Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much as scrap

• 21-03-2015 11:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭

Further to my quest for a civic for herself , I'm left with the disposal of her old car - pretty sure shes cooked the engine

Its a 1997 saxo (130k miles) in undesirable lime green which shes owned for the last 9 years, thermostat stuck and she drove it with the overheating light on - tried to undo mess but it's blowing white smoke so I'd say the HG is goosed.

anyway it's got over 6 months tax on it so my rational is to scrap the yoke, get certificate of destruction and some money for scrap / tax refund

they look like they are only fetching 250 - 300 on donedeal anyway

To cut a long story short - Whats a saxo worth these days as scrap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

€90/100. Take the Battery out and try and sell it to them separately. Should make an extra €8/10 if you're lucky.

.....or stick it up on DD or €280 with a fairly honest description. It's worth the cost of the Ad to see if you can get €200 or so without the hassle of taking it to the Scrapyard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    €90/100. Take the Battery out and try and sell it to them separately. Should make an extra €8/10 if you're lucky.

.....or stick it up on DD or €280 with a fairly honest description. It's worth the cost of the Ad to see if you can get €200 or so without the hassle of taking it to the Scrapyard.

Cheers I'll ring round monday , Its still running and nearest scappies in a 5km radius - If I got 90 + 6 months tax refund (circa €150) I'll be happy enought with that - stuck a new backbox on it just before xmas so might pull that off as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭akura

A year ago i got €80 for a saxo collected (about 20 miles from scrap yard)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Flood

mgbgt1978 wrote: »

You are living in imagination land, €50-60 is all you get for scrap on that car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

Flood wrote:
    You are living in imagination land, €50-60 is all you get for scrap on that car.

i got 100 scrap for a Puma just after christmas. took the radio, battery and alloys and sold them seperately too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭jimbis

Ring Leon recycling in arklow. They'll give you a price over the phone and they'll come collect and hand you a cheque.
    I use them all the time, very handy.

Cheers lads I'll ring the local lad tomorrow and see what I can get, how I go

Just siphoned €35 worth of petrol out of it as well - so win win :D

Got €50 in the end - rang 2 places in dublin same price - had to use an authorised treatment facility in order to get the tax refund. Pulled the battery when I dropped it off as its only 1.5 years old.

Should get at least €150 back now from the tax office so win win :)

I will say the perception of French cars being muck isn't fair - She got the car over 9 years now , paid €2200 for it and other then a few electrical hiccups along the way it's been plain sailing until the thermostat stuck closed and she cooked the engine :pac: - bought with 60,000mls on it and scrapped with 130,000 mls - keeping on top of yearly oil changes is half the battle...but my god it's the most soulless drive imaginable..wouldn't pull socks off a deadman :P

I don't know how she stuck it so long. I've convinced her to get the 1.8 mk8 Honda Civic, I think she deserves it at this stage

Anyway thats my anecdote - Cheers guys :cool: