Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I the crazy one? (Rude/Agressive Commuters)

• 19-03-2015 1:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

First time poster here, though I read this section all the time.

Situation #1
    I've been sick with cancer for 4 years though I'm just about on the mend now, body healing up from years of treatment, I still get a lot of the side effects from the meds. You'd not know I was sick to look at me per say other than being pale, wearing hats on warm days and maybe if you glanced at the booklets I sometimes carry to keep track of everything.
    I was on the Luas coming home today. I sat between the double doors in the disabled section because there was only 1 other seat available and it was boxed in against the wall. The nausea was killing me and those middle seats have the space to lean forward (Which helps get rid of the nausea). I leaned forward elbows on knees, started to read a book on my tablet with my earphones in. At the next stop out of the corner of my eye I see an elderly man get on, I begin to stand until the person in the opposite seat in the disabled section on the other side gets up, so there's a vacant seat now, so I stay put. The man shuffles over to my side between me and the girl sitting on my opposite seat and begins hammering on the window and yelling in a thick Manchester accent "see that!! what's that say?" (the 'give up this seat' sign). I silently point at the vacant seat in the same section. "NO! I wanna sit on THAT side (my side)". "It's the exact same thing" I say in an even tone. "NO I WANT THAT SIDE!". I roll my eyes, put my earphone back in and go back to my book pretending he does not exist, I'm not moving seats on pure principle, there is a vacant seat, if he chooses not to take it that's his problem.
    To my annoyance when he keeps repeating this in a tone that suggests he's some kind of wronged victim, the girl moves to the opposite side. I think by doing so she just taught him that he can bully someone into giving up their seat by yelling at them, and that he should do it again if, like a petulant 2 year old, he does not get the EXACT thing that he wants. Honestly are there any bloody ADULTS left in the world anymore?

Situation #2
    A few months ago I got on a tram that was about 50% empty. A guy got on, made a beeline for a student in a 4 seater who was frantically trying to organize notes, who had his bag on the seat next to him. He sat down, grabbed the guys bag and flung it to the ground. He just picked his bag back up...and as I watched in amazement the guy flung it to the ground AGAIN...this went on 4-5 more times until the guy finally kept his right arm on the bag, at which point the guy starts to wrestle it out of his grasp.

Situation #3
    Another time a guy had his feet up not on the actual seats but the plastic underneath them, a guy gets on and literally shoves them out of the way before saying a word to him, not even saying "sorry just wanna sit in there" like a normal person which I assume would have caused him to move. My first impulse if someone grabbed any part of me would be to deck them. It was not some knacker it was this middle aged business man with a west brit accent, which is what amazed me even more.

Am I the crazy one? I'd never dream of doing any of this
    I don't think that kind of behavior is acceptable in any of the three cases, regardless even of civility you never know when you're gonna do it to the wrong person. I think Irish people are far too polite with this stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

Those are the weirdos that use our transport system daily. Thankfully the majority of the people that trave are decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

What line? I'm guessing green?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Red surely..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,888 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Arc_Light wrote: »
    middle aged business man with a west brit accent,.

Yeah those Cornish people are well rude alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,998 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Two people pass each other or cut each other off while walking. "Sorry, mate, oops my mistake, you go first" etc.
    Person on public transport or in a vehicle?

YOU ****ING ****COCK WANKER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Arc_Light

It was the Green line between Dundrum and Cherrywood, we don't have junkies on the Green, just lots of settled traveler kids who don't go to school, or pay fares and roam the lines panhandling and loitering.

I had my first trip on the red line in a year the other day. This s-bag came up to me, he was probably 18/19 by his clothes but looked like someone well into middle age who doesn't use moisturizer or a facial wash : "heaaaarrrrrr bud have ye got a smoooke", I say "no sorry I don't smoke", "ye got any spare change for a few cigs?" "no" "ahhh yeh f____kin DO one eh yez has too (he flicks at the ucd crest on our bottoms with his fingers) all youz rugby lads are loaded give us a nooote even a 5er if you've no coins".
    I'm about to give another polite answer (ironic with me basically saying, in the other incidents, that people are too polite but I don't wanna start a fight with someone whos liable to pull out a blade and stab me) when my friend cuts across me "You've been told No , that's your final warning, now go away". I'm thiking oh no man don't I'm gonna be spending the night in a Garda station explaining away how this s-bag got beaten up....Jayo (or whatever his name was) reaches into his jacket pocket at which point mate shoves him sharply with the palm of his hand into his chest causing him to career backwards out the closing doors and onto his ass, the tram moving off before he gets his bearings.
    His (girlfriend?) looks in shock between my friend and him on the ground, getting off as the doors close "assault! DATS F--KIN ASSAULT (points at randomers on the tram) you saw that!! you sa---WITNESS! WITNESS! YOU CAN GO WITNESS" (tram takes off) To that point I was more worried than amused thinking he'd get back up charge onto the tram and this time get himself seriously hurt. But as soon as she started yelling 'you saw that' and 'witness' every SINGLE person in our section of the tram looked anywhere BUT your man on the ground, suddenly everyone was checking their messages or reading news on their tablet :P

I sometimes think I'd prefer a Jayo to the Green line, it's hard to decide which conversation is more annoying to listen to, Jayo and his 'moth' talkin about der latest couuuurt cassse and de joy or Sorcha talking about the diffrence between a late and a skinny latte and how she totally spilled hers in her Mini Cooper and loike TOTALLY needs to get a beverage holder cos it took Louisa loike an hour to scrub the stain out last time GAWD and she wanted to go to loike Dundrum to flirt with Conor who works in Hollister and is loike so totes hot loike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Most enjoyable post in C&T probably ever. :)