Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

concrete supplier Dublin 7/15

• 10-03-2015 4:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭

I'm looking to get 0.75 cubic metres of foundation concrete delivered in Dublin 15.

Can anyone recommend a small company to deliver this, its been years since i ordered concrete and the guys I used are out of business

thank you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

Very few companies will bring such a small amout, a metre would be minimum. You would mix that amount yourself in a half hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

sound, I just would not know the mix. its for foundation,
    I have the steel mesh

I'd need to know the amount of gravel, sand and cement I'd need to mix, doing it is not issue at all I just don't know the ratios.

if you could help there I'd appreciate it. I'd actually prefer to mix it myself anyway

Edit saw this mix

(1 cement :1.5 sand :3 stone/brick aggregate)

Does that look right?

If so I need to convert it to bags/weight so i can order it

If you had a 3/4 ton of aggregiate, half a ton of sand and a bakers dozen of cement bags you should be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

If you had a 3/4 ton of aggregiate, half a ton of sand and a bakers dozen of cement bags you should be grand.

Too much fannying around. Just order 1 mtr.

dodzy wrote: »
    Too much fannying around. Just order 1 mtr.

The op said he would prefer to mix it himself.

I understand ready mix is handier , but I can mix it in my own time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,878 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

Whats wrong with washed gravel by the tonne bag, at a volume ratio of 8 gravel to 1 cement, with some plasticiser in the mix and rent an electric poker vibrator for working it?
    To get the volume weight ratio just measure a tonne bag in the yard of some merchant.
    If u want it stronger then go 7 to 1.

When its in place keep it wet for a few days

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Stoner wrote: »
    I understand ready mix is handier , but I can mix it in my own time.

Understand. But I'm just thinking of the cost/time aspect too. All that material must cost close to the price of premixed. Plus you have to go to the hassle of collecting it.

got it done anyway. started at 830 finished by lunch, had to get another ten bags of gravel and three cement.
    used one of those hand mixers lidl had last month, it helped, as did the two lads that helped