in a few years and a good investment.

Dozer Dave wrote: »
    With the way tractors are going and sizes of farms increasing the bigger tractor will be a better option, 170hp would be a bad buy. 200hp minimum, 240hp would be a very resalable tractor in a few years and a good investment.

Be a beast of a size tho

Well it all depends on what you plan on using it for 240 hp will still be a bit much cleaning out a yard in 10 years.

That said if your going to be using a big plough, or a 6m drill, 3000 gallon tanker, or driving a butterfly mower then 200hp+ makes sense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 491 ✭✭Dozer Dave

Reggie. wrote: »
    Be a beast of a size tho

A 35x would look like a beast in your small fields :pac:

They come with a nice price tag aswell 80k plus the vat for 1 with all the little mod cons

Is that "list"price or dealer quote David? There is a very big differance! Dont know why any of them bother with the list prices cos they are so far off what you can actuslly deal at.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Can't say I agree with you, there's no point spending x amount more money on a bigger tractor when you don't need it, 170hp will be a big awkward lump of a yoke as it is, There's lads around here using 170-180hp to pull 2500 gallon tankers, And we're on flat land. And the way machinery depreciates, A tractor would be the last thing I'd call a good investment.

Is that "list"price or dealer quote David? There is a very big differance! Dont know why any of them bother with the list prices cos they are so far off what you can actuslly deal at.

Well thats what i read on the journal anyway. We were talking to our local dealer about a new type. He even said himself their crazy money. Whats making them so costly are these new teir 4 or 5 engines i think. We are going looking at a linder tractor. There made out in austria seem like a solid machine