Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Learn to cycle?

• 21-03-2015 11:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47

Long time reader, first time poster!

I recently got a bike and since its been 20 or so years since I was on one, I only had to sit on it to realise I don't remember how to ride it :(:(

Is there anywhere in Dublin south / West that would be quiet enough to learn to cycle without getting in the way of pedestrians / cars / other cyclists?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Are you anywhere near Corkagh Park?

CI run it and you will see from the above link there is a calendar for users. However it's rarely booked for more than a couple of hours a day and people can simply turn up and ride around if no-one has it booked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Viriconia

I'm aware of it, I'm not sure where the entrances are or where the cycle track is in it - there's nothing on the calendar tomorrow so I might go up and fall off the bike a few times :D

Are there any areas in it where you can't cycle?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

There is a dedicated tarmac cycling circuit. You can see it on google maps if you check out the satellite photos

EDIT: Best to go round anti-clockwise as that's the way it is raced and there may be a handful of other riders there

Beasty wrote: »
    There is a dedicated tarmac cycling circuit. You can see it on google maps if you check out the satellite photos

EDIT: Best to go round anti-clockwise as that's the way it is raced and there may be a handful of other riders there

I don't quite know what I'm looking at but I'll find out I guess - I should probably wear L-plates tomorrow for the sake of everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭DanDublin1982

Viriconia wrote: »
    I'm aware of it, I'm not sure where the entrances are or where the cycle track is in it - there's nothing on the calendar tomorrow so I might go up and fall off the bike a few times :D

Are there any areas in it where you can't cycle?

Its the entrance just off the n7 that's nearest the cycle track. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Probably a little late now but I'd have had an hour or two to spare this afternoon, I'm coming off a week of mostly nights so I'm resting today.

Portmarnock/Dublin 13 area.. Btw Father Collins park at Clongriffin is almost ideal, lots of green space and when you're up to speed there's a one km cycle path and rarely too many pedestrians to kill :pac:

Decided to go to the Phoenix park - within 4 minutes I was tsking at people walking on the cycle track and shaking my head disapprovingly!

Didn't kill anyone, myself included, and I didn't fall or anything so we'll call it a win, few more practice runs and I might actually chance cycling to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭HivemindXX

I recently got a bike and since its been 20 or so years since I was on one, I only had to sit on it to realise I don't remember how to ride it :(:(

I think you will find it comes back to you very quickly. If I was you I'd stay off the roads for a bit since cars will probably make you nervous but any relatively quiet off road cycle path should be fine.

What I mean is that a busy route at the height of commute time is not ideal but you are very unlikely to disrupt anyone if there are only a few people, on foot or bike, about. At the weekend most off road cycle paths should be fine.

If I'm approaching someone who is clearly wobbly I just give them an extra wide berth, even if this means getting on to the road to do it. If you feel you are losing control just brake and put your foot down. The few times I've taught anyone this is what I try to drill in to them, if you feel things are going wrong just brake, stop and get your confidence back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 41 EIREX

Long time reader, first time poster!

Is there anywhere in Dublin south / West that would be quiet enough to learn to cycle without getting in the way of pedestrians / cars / other cyclists?

Office parks on a Sunday morning can be good too if there is one close, that or the cycle path down beside the Grand Canal in Lucan heading towards Clondalkin.

Went out to Corkagh park during the week, few runners on the bike track so I was a bit nervous about hitting one of them, they're very fragile looking!

Bike wasn't feeling right and gears seemed to be jumping / slipping - anyway at one point I was going quite fast,(all comes back to you very quickly doesn't it), changed gears and there was an almighty clang and the derailleur was stuck in the spokes :(

I managed to free it up so I could at least wheel it back to the car, back out to Halfords.

I've had it back there as many times as I've cycled it, it's all fixed now again so I'm hoping to head out somewhere tomorrow if the wind dies down a bit.

Anyway this cycling stuff is great craic, can see myself getting addicted again.