Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lidl welcome to Charleville sign

• 19-03-2015 10:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭

Driving down to Cork the last day and I noticed that the Welcome to Charleville is Lidl welcome you to Charleville.
    So I can conclude that Cork has sold it's name to Lidl, Classy !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

We've been trying to hand Charleville off to Limerick for years now, they fockers don't want them either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

If only they'd take the whole damn county and relocate it to somewhere in Bavaria.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

6541 wrote: »
    Driving down to Cork the last day and I noticed that the Welcome to Charleville is Lidl welcome you to Charleville.

That's some conclusion. Charleville is one town in Cork; not the whole county. What would be wrong anyway with Lidl welcoming people to the town?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Same type of sign in Templemore.

razorblunt wrote: »
    We've been trying to hand Charleville off to Limerick for years now, they fockers don't want them either.

Charleville isn't the worst; now if anywhere wanted Buttevant....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Their sour dough loaf, so tasty. Goes really well with their Mackeral fillets.

Nom Nom Nom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Sure Cork sold its soul to the pinko anti-nuclear types years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Does this make you even more convinced Irish is in serious trouble now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

Cormac... wrote: »
    Does this make you even more convinced Irish is in serious trouble now?

Am very worried about Cork now.

How about you leave the worrying about Cork to those of us in Cork, cause let me tell you, we're having a fecking grand time of it down here. Loads of jobs, very little traffic, not much inner city violence and more. Now if we could just finally rid ourselves of the shackles of Charleville/Buttevant we'd be laughing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Maybe they just sponsored the sign?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Will Lidl be selling Cheesestrings?

bjork wrote: »
    Maybe they just sponsored the sign?

You with your common sense; no place in this thread.

To be fair now lads, there is nothing around the rest of the Country sponsored by companies or anything..... on an unrelated note, can anyone recommend a decent venue for a large concert or sporting event.... something stadium like.... but profit-agnostic.... no branding yanno?

Cormac... wrote: »
    To be fair now lads, there is nothing around the rest of the Country sponsored by companies or anything..... on an unrelated note, can anyone recommend a decent venue for a large concert or sporting event.... something stadium like.... but profit-agnostic.... no branding yanno?

i was gonna say Páirc_Uí_Chaoimh but wait that's closed. Cork is gone ta Fook ! Time to leave Cork I think.

Go N-éirí an Bóthar Leat - From SuperValu Fermoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

I am really worried the direction that Cork is taking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Have they cut it off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

The Peanut wrote: »
    Charleville isn't the worst; now if anywhere wanted Buttevant....

Buttevant is an ideal site for a EU pilot agglomeration levelling and native broadleaf afforestation scheme.

South? But we like it down here, it's all oceany

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Buttevant

Hehehehe. You said butt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Yes that contradiction always made me smile when I passed the sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

It's going around in circles somewhat at the moment. We need another rugby team to take the oars on the other side, then we can complete the mission of secession and rowing down by Morocco, biy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

If only they'd take the whole damn county and relocate it to somewhere in Bavaria.

Ah but sure Ireland would sink without a Cork ... like.

If only I knew how to put a pole up, Do you think Cork people would sell out there towns for a couple of German Euros ??
    Answer = yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

If only I knew how to put a pole up, Do you think Cork people would sell out there towns for a couple of German Euros ??
    Answer = yes

'Tis true forroo biy. After all, those Liddlyaldi things are to be found nowhere but in Cork, as well as VAG dealerships flogging 0% PCP to people who can't afford a wheelbarrow. :pac:

Answer = yes

You've clearly never met a Kerryman