Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beers!

• 18-03-2015 3:04pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Howdy!
    Some of you know me, some of those wish they didn't....

But over on the sunny side of the street, Arcade & Retro Forum, we have meetups and a few bevvies, along with videogaming, including Nintendo and some other companies you've probably stuck your fingers in your ears and gone "LA LA LA, CAN'T HEAR YOU" when they've been mentioned.
    So, we've a Beers incoming, in my place, on the 4th of April, a Saturday, and I thought some of you Nintendo fans would enjoy a night out, you know, to meet actual people, instead of just anonymous folk behind a keyboard.

Anywho, if you are interested in coming along, bringing a controller or two and playing some games and talk sh1te, stick a post here and, closer to the date PM me for directions, should be a bit of craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

I'm all for this, but I'm gonna guess it'll be freaking miles away from Cork :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Just a few....
    Dublin....

But, I'm about ten minutes from the airport, so just the private jet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭gubbie

Gonna guess I'm a few miles away too... Bristol...

Would have loved! Sounds amazing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

gubbie wrote: »
    Gonna guess I'm a few miles away too... Bristol...

Would have loved! Sounds amazing :)

These things always sound awesome at the start, but before you know it you're signing a waiver that entitles a German cannibal to cook and eat your nethers. I'm not making that mistake again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭robman60

I might be able to attend, although I'm in Donnybrook and dependent on public transport! I'd definitely be up for some retro Mario games if they'd be on the agenda.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

They may well be there, I have my Famicom hooked up and ready to rock on my little PVM monitor, look superb on there.
    Also have pretty much every bit of hardware Nintendo made, including Virtual Boy.

We did have a very cool 2 GameCube set up via broadband adaptors, and hooked up to a pair of projectors in the garden. Then played 8 player Mario Kart Double Dash!
    Mental.
    Aside from Retr0 cheating his way to victory, again....

robman60 wrote: »
    I might be able to attend, although I'm in Donnybrook and dependent on public transport! I'd definitely be up for some retro Mario games if they'd be on the agenda.

Might be lifts.
    Check in with the Beers thread on the Arcade and Retro forum and see what's up, a few people drive over from Dundrum, or there might be a car coming from nearer the City centre. Of course getting home at 3am is your own shout!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I've read your newsletter and I am interested in a subscription.

Well, as long as people agree to be submitted to a search on their way out you are all welcome along.
    If anyone has a favourite SNES, Nes, N64 or other Ninty game bring it along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Just a few....
    Dublin....

But, I'm about ten minutes from the airport, so just the private jet!
    Well, as long as people agree to be submitted to a search on their way out you are all welcome along.
    If anyone has a favourite SNES, Nes, N64 or other Ninty game bring it along.

Feck it I'm getting the Train and I'm bringing Sunset Riders and Rock and Roll Racing! :pac:

A multitap and a couple of SNES controllers then as well!

But its always a good night.
    Often there's a play through of something awful.
    A trashy Batman game on the GC, Escape from Bug Island on the Wii, we had DDR on the PS and Gal*Gun on the PS3 recently as well.
    All good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Len_007

8 Player Double Dash is on my Bucket list!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭robman60

Len_007 wrote: »

Definitely up for that too. I haven't played in a few years but that game is excellent.

There's also a fair chance my roommate would come too if a lift is forthcoming from someone! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

Banjo wrote: »
    These things always sound awesome at the start, but before you know it you're signing a waiver that entitles a German cannibal to cook and eat your nethers. I'm not making that mistake again!

We know a song about that, don't we?

Len_007 wrote: »

It's pretty incredible, I had two projectors running side by side in the garden, two adhoc screens set up and lots of fun.
    Got a bit cold though!
    Might try it again later in the summer when its warmer.
    I am relying on others for the broadband adapters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Don't forget to post the Ciderman House Rules.
    Reminds me of a film. Goodnight, you donkeys of Kong, you kings of near the airport....

If you need a copy of No Mercy or Wrestlemania 2000 to stage a 40 man knockout-only rumble, I think mine still work. It turns out that the transition from mainstream Nintendo forum to Arcade n Retro really only requires that you get old, have a loft and can usually cover your mortgage with your pay cheque

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,591 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

They may well be there, I have my Famicom hooked up and ready to rock on my little PVM monitor, look superb on there.
    Also have pretty much every bit of hardware Nintendo made, including Virtual Boy.

We did have a very cool 2 GameCube set up via broadband adaptors, and hooked up to a pair of projectors in the garden. Then played 8 player Mario Kart Double Dash!
    Mental.
    Aside from Retr0 cheating his way to victory, again....

I was up before when you attempted that the first time, I remember something about having the wrong type of cable and it didn't work out, pity would have loved to kicked all your asses.

If you ever think about doing that again I might pop back up. Although I was very quiet the last time.

I only have rock n roll racing for the Megadrive left of my retro stuff though, do I still get to keep my membership card?

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    I was up before when you attempted that the first time, I remember something about having the wrong type of cable and it didn't work out, pity would have loved to kicked all your asses.

If you ever think about doing that again I might pop back up. Although I was very quiet the last time.

I only have rock n roll racing for the Megadrive left of my retro stuff though, do I still get to keep my membership card?

Still in to win!
    An appreciation of games regardless of era is all that is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Len_007

It's pretty incredible, I had two projectors running side by side in the garden, two adhoc screens set up and lots of fun.
    Got a bit cold though!
    Might try it again later in the summer when its warmer.
    I am relying on others for the broadband adapters!

I was very close to buying an adapter from the RAGE at one point, but figured I really would have little use of it.

Yeah, they have limited uses alright, but 8 player Double Dash is a good one.
    In fact, 4 Gamecubes can be linked and 16 player Double Dash is possible.
    Obviously, originally, this was envisaged to be four people locally playing with four other households doing the same, but 16 player MKDD being played on a local level would be insane, though more broadband adpaters would be required!
    I'm hoping to invest in one myself, once I can snag a bargain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭djsim101

I really should make an effort to meet some of ye this year. Wont make it up from Limerick this time but will try later in the year if ye will have me :)

The two projector setup sounds class man. Out of interest, did you going a 7 player Death Tank Zwei or 10 player Saturn Bomberman, now that would be local multi player heaven.

I can access Death Tank! Death Tank! Deaaaathh Taaaannnk! And I have Saturn Bomber man but no multitap or the needed controllers :(

However, bear in mind its this day week, so if anyone is coming pm me.

This is on on Saturday night, around 9pm in mine, a good crew from Arcade and Retro are coming.
    If anyone here is interested let me know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

This is on on Saturday night, around 9pm in mine, a good crew from Arcade and Retro are coming.
    If anyone here is interested let me know

Thread moved to After Hours

Myrddin wrote: »
    Thread moved to After Hours

Ha ha...
    You're a funny guy Myrddin...
    I like you.I think I'm going to kill you last...

Now, I'm sending the invite out again, to a Beers in my place.
    The night in question will be the 12th of September, two weeks from now, a Saturday night.
    Should be a blast.
    Plenty of games to play, and screens to play them on.
    It's the day after Mario Maker is out so we hope to have a copy on hand and some levels to get through.
    This is primarily a Arcade and Retro night, but Nintendo always features large in the proceedings, so you would be more than welcome.
    I live in North Co Dublin, so driving or a lift is essential, I'm afraid sleep overs aren't possible as I'm on duty the next day :(
    So, PM if you are interested, and I look forward to seeing you there.

Damn,
    Another beers night, lots of Super Mario Maker and only the Nintendo forum mod turned up from here.
    What's wrong with you people!
    Afraid of the scary outside??
    Anyways, good night.
    We'll be doing it again approaching Christmas.
    Might be something cool part of it too.
    I'll let you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,591 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Damn,
    Another beers night, lots of Super Mario Maker and only the Nintendo forum mod turned up from here.
    What's wrong with you people!
    Afraid of the scary outside??
    Anyways, good night.
    We'll be doing it again approaching Christmas.
    Might be something cool part of it too.
    I'll let you know.

I think you'll have to start organising a mini bus to your place. The Arcade and Retro(and Nintendo) beers boards users countrywide collection bus.

The name could possibly do with some trimming.