Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car hit

• 27-02-2015 10:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭

Hi guys basically looking for some Advice.
    So the story goes like this. I was finishing up work at Xmas eve and parked up in the filling station. I was in the shop and heard a bit of a bang and my car alarm going off so I went out to see that a lady had backed into my car. The quater panel is pushed in and also the back bumper is broken. The car is a msport 530d.
    It was Xmas eve so we exchanged details and I said to the lady look it's Xmas eve we will get it sorted after Xmas buy my god was that a mistake.
    So after Xmas wen every where opened I went to the local Bmw indepentant garage who also do body work. Got the quote and it worked out at 1350 euro the back bumper being the most expensive clearly as its a. Msport.
    So I rang her and forwarded on the quotation. And got no response for a week r so and I rang again and she said she would have a look at it. She then contacted the garage that did the quote and wasn't very happy about it of course they just went through the prices that they where given from Bmw ect and sure enough the price was what was quoted. So the garage suggested she go through her insurance if she had a problem with it.
    So another while passed and of course I was still bing nice to her at this stage when she turns around and say il give you 500 euro for the job bear in mind where at the end of jan start of feb to which I declined. So she asked what would I settle for it now I should of mentioned that I've a friend looking to buy this car off me before this happened but anyway I rang the garage and they said they could do it for 1000 cash cutting there labour abit.
    I informed the lady that if she wanted it settled that it would cost 1000 cash to do it this way and she kept going back to me say no no no I've 500 euro u can have that and let's settle. So at this stage where mid February and I explained to her I just want my car fixed it's gone on two long so the price is what I've explained. So she came back with 600 saying that's all she had and I'm like seriously it's Gona cost 1000 euro to have the car fixed I need it fixed so where up to this week now and I've said to her that if she doesn't come back to me and respond to me that I'm going to drop the car to the Bmw main dealer and let the insurance handle it I've explained the cost will be substantially more and they will include car hire.
    So we get to yesterday and this guy I know very vauglly arrives into my place of work now he is not related to the woman who hit me or anything and he start saying what's the story with this car where is it and I just said its in Bmw and he start asking well if I ring them will they let me see it or go through the quote with me I was like no it's my car when I get the quote il give it to the woman and he's kinda hot and bothered at this stage and he says look she's willing to give you 700 today and settle at that but that's all she's willing to go to and I just walked away so what do u guys think am I being to nice at this stage r what

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Stop all contact with this woman. Inform your insurance company and let them deal with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

burke027 wrote: »
    ........... so what do u guys think am I being to nice at this stage r what

Sorry OP but you've been WAY too nice. As others have said just let the insurance company handle it. If she is sending someone to your place of work, (how did you end up giving her that info?) to haggle and be aggressive, it's time to stop contact with her, (apart from telling her it's now gone to the Ins to sort and not to contact you again).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

renofan wrote: »
    (how did you end up giving her that info?)
    I'm guessing by the 027 at the end of the user name that the OP lives in west Cork and almost everybody knows everybody kinda thing?

From that point of view I think the OP was right to at least give the other person a chance to sort this out outside of insurance but this individual seems far beyond reasoning with unfortunately. She really does believe you only deserve 500yoyo if she's sending someone round your place of work. There's no reasoning with that kinda person :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Chemical Byrne

Why are you even taking this sh!t off her.
    The minute she refused to pay the full cost of the repair you should have been like: Grand so, I'll just get the damages from your insurer, bye.

What's with this "settlement" claptrap she's spouting? It was totally and 110% her fault!

Seriously you are making hassle for yourself, why are you being nice to her, this is her fault.

I wonder is she even insured? Maybe that's why she's so eager to settle.

Plus, having strangers call around to your workplace is getting into the territory of harrassment.
    I'd tell her she has 14 days or whatever to pay the full amount and failing that you will recover it from her insurer and that any more unexpected approaches by her or her lackeys will be considered harrassment and you'll be contacting the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

So the story goes like this. I was finishing up work at Xmas eve and parked up in the filling station. I was in the shop and heard a bit of a bang and my car alarm going off so I went out to see that a lady had backed into my car. The quater panel is pushed in and also the back bumper is broken. The car is a msport 530d.
    It was Xmas eve so we exchanged details and I said to the lady look it's Xmas eve we will get it sorted after Xmas buy my god was that a mistake.
    So after Xmas wen every where opened I went to the local Bmw indepentant garage who also do body work. Got the quote and it worked out at 1350 euro the back bumper being the most expensive clearly as its a. Msport.
    So I rang her and forwarded on the quotation. And got no response for a week r so and I rang again and she said she would have a look at it. She then contacted the garage that did the quote and wasn't very happy about it of course they just went through the prices that they where given from Bmw ect and sure enough the price was what was quoted. So the garage suggested she go through her insurance if she had a problem with it.
    So another while passed and of course I was still bing nice to her at this stage when she turns around and say il give you 500 euro for the job bear in mind where at the end of jan start of feb to which I declined. So she asked what would I settle for it now I should of mentioned that I've a friend looking to buy this car off me before this happened but anyway I rang the garage and they said they could do it for 1000 cash cutting there labour abit.
    I informed the lady that if she wanted it settled that it would cost 1000 cash to do it this way and she kept going back to me say no no no I've 500 euro u can have that and let's settle. So at this stage where mid February and I explained to her I just want my car fixed it's gone on two long so the price is what I've explained. So she came back with 600 saying that's all she had and I'm like seriously it's Gona cost 1000 euro to have the car fixed I need it fixed so where up to this week now and I've said to her that if she doesn't come back to me and respond to me that I'm going to drop the car to the Bmw main dealer and let the insurance handle it I've explained the cost will be substantially more and they will include car hire.
    So we get to yesterday and this guy I know very vauglly arrives into my place of work now he is not related to the woman who hit me or anything and he start saying what's the story with this car where is it and I just said its in Bmw and he start asking well if I ring them will they let me see it or go through the quote with me I was like no it's my car when I get the quote il give it to the woman and he's kinda hot and bothered at this stage and he says look she's willing to give you 700 today and settle at that but that's all she's willing to go to and I just walked away so what do u guys think am I being to nice at this stage r what

Contact your insurance immediately and let them deal with it.

I'd tell her she has 14 days or whatever to pay the full amount and failing that you will recover it from her insurer and that any more unexpected approaches by her or her lackeys will be considered harrassment and you'll be contacting the guards.

Feck that. The time for being reasonable is long over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,639 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Two months later, why are you being so patients and nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Why are you even taking this sh!t off her.
    The minute she refused to pay the full cost of the repair you should have been like: Grand so, I'll just get the damages from your insurer, bye.

What's with this "settlement" claptrap she's spouting? It was totally and 110% her fault!

Seriously you are making hassle for yourself, why are you being nice to her, this is her fault.

I wonder is she even insured? Maybe that's why she's so eager to settle.

Plus, having strangers call around to your workplace is getting into the territory of harrassment.

That person has no intentions of paying the full cost of repairs, she is a messer taking advantage of the OP's good nature.

I've heard this story so many times about people not wanting to involve insurance companies and prefer to settle the cost themselves until they get the bill and think it's too much. They then tell you they know a guy down a lane way who can patch it up for a fraction of that price. They don't give a feck how good or bad the job is as long as it suits their pocket.

At the end of the day she caused the damage to the OP's car and the OP is entitled to have put back to the condition it was in before the damage and by the garage of their choice. If she doesn't like the cost of that then straight on the insurance companies and let them handle it and have no more contact with her. If she wants to play hard ball then start talking about adding the cost of car rental while the car is off the road, solicitors fees, etc to the claim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

You need to report it to your insurer, but they won't pursue a claim on your behalf against the 3rd party UNLESS you claim under your own policy in the 1st instance.

Contact her insurer to claim directly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭burke027

Thanks guys
    You's are all only telling me what I know already. It's just so stupid. Granted the damage isn't that much but it's done and it is what it is that's why I have delayed so long being that it was Xmas eve and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

Are you not supposed to inform your insurance company of anything that might result in a claim within 24 hours? Not sure if that will make a difference here.

After a bad experience a few years ago, no way would I settle privately. If the liable party wants to maintain their NCB they can reimburse their insurance company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Its ok settling privately "if" its settled within a few days of the quote being handed over. But there is serious messing there and I would be dealing with insurance only at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,748 ✭✭✭corks finest

Stop all contact with this woman. Inform your insurance company and let them deal with it.
    tell her its out of your hands now,get onto you're ins company a.s.a.p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

You could bring a small claim for minor damage. Will only cost 25 quid.

Or let the insurance company, who you pay hundreds of euro a year to, handle it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Or let the insurance company, who you pay hundreds of euro a year to, handle it...

Well obviously, just giving the OP another option. Better to know all avenues you can take when making a decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Hachiko

cant believe someone with a decent BMW is entertaining this rubbish from chancers, let your insurance deal with this clown, I hope you have all her details and yes, leaving it go on this long is your own fault.

seriously, all I have is 600euro..........wtf