Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Choosing 2nd Subject for PME

Options
  • 21-03-2015 10:34am
    Registered Users Posts: 48

Hi - I'm hoping to do the PME with Hibernia in September. I have a degree and Masters in Business which is OK by the Teaching Council so that will be my first subject.

In relation to my second subject, I have a full degree in French (three years) but this was done via distance through the Open University so it doesn't comply with the literature requirement and also the minimum of three months spent abroad (I now have 3 children so the latter is not possible for me).

In all honesty my French is OK but certainly not great and far from fluent (I am continuing in some study of French but without ever having lived there I doubt I will ever be fluent or as proficient as I should be to teach it to senior classes).

However as a second subject in the PME the only other option open to me is CSPE.

1. If you were me, which would you choose as the second subject - French or CSPE? I'd be concerned about my level of French for the interview and also throughout the PME and the teaching practice. However, the CSPE seems to be just an add-on and from the threads here I get the impression that as a qualification, it's not really a subject that is really valued.

2. If you did French through the PME - how did you find it?

3. If anyone has had to tag literature on to get TC approval - what courses did you do (I know there are some in Maynooth University but I'm not sure how many I'd have to do if I did in the future build up my French to TC requirements level).