Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Father Ted makes me proud to be a Catholic, US Vice President

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,605 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Hahaha class!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

Oh I really wish Dermot Morgan was alive today.

He'd certainly tweet that fool a new one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

For all not arsed clicking the link
    The Vice-President of the United States, Joe Biden, caused a little merriment over on these shores last night when the tweeted:
    "Father Ted is one of the reasons I’m proud to be a Catholic."
    "He inspired so many to stand up for civil rights," he added, signing "vp" to let his followers know it was from Biden himself.
    Hang on, what now?

Ahhhh. Biden was referring to the recent passing of Father Ted Hesburgh of the University of Notre Dame, a well-known religious figure in the area, a member of the first US Civil Rights Commission - known simply by his Christian name as 'Father Ted'.
    Still, that didn't stop the Irish from having a chuckle at the idea that Father Ted Crilly from craggy Island was a personal friend of the VP. Even the show's creator, Graham Linehan, enjoyed the idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I'd imagine he'd be great on Twitter. I could see him coming out with the odd Ted'ism every now and again, especially to something like this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Tearin It Up

Reading his twitter comments was funny

"What about fr.jack, and fr.dougal and Mrs Doyle"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

"Shower of Bastards"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,605 ✭✭✭✭blade1

"Shower of Bastards"

Have you had a drink Henry?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

A great bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Up with that type of thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

From the link above

http://www.breakingnews.ie/discover/father-ted-makes-me-proud-to-be-a-catholic-us-vice-president-says-664154.html
    Coincidentally, Dermot Morgan passed away suddenly on this day in 1998 - and what finer remembrance could the comedic genius ask for than a nod from the White House itself?