Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham Coup D'Etat

• 07-03-2015 9:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭

Well lads, have been a long time reading the threads here and I wanted to try and give something back.

So, after a good day, I have a proposal but we need selections. So we need the experts and non-experts to select 4 hot pots that they believe will win out of the 27 Cheltenham races. Cut off for your 4 selections is 21:00 Monday. I will check who gets the most votes and place a €200 accumulator on the 4 horses. So it is the 4 horses with the most votes in 4 different races.

I will post a copy of the slip on the Thread and should it come in we can organise a knees up or alternatively if there are not enough people to attend the knees up we can try and do some good and present it to a charity (also subject to an unlikely vote should the bet be successful so probably don't need to go into this).

Just an idea for a bit of craic and to see what the ultimate Boardsie 4 horse accumulator is. For non racing people an accumulator is where you bet on 4 horses and the 4 horses have to win or the official definition is as follows....

An accumulator is a bet that combines four or more selections into a single wager that gains a return only when all parts win. The advantage of an accumulator is that winnings are much higher at the expense of increased risk, only a single selection need lose for the entire bet to lose.

So lets put it to the test and see if the sum of the parts is Aristotle was right... T.E.A.M. acronym—together, everyone achieves more.

I will post the results Monday evening...Good hunting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Morleystreet

So going with short price selections

1. Faugheen
    2. Annie power (assuming mares race)
    3. Coneygree (if rsa)
    4. Lieutenant colonel (assuming Annie in mares)

Though maybe the boardsie popular paint the clouds would be a better 4th pick, but will stick with above. I'm now going to have to do my own small accum on above just in case!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,326 ✭✭✭munster87

1. Annie Power (Mares)
    2. Don Cossack
    3. Un des sceaux
    4. Vautour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 JAORTA

great idea,delighted to hear you up a few quid.....
    1.ned buntline
    2.annie power
    3.black Hercules
    4.vautour
    good luck!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Cantonesque

I'll add my 4 and if any of the bookmakers want to offer us enhanced odds on our Final Four we will gratefully accept...

1. L'Ami Serge
    2. Faugheen
    3. Vautour
    4. Josses Hill

Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

Sire de girugy faugheen vautour silvinaco conti

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

1. Faugheen
    2. Un de Sceaux
    3. Annie Power
    4. Sire De Grugy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭hawkhead

1.Faugheen
    2.Sprinter Sacre
    3.Nichols Canyon
    4.Don Cossack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

1. Vatour (JLT)
    2. Annie Power (Mares)
    3. Un De Sceaux (Arkle)
    4. Coneygree (RSA)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,933 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

While I do support anything that is done for the benefit of charity, I am afraid you've missed the boat on this by a long way. A lot of the juice in the prices is already gone, but for the record, here's my €1 lucky 15 (e/w) that I feel has the best chance.

The Druids Nephew 14/1
    Salsify 12/1
    Jezki 6/1
    Lord Windermere 14/1

Have already posted about these horses in case anyone thinks I am after-timing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

You're going to get plenty of similar posts. Ie Vautour, Annie Power, UDS, Faugheen etc. 200 is a big outlay for an accum. If you're intent on doing it, would you consider 10 x 20 euro scums? Through in a few big priced ones. Either way it's unlikely any may win, but it may provide interest for the wee for huge returns

Maybe a few 10 e/w accums

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

Annie power
    Don cossack
    Faugheen
    Coneygree

You're going to get plenty of similar posts. Ie Vautour, Annie Power, UDS, Faugheen etc. 200 is a big outlay for an accum. If you're intent on doing it, would you consider 10 x 20 euro scums? Through in a few big priced ones. Either way it's unlikely any may win, but it may provide interest for the wee for huge returns

Maybe a few 10 e/w accums

Good suggestion but have too much on in work to rank selections on outsider and short priced accumulators.

To be honest the real value in the bet will come if a bookmaker comes on board and I live close to a PP, Boyles and Betpack so will get on to them when selections are finalised to see who will do the best special! The more people that make selections the better the special I would expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭zpehtsfd

Annie Power
    Don Cossack
    Paint the Clouds
    Windsor Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭DylanAFC

Coneygree
    Sire De Grugy
    Apache Stronghold
    Annie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

1. The druids nephew
    2. The young master
    3. Foxrock
    4. Sprinter sacre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Denman2008

1. Faugheen
    2. Paint the Clouds
    3. Sprinter Sacre
    4. Any Currency

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭BQQ

1. L'ami Serge
    2. Annie Power
    3. Sire de Grugy
    4. Nicholls Canyon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Robson99

1. Faugheen
    2. Un De Sceaux
    3. Sprinter Sacre
    4. Saphire Du Rheu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭qwabercd

1 Un De Sceuax
    2 Coneygree
    3 Apache Stronghold
    4 Top notch

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭The jock

These will win

1.Douvan (Supreme Novices)
    2.Jezki (Champion Hurdle)
    3.Roi Des Francs (Martin Pipe Hurdle)
    4.Value at Risk (Albert Bartlett)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭wicky9

1. Jezki
    2. Sprinter Sacre
    3. Don Cossack
    4. Silviniaco Conti

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Apollo_Creed

1. Un de Sceaux
    2. Annie Power
    3. Windsor Park (neptune)
    4. Beltor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭King_of_Kingz

1. Don Poli
    2. Silviniaco Conti
    3. Ned Buntline
    4. Stellar Notion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Pearlstone

All the best with this. Great to see you landed a touch on Saturday. My tuppenceworth.

L'ami Serge
    Jezki
    Glens Melody
    Blacklion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭YoungKhalifa

Apache Stronghold 6/1
    Monksland 14/1
    Pain Au Chocolat 20/1
    Caracci Apache 14/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭sonnky

My selections:
    1. Jezki- Champion Hurdle
    2. Martello Tower- Albert Bartlett
    3. Moon Racer- Champion Bumper
    4. Hidden Cyclone- Ryanair Chase

6435.00 are best price with William Hill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Keep it simple:

UDS
    Faugheen
    Annie
    Paint The Clouds

200 will get you over 5500, a nice gift for any charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Faugheen
    Annie Power
    Sire de Grugy
    Paint the Clouds

We are going well, 27 selections to date. Have been on to a few bookmakers with some suggestions so we will see what comes from this.... Fingers crossed and good luck to everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

1. annie power
    2. faugheen
    3. sire de grugy
    4. call the cops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 bobwp

General Principal
    Apache stronghold
    Beltor
    Djakadam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭rockycelt

Annie Power (Mares)
    Bordini (Bumper)
    Faugheen (CH)
    Coneygree (RSA)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,123 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Ned Stark
    Annie Power
    Saphire De Reu
    Rois Des Francs

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

1. Annie Power
    2. Don Poli
    3. Sprinter Sacre
    4. Vautour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

1. Annie Power
    2. Paint The Clouds
    3. Don Poli
    4. Ned Buntline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭tucker1971

1. Beltor
    2. Tarquin du sueil
    3. Lieutenant Colonel
    4. Road to Riches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭battser

1 - beltor
    2 - jetson
    3 - vino griego
    4 - Annie power

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Annie Power
    Jezki
    Don Cossack
    Vautour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Mgoraf

Don Cossack
    Silviniaco Conti
    Black Hercules
    Paint the Clouds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

This would be a yankee

1. Cause Of Causes
    2. Alaivan
    3. Coneygree (RSA) | Montaire (Plate)
    4. Duke Of Lucca

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

1. windsor park- neptune
    2. martello tower- albert bartlett
    3. southfield theatre- rsa
    4. business sivola- fred winter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭shamdrog63

1.Annie Power
    2. Don Poli
    3. Vautour
    4. Paint the Clouds

We have had 40 selections and it is tight at the top with the 1st 2 selections fairly nailed down while 1 vote separates 3rd to 8th. Should there be a tie the stake will be split to capture the 4th place ties.

Still no feedback from the industry with regards to any support so will spread the net a bit wider....

Some interesting quick facts.
    - No 2 selections are the same
    - Only 2 votes for Irish "Banker" Douvan
    - No votes for The New One
    - 40 selections generated a list of just 55 horses and despite this no selection is the same

I will post the final selections after 21:00 together with the full list and associated odds (PP) so that all the info is shared and users can see the top voted longer shots and not so fancied short shots...

So just 5 and half hours left to complete the Final 4 :)

So the final selections are dependent on the final decision tomorrow morning of Mark Bradstock depending on his stroll around the track in the morning. If Coneyygree goes in the Gold Cup, now looking likely, then it is a straight €200 accumulator at odds of 53.84/1 as follows;
    -Annie Power 4/6
    -Faugheen 5/4
    -Vautour 9/4
    -Don Cossack 7/2
    Returns 10,968.75

If Coneygree goes in the RSA then it is split 3 ways at 66.67 per stake between
    -Annie Power 4/6
    -Faugheen 5/4
    -Vautour 9/4
    -Don Cossack 7/2
    Returns 3,656.25

-Annie Power 4/6
    -Faugheen 5/4
    -Vautour 9/4
    -Coneygree 7/2
    Returns 3,656.25

-Annie Power 4/6
    -Faugheen 5/4
    -Don Cossack 7/2
    -Coneygree 7/2
    Returns 5,062.50

Will post the slips in the am

The final top 24 selection list was as follows with the remaining 31 votes for individual horses;
    Annie Power21
    faugheen12
    Vautour8
    Don Cossack8
    Coneygree8
    Paint the Clouds7
    Sprinter Sacre7
    Un De Sceaux7
    Sire De Grugy6
    Jezki5
    Don Poli4
    Silvinaco Conti4
    Apache Stonghold4
    Beltor4
    Ned Buntline3
    L'Ami Serge3
    Nichols Canyon3
    Windsor Park3
    Lieutenant Colonel2
    Black Hercules2
    The Druids Nephew2
    Saphire Du Rheu2
    Douvan2
    Martello Tower2
    Enjoy the Festival

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Best of luck with it, be nice if the forum could get this up. Fair play Cantanesque

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Fair play. Make sure you do the accum between 9-11 tomorrow when Annie and Faugheen will be at their biggest price. Bet365 biggest all runners so might be a good place

Hadn't time to shop around so bet is on as per docket attached and confirmed as follows;
    -Annie Power 4/6
    -Faugheen 11/10
    -Vautour 9/4
    -Don Cossack 7/2
    Returns 10,237.50

We won't be worrying about the odds if it comes in...

Best of luck to all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Best of luck Catonesque. I know the final tally spoke but still can't fathom how Don Cossack made it onto that slip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 JAORTA

jimjamcos wrote: »
    Best of luck Catonesque. I know the final tally spoke but still can't fathom how Don Cossack made it onto that slip.

unlucky caton,but a great idea nonetheless