Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Classy/ Stag.

• 06-03-2015 3:19pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4

Hey Guys I'm organising a stag in Cork for my buddy who's a graphic designer. He's not sporty in the least, a bit of a proud nerd/hipster in fact, and I'd would love some brainstorming help and ideas here to avoid the usual cliché ideas.
    That being said he expressed that he is perfectly happy with pints and Go-karting (not in that order). I'm looking for interesting ideas for games/activities to play in the pubs to keep everyone having a good time. I've been googling non-stop but been coming up blank.
    If it helps the guy loves his music,movies, video games,craft beers he's very laid back but I know he'd appreciate doing something a little different and creative.
    Really appreciate any tips what so ever.
    Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭D Hayes

For pubs and clubs, I'd recommend the Coal Quay area. Couple of micro-breweries around there. Rising Sons Brewery and the Vicarstown/BDSM/Roundy pubs close-by would probably be along the lines of hipster-ish in Cork. And then onto the Bodega night club.

Would probably be avoiding the more popular (but less hipster) Havana Browns night club on Washington St. Not too far away in either case, a 5 minute walk between both areas of the city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I'm looking for interesting ideas for games/activities to play in the pubs to keep everyone having a good time. I've been googling non-stop but been coming up blank.

Thats because you can't organise craic. It cant be artificailly inseminated into an event.
    Bringin out Star Wars monpoly in the pub is going to make very few people feel more comfortable, and probaly make many more uncomfortable.

Just because he isnt into sport and is a nerd/hipster, whatever that is, doesnt mean he isnt up for some fun. Go go-kart racing or claw pigeon shooting then go drink too many pints and bring him to a club with the loosest women. Like most people do.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Rube99 wrote: »
    Hey Guys I'm organising a stag in Cork for my buddy who's a graphic designer. He's not sporty in the least, a bit of a proud nerd/hipster in fact, and I'd would love some brainstorming help and ideas here to avoid the usual cliché ideas.
    That being said he expressed that he is perfectly happy with pints and Go-karting (not in that order). I'm looking for interesting ideas for games/activities to play in the pubs to keep everyone having a good time. I've been googling non-stop but been coming up blank.
    If it helps the guy loves his music,movies, video games,craft beers he's very laid back but I know he'd appreciate doing something a little different and creative.
    Really appreciate any tips what so ever.
    Thanks.

Would a weekend camping / hiking be to his liking? Granted you may want to wait a few months until the weather gets a bit warmer. You could do one day of hiking and pitch tents and have a campfire. Then the following day you could do something more traditional, such as the Go Karts or Paintballing etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Rube99

syklops wrote: »
    Thats because you can't organise craic. It cant be artificailly inseminated into an event.
    Bringin out Star Wars monpoly in the pub is going to make very few people feel more comfortable, and probaly make many more uncomfortable.

Just because he isnt into sport and is a nerd/hipster, whatever that is, doesnt mean he isnt up for some fun. Go go-kart racing or claw pigeon shooting then go drink too many pints and bring him to a club with the loosest women. Like most people do.

Thanks for that, he'd actually love Star Wars Monopoly, big board game lover. But I was thinking more of drinking games and such to keep the banter up while moving from pub to pub.

mzungu wrote: »
    Would a weekend camping / hiking be to his liking? Granted you may want to wait a few months until the weather gets a bit warmer. You could do one day of hiking and pitch tents and have a campfire. Then the following day you could do something more traditional, such as the Go Karts or Paintballing etc.

Thanks for that, a great idea! Any suggestions around Cork? Kinsale maybe?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Rube99 wrote: »
    Thanks for that, a great idea! Any suggestions around Cork? Kinsale maybe?

Not too familiar with the area unfortunately. This website offers some advice about trails http://www.irishtrails.ie/. Could be a few decent ones listed there.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

Middleton distillery is nice for a tour and a small tasting session.

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭poitinstill

this is a few pubs of same owner but most of genuine craic. http://www.corkheritagepubs.com/
    also the hi-b on oliver plunket st. is one of the most off the wall spots you will ever come across..no mobile phones/no cursing etc. the castle on south main st is also a good visit. its a pub caught in a time warp from the 1950's , womens toilets only added in last few years. dennehys on coal quay is a poets hot spot. go to these pubs and the craic will happen if you let it ( but dont try too hard its a natural thing)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,343 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

D Hayes wrote: »
    the Vicarstown/BDSM/Roundy pubs close-by

BDSM pub in Cork?

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭D Hayes

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    BDSM pub in Cork?

Yeah, next to the Vicarstown Bar.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,714 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Pubs
    abotts ale house, corner house, sin e and on along maccurtain street or down to bierhaus, franciscan well and accross to bodega or there abouts is a great pub crawl/

Sea safari and harbour tours, never done myself though.
    http://www.safari.ie/about.html
    What about non typical sports?

If ye coming from somewhere in Ireland and driving down or hiring a bus then go to Garretstown, inchadoney or inch for surf lessons is a great laugh, highly recomended.
    garretstown
    http://www.surfgtown.com/
    inchadoney
    http://www.westcorksurfing.com/
    inch
    www.swellsurfschool.ie

Inchadoney is slightly further but far nicer setting. Lunch / dinner /drink in Kinsale or Clonakilty after. Swell in inch do coasteering etc which is supposed to be a laugh if no waves. Basically you get dropped off somewhere jump off cliffs and make yere way along coast in and out of water back to the surf club.

water skiing
    http://www.waterskiireland.com/tow_rates.html

Colloseum on Mcacurtain street for pool / bowling etc.

http://www.kinsaleoutdoors.com/index.php

They transport you to lots of different activities.
    http://www.butlers-buses.com/cork-li...activities.htm

wall climbing
    http://www.mardykearena.com/climbingwall.cfm

Theres a good few paint balling options too, http://www.eastcorkadventurecentre.ie/contact.html

wouldnt be too far off from the swell surf school if ye wanted both. similarly i think theirs a place in kilbrittain between inchadoney and garretstown.

maybe check out this site before ye go http://www.whazon.com/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,343 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

D Hayes wrote: »
    Yeah, next to the Vicarstown Bar.
    An actual BDSM though? Do we have them in Ireland??

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,007 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    An actual BDSM though? Do we have them in Ireland??

Black Dog Saloon & Mezcalaria.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

Thanks Balmed Out! Great ideas!

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Nimfinkler

A friend of a friend organised a large meet up in hotel conference room to play board games for the stag daytime - easier than a pub room and they still had access to drinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

Ended up in this place before Christmas; a large complex.

http://www.mardyke.com/

Although the sports bar might not be your scene there is a giant jenga game there which is good fun with drink. My main recommendation though was for the Porterhouse Bar there; it has quite a large selection of craft beers. The best part though for us was its championship size shuffleboard table (only one in Ireland according to the website!) which is really good craic after a few pints, especially if there are some competitive lads there.

The overall tone of the Mardyke would not be classy but you could drop into the Porterhouse for a pint or two if you are about Cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Solid synopsis on the Mardyke from somebody living down that way

Ping pong is upstairs and somewhat away from the hustle and bustle, myself and a few mates have had a good laugh there on occasion. I wouldn't recommend downstairs or the woolshed but the Porterhouse has a nice vibe and is well worth checking out