Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car struggling to start and headlights flickering

• 28-02-2015 9:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭

Since the day I bought my car 5 years ago there has been a rattling/shaking sensation when the car is running and stopped. Luckily I have never had any problems with my car so far.

The last 2 times I started it (after 12+ hour periods) the engine rattled noticeably more and the headlights flickered a bit. It was grand after that on the road and when I started it up again in between jobs around town.

Any idea? A google search brings up a lot of alternator and battery problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Not trying to be too smart, but I'd love to know what your definition of 'problems' is, if your car has been rattling and shaking for 5 years!

What kind of car it is might help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Need to know the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Sounds a bit odd. Loose alternator? Have you checked the engine mounts, to make sure they are not knackered and needing replacing? You should open the hood and have someone else start her up to see if there is excessive movement. Maybe then you will see the problem. Locate the alternator and engine mounts first to check them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

pablo128 wrote: »
    Not trying to be too smart, but I'd love to know what your definition of 'problems' is, if your car has been rattling and shaking for 5 years!

What kind of car it is might help.

I literally have only had to bring the car in to a garage to get it's usual service and replace punctured tyres over the years. On a few occasions I've had passengers ask what the rattling is. It's very minor and since I've had no problems with it, I've never done anything about it.
    dgt wrote: »
    Need to know the car

2010 Seat Ibiza
    goz83 wrote: »
    Sounds a bit odd. Loose alternator? Have you checked the engine mounts, to make sure they are not knackered and needing replacing? You should open the hood and have someone else start her up to see if there is excessive movement. Maybe then you will see the problem. Locate the alternator and engine mounts first to check them out.

I haven't checked anything yet to be honest. I'll have a good look tomorrow.

I literally have only had to bring the car in to a garage to get it's usual service and replace punctured tyres over the years. On a few occasions I've had passengers ask what the rattling is. It's very minor and since I've had no problems with it, I've never done anything about it.
    2010 Seat Ibiza

Jaysus I assumed it was an auld yoke. I suppose it's too late now to go back to the main dealer to complain about the rattling.

Anyway, it could be as simple as a battery on the way out. Most motor factors would have a battery tester. I know Southside motor factors do anyway. Drop in and ask would they test your battery for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

Why are you trying to start the car with the headlights already turned on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

pablo128 wrote: »
    Anyway, it could be as simple as a battery on the way out. Most motor factors would have a battery tester. I know Southside motor factors do anyway. Drop in and ask would they test your battery for you.

Battery on the way out, wouldn't cause a lights flickering. At least not on it's own. There must be something else wrong.

tossy wrote: »

Why not?
    I've always done that as my lights kick on automatically when I turn on ignition.
    Except from a bit more stress on the battery, there isn't any disadvantage of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

^^^ constantly weakend battery stresses the alternator no ? could blow the alter rectifier if it has to always over charge the battery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭dieselbug

Is it petrol or diesel?

Seen as you bought it new I'm sure you must have bought it back for this problem, what did the dealer have to say about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

CiniO wrote: »
    Why not?
    I've always done that as my lights kick on automatically when I turn on ignition.
    Except from a bit more stress on the battery, there isn't any disadvantage of it.

I was always told you could blow your head light bulbs by doing that (the starter is drawing current away from the bulbs and when the starter stops there is a surge to the bulb)and it would also draw power away from the starter if the battery was low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭The Falcon

Check the earth connection from the engine.
    Just to clarify; this the earth from the engine to the chassis (some times called the earth strap).

9935452 wrote: »
    I was always told you could blow your head light bulbs by doing that (the starter is drawing current away from the bulbs and when the starter stops there is a surge to the bulb)and it would also draw power away from the starter if the battery was low

Well it's probably possible about the bulb being blown, and it surely puts more stress on the battery when starting, but still - It's extremely convinent for me.
    On both cars I have lights set that they come on straight away when I turn ignition on. So I never have to worry that I forget to turn on my lights.
    Bulbs get blown probably every few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,190 ✭✭✭cletus

CiniO wrote: »
    Well it's probably possible about the bulb being blown, and it surely puts more stress on the battery when starting, but still - It's extremely convinent for me.
    On both cars I have lights set that they come on straight away when I turn ignition on. So I never have to worry that I forget to turn on my lights.
    Bulbs get blown probably every few years.

When you say you have it set this way, do you mean you did something to the lights, or that it's a feature of the car, eg with my corolla, if you leave the lights switched on, car emits a beep, and eventually battery runs down. However, with my mother in laws bravo, if you leave the lights on, they automatically come on/off with the engine

cletus wrote: »
    When you say you have it set this way, do you mean you did something to the lights, or that it's a feature of the car, eg with my corolla, if you leave the lights switched on, car emits a beep, and eventually battery runs down. However, with my mother in laws bravo, if you leave the lights on, they automatically come on/off with the engine
    With a lot of italian cars, the lights go off with the engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

tossy wrote: »

cos thats the way the little 'puter is set on some of them

d03ea0e7aeda9c2d99c42314242845e3.jpg

cletus wrote: »

We have to cars at the moment.
    One is Fiat bravo, and I just keep lights switch at "ON" position all the times. Once ignition is off, lights are off. Once you switch on ignition lights come on, they they are already on when I turn the key further to start the engine. This is how this car was designed - I didn't modify anything with it.

Other car is Honda civic. It has automatic lights which rely on a sensor when switch is in "AUTO" position. If it's dark outside, it works the same as above (in Bravo). At daytime lights just don't turn on.
    However I stick a bit of black tape on a sensor, so it thinks it's dark at all times, and it turns on lights for me everytime I turn on ignition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭The Falcon

The guy says he has a problem with his car running rough - now we're talking bout starting your car with the lights on - Have I missed something !?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

The op has had this rattling problem for the past 5 year's, and seemingly hasn't done anything about it in that time frame.

I don't think he's too concerned about it.

I mean, how many times has it been for a service in the past five years ?

How many opportunities did he have to tell/ask the mechanic ?

How long more will he drive on with this rattle?

My understanding is that rattle is only at idle, and it's then when lights are flickering.

That would indicate, that likely his idle rpm are too low.
    Possibly stepper motor problem or sth...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

is it a 3cylinder. They rattle away all day