Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recording someone without permission.

• 08-03-2015 7:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭

Today at work, a known thief came into the shop with a friend of his, both were immediately approached and asked to leave as they've been barred for stealing, harassing staff and customers. One of them is absolutely notorious for being a pest and every time they manage to sneak into the shop, it's a given something will be stolen unless they're kicked out immediately. Today however, they weren't leaving and I was given the task of getting them to leave.

Generally, I told them, 'You're barred, you're not allowed in the shop, please leave,' repeatedly. One of them suddenly yells out 'You can't call us a knacker!' and took out his phone and started recording me while the other was poking me, flicking my name badge and being, to put it simply, an absolute ****.

This country's great, fair and fantastic set of laws side with these little ****s and if you ask anyone, they can't do much more than order them out otherwise they'll take you to court. (Please note this former half of this paragraph is sarcasm). Eventually the manager in charge came in with the security manager of a nearby shop and he got them to leave.

Saying their barred is obviously doing no good and I'm starting to lose my patience and I don't know if I won't be able to stop myself from knocking one of them out. And I am seriously uncomfortable with them recording me like that.

What can I do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 nitpick man

next time they are in unawares , ask them to leave politely and have your manager present. you don't need to give a reason if its private property and don't go into details with them. no accusations to be made. short and sweet with them...if not comply ..call the garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Chaos Marine

We've done that before. The Gardai won't come unless we catch them stealing something.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Wwhoa there. Did you say that they actually touched you? Touched your badge and all? Ianal, so I have to ask, how is that legal??? Can they just put their hands on people like that whenever they want??! Do you have that on tape?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Chaos Marine

They're little bastards. Their entire families more than likely haven't done an honest day's work in their lives. I before talked to my god father, who's a Garda, he advised me to do nothing or I'll be in trouble. Even if they touch me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

What can I do?

If the pair come back again, I'd suggest that you call the guards, make a complaint of harassment, and ask the guards to apply for a court order barring them from coming into the shop again under s.10(3) of the linked legislation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

+1 on The Mustard's post above. There also does not need to be physical contact for an assault to take place. That said you probably know that these guys are unlikely to touch you (beyond being annoying).

Personally I'd fall to the ground screaming if I was poked again, but that's just me.

Having worked in retail for many years these issues were normally resolved only one way... but there we go.